Un-Shielded Ethernet + Speaker Wire = No-No?

Hey Gurus,

How big of a no-no is running speaker wire from an amp to speaker alongside (ie. touching) un-shielded ethernet cable?

Situation: I have those skirting boards where you can tuck cables inside them, currently my ethernet cable runs in there to a network switch. (TV, Roku, Xbox + Laptop in the room under the TV).

If I was to run speaker wire back out from the amp under the TV (where the ethernet comes in) to where I have the Back Left and Back Right wall mounted rear speakers.

How bad would this be?

I wouldn't have thought it would cause a problem as the amp isn't going to be high voltage, so leakage is going to be minimal. Then again, I'm no electrical expert.

Im with sc302 I don't think that would be much of an issue.  But then again if your worried the cost of shielded ethernet is pretty cheap - how long of a run are you talking?

Here is 100ft STP cat 5e for under $20

http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=6992

I can tell you the cables that go into my av cabinet that has speaker cable running along side of it to go to my surround sound speakers run together up into the attic and have not noticed any issues.

Wasnt even cost it was just because:
  - its what I had lying around (ie. I had a 50m roll of unshielded ethernet which I can terminate myself)
  - the LAN cable was already run and didnt feel like cutting and pulling it all up again

I'd been running the front 3.1 since I moved in and finally got around to wiring up the rears.

You should be fine, speaker cables for general stereo or home theatre amps don't run very high voltage, unless you're talking Rotel or even higher end, (then you might need better wiring)