This File Explorer concept is exactly what Win10 needs

I like the left side, and I think a universal dark theme would be cool. However, I don't like anything about the top (address bar, ribbon replacement (??) nav buttons on the top left. Those all just look out of place.

"Out of place"? Whaaa? Apologies, but I disagree. To my eyes, they couldn't be more in place. That's a great design.

And I've been a student of UX Design (and had a couple projects of my own to push the boundaries of it) for over ten years now. I'm in a position to call something proper UX or not. :D The above is the bees knees. The cat's meow. The straw that stirs the drink. The sizzle of the steak. The ...

/me waits for the tomatoes and lettuce to start flying in my direction ...

:shifty:

Personally, I'd move the navigation buttons and address bar lower in the UI, and also out of the sidebar. The Ribbon titles would be better placed in the titlebar. But this design is still a great start, and something Windows badly needs if it wants to be a touch based OS.

It needs something like this. I think this particular concept (being mostly a direct translation from Windows Explorer) isn't a great example and is far too complex to be touch friendly, especially on smaller devices.

24 minutes ago, link6155 said:

Not exactly on topic, but if you want a nice file manager for Windows 10, check out Files&Folder.

It has some similar elements to that mockup and overall it looks great.

This looks nice, but I'd rather have a native built in solution for the woefully inadequate File Explorer in Win10.