Need basic .NET dialog/form help

Question

I am using Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2015.

eb_dialog1.thumb.png.d5e2a2a8a181914f22b

When I click on the blue Change link, I want it to open Form2 (below) in the center and on top of Form1 (above)

eb_dialog2.thumb.png.0846d540e2c0cad90d2

Any ideas?

I am a beginner - go easy on me!

16 answers to this question

59 minutes ago, LimeMaster said:

Try this, assuming I understood what you meant:

Form2 frm2 = new Form2();
            frm2.StartPosition = FormStartPosition.CenterParent;
            frm2.Show();

Where do I put that?

If I double-click on the blue Change link, it goes to:

Private Sub LinkLabel2_LinkClicked_2(sender As Object, e As LinkLabelLinkClickedEventArgs) Handles LinkLabel2.LinkClicked

End Sub

If I paste your code between there, it throws a lot of failures, so I guess I'm pasting it in the wrong location?

Ignoring the above who seems to preach what he should have heeded less than 6 months back...

I'm feeling that you may be missing some basic knowledge here.  Care to paste either the errors or basic source?

5 minutes ago, Nik L said:

Ignoring the above who seems to preach what he should have heeded less than 6 months back...

I'm feeling that you may be missing some basic knowledge here.  Care to paste either the errors or basic source?

Error    BC32017    Comma, ')', or a valid expression continuation expected.    WindowsApplication1    X:\LodarGUITest\WindowsApplication1\Form1.vb    159    Active

Error    BC30800    Method arguments must be enclosed in parentheses.    WindowsApplication1    X:\LodarGUITest\WindowsApplication1\Form1.vb    159    Active

Error    BC30451    'frm2' is not declared. It may be inaccessible due to its protection level.    WindowsApplication1    X:\LodarGUITest\WindowsApplication1\Form1.vb    159    Active