Security & Neighborhood Theft

Recently, there has been a spike of crime in our neighborhood. The police informed us, and requested that anyone who see's suspicious activity to report it. Since I'm a bit more tech savvy than most of the elderly people in my neighborhood, I figured I would setup a security system. I started looking at Amazon, reading reviews, and what not. My neighbors lost over $20,000 in items. He builds custom guitars and bass guitars, they took his drums, amps, microphones, they took his entire shop, anything that would fit in the truck. They have a security camera pointed at the front door, which caught the side of the truck, and no faces. As I fill my house with nicer things, I'm getting a little worried about the security. My neighbors are associated with drug dealers (Known fact), my brothers former friend, bought coke off them. Needless to say, my neighborhood is going down hill.

To the point; What I want.

8+ Cameras (Covering House, Garage, and driveway.)

External Storage or backing up to a Network Storage (This is a must)

Night/Day Modes

I was looking at Amcrest, but they seemed to be limited storage, unless I could use a NAS Drive as a USB Expansion. If that's the case, I'm solid. (Surveillance Systems is what I was looking at). I just took a look at IP Cameras, those seem a BIT out of my skill range. But I would need to consult the pros on that.

• Like 1

ispy  https://www.ispyconnect.com/

and any just about any ip camera. 

issues, need to make sure your hardware can support all the different camera feeds....10+ cameras you don't want an i3 or an i5 as a server and you probably want a dual processor.  if you plan on being able to watch on the server, you will want dual processors. 

there are a lot of factors that can increase or decrease cpu usage..number of cameras and quality of recording are the two biggest, if you are viewing cameras this can also play into cpu usage.