LeBron: "I'm a soldier."

Cavs beat Utah in OT. - ESPN.com

What is it with sports athletes comparing themselves to men and women who give their lives everyday for their country? It was funny when Kellen "Souljah" Winslow, Jr. said it, but this is getting ridiculous. And correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't football more of a "violent battle" than basketball?

I'm curious to see if this will get any scrutiny. Everyone ripped Winslow for a few weeks; somehow I doubt LeBron will get the same treatment :rolleyes:

I hope he does. I realise he's young but his comment was out of line and he needs to learn early that there are reprocussion for your actions. Here's hoping the media rips him up.

haha, thats funny. i hate winslow though.

I hate Winslow as well. I do admit, Winslow's comments were more "insulting" as he used derogotory words as well, and he also was criticizing officials. The reason I said Winslow's comments were funny was because he actually believed what he was saying.

But, in no way is it funny hearing some guy who gets millions of dollars compare himself to a guy who gets MAYBE minimum wage and protects the rights of that athlete. More and more I'm liking Carmelo. Doesn't talk, doesn't gloat, doesn't put himself above even his own teammates.

But, that's for another thread :)

The word "soldier" carries much more meaning that just someone who fights in wars. Go find a dictionary. What I find humorous is you guys will take anything someone says and rip it apart just because you don't like them.

"sol?dier ( P ) Pronunciation Key (sljr)

n.

One who serves in an army.

An enlisted person or a noncommissioned officer.

An active, loyal, or militant follower of an organization.

A sexually undeveloped form of certain ants and termites, having large heads and powerful jaws.

One of a group of honeybees that swarm in defense of a hive.

intr.v. sol?diered, sol?dier?ing, sol?diers

To be or serve as a soldier.