My first website

Question

Hi!

I'm a total noob at this.

In the past I've created a couple of websites using WordPress, and one using Joomla!, but I've found myself more comfortable using WordPress; however everything was already set up for me, I just had to log in and use WordPress or Joomla!

This time instead I have to do everything by myself, so I bought a Linux Hosting service only to discover that WordPress needs a MySql database and my hosting company (Aruba) charges separately for the database, and charges separately for the backup. Since this would be the website for a charity I'd like to keep costs in check therefore I'd prefer, if possible, not to buy other services.

So now I'm thinking of a way out.

What would you suggest? An offline WYSIWYG html editor? Consider that my coding knowledge is zero, I can manage to copy and paste very simple html strings but not much else.

Something like Bluefish, KompoZer or XAMPP?

Or the - very - old way of creating a series of .html files with LibreOffice, starting with index.html for the home page and then load everything, .hmtl files, images, documents, on the server?

I'm fairly good with graphics so I know I can create a nice looking website, even though I wouldn't be able to incorporate things like maps and calendars because I wouldn't be able to write the entire website in HTML.

I also don't know how easy it would be to update the website and adding new content this way, because I'd have to manually update a few pages offline and then reload them, and I remember that WordPress takes care of this all by itself.

Also, probably, I wouldn't be the only one allowed to post new content and the other guy is even less knowledgeable than me about websites, so I thought WordPress would be the easiest solution.

So, am I destined to spend more money or is there a way out?

Thanks

Edited by Gabe84

25 answers to this question

You could use GitHub Pages for free https://pages.github.com/