Jump to content



Photo

Longhorn-style system tray clock


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
92 replies to this topic

#1 Thrawn

Thrawn

    Certified Physicist

  • Joined: 13-March 04

Posted 24 March 2004 - 03:44

Here we have a basic Longhorn-style tray clock.

Version 0.5 ---> New Release! Version .75 , see later post. Download links are updated
LonghornClock, download here

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Important Points!!:

**Run clockConfig.exe to select a skin, before you run LonghornClock
**Right-click the clock to make it disappear for 3 seconds, so you can access the real system clock and any of its functions.
**Double-click the clock to make it exit.

There are a few more points in Release Notes.txt in the zip file. Please look at that before you ask any questions.

It's using VB.NET as I couldn't get ClearType with VB6. As a result, it's a memory hog but leak-free and easy on the processor.

VERSION .75 had an integer overflow, how stupid of me. Now .751

Questions? Comments? Feature-Requests? Bugs? This is meant to be really basic. I don't really like the windows API...

-Suneet U.

Attached Files


Edited by Thrawn, 30 March 2004 - 03:47.



#2 vetJohn

John

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-January 02
  • Location: Des Moines, IA

Posted 24 March 2004 - 03:47

Looks like you need a few more pixels between the hour and the minutes... The 6 seems cut off to me, at least from the pics.

#3 Razorwing

Razorwing

    Rocket

  • Joined: 14-March 03
  • Location: Markham,Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8 / OSX Mavericks
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 24 March 2004 - 04:49

how come I get an error when pressing clock config? :huh:

#4 nomis_nehc

nomis_nehc

    Neowinian God!

  • Joined: 22-December 01

Posted 24 March 2004 - 09:35

whoa, this is really cool. i like it. hopefully we'll get more support from the community.

also, i tried to make a skin for it, but it doesn't show up... is it coded in the config exe?

#5 insanekiwi

insanekiwi

    local know-it-all idiot

  • Joined: 22-March 02
  • Location: Essen, Germany
  • OS: OS X 10.8.3
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 24 March 2004 - 09:37

pretty cool. downloading right now.

#6 Chode

Chode

    Neowinian Misanthropist

  • Joined: 08-December 03

Posted 24 March 2004 - 09:46

Not bad, but not compatible with all skins.

Instead of building a database of skins in the config,

you should find a way to make it self-modify based on the

currently applied theme.

#7 OP Thrawn

Thrawn

    Certified Physicist

  • Joined: 13-March 04

Posted 24 March 2004 - 15:11

gameguy: I think you were right, I fixed that real quick

Razorwing: You probably don't have the .NET framework 1.1 or above, which this uses

Also, the skinning thing should work for all themes, but the image needs to be a Windows .bmp . The skins aren't hard-coded or anything. As for making it self-modify... Humn, bitmap.FromResource() exists, I'll see if I have time.

Thanks

#8 vetenigma-penguin

enigma-penguin

    Neowin Prodigal Son

  • Joined: 25-April 03
  • Location: at the bottom of gozillas stomach

Posted 24 March 2004 - 17:48

nasty memory hole in there that keeps sucking up mem over time.. the larger the refresh the bigger the drain..

yeah the "bitmap.FromResource()" might be a good idea ;)

#9 Medievil

Medievil

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-June 03

Posted 24 March 2004 - 19:05

erm, it adds the clock in the above left corner of my screen

its funny to see, but it should be in the other corner next to my taskbar lol

#10 MikeCoz

MikeCoz

    VIP

  • Joined: 05-April 03
  • Location: New Jersey, USA

Posted 24 March 2004 - 19:18

screenshots aren't showing... i'm curious what this looks like

#11 Isakowski

Isakowski

    Be quick or be death

  • Joined: 07-May 03

Posted 24 March 2004 - 19:30

server too busy??? :angry:
i cant download...
please make someone an attachemant...
and screenies

#12 OP Thrawn

Thrawn

    Certified Physicist

  • Joined: 13-March 04

Posted 24 March 2004 - 19:49

Strange, that server is made of steel... We're on spring-break, mabey the network guy is home too.

Attached

As for the memory hole, the thing only uses like 9 variables, and they're set to "Nothing" most of the time. .NET just has a lot of overhead. But there's a bug when resuming the system from Standby or Hibernate, i'll fix that in ~48 as I have a stack of physics problems to solve.

Attached Files



#13 Isakowski

Isakowski

    Be quick or be death

  • Joined: 07-May 03

Posted 24 March 2004 - 19:50

let him his holidays :cool:
Thanks btw

#14 Raum

Raum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-November 03
  • Location: Ohio

Posted 24 March 2004 - 20:10

screenshots aren't showing... i'm curious what this looks like

mmhmm

#15 Hidea

Hidea

    "Be cool my babies..."

  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 24 March 2004 - 20:12

you are a huge nerd!!!!! YOU MAKE GOOD CLOCKS! :D YOUR CLOCK IS USEFUL! :D :D


hahahha, just kidding about the nerd thing, all that joking aside, do you think it's possible to create a skin for LunaVX?