2003 DHCP option 82

I couldn't find anything on DHCP option 82 support in windows 2003.

I was wondering if:

a) anyone knows if its there or not

b) if there is a way to some how add it myself

c) get some type of plugin

I do not manage servers, just networks, and would like to have option 82 enabled on DHCP service so i can see the switch and port associated with the IP without searching all over. Since I don't know much about the DHCP service, or adding options, I was wondering if anyone knew anything or could point me in the right direction.

I'm not an expert, so excuse me if this is not true...

The 82 option must be enabled on a switch, not on a windows server. That option allows the switch to identify the hosts on its own ports, so the switch sends info about itself and the port assigned to the client.

I'm sure that you could find more info on cisco...

I hope this helps :)

Yeah its part of the switch configuration and it works with DHCP relay for Cisco and UDP helper for other switchs

Here is an Article that explain some of it. I had to look it up because i didn't know anything about it.

Correct me if i'm wrong and confirm it if i'm right but basically this feature enable you to create Virtual Vlan for each host connected to the switch???

Have fun!!!

I know this must be enabled on the switch, but the DHCP server needs to understand the option 82 part of the packet. I already know the switch needs to be configured, but when the DHCP packet comes to the DHCP server, it needs to be able to strip off, interpret, and add the option 82 info.

It's stated in the first paragraph of the link you posted: This feature enables the DHCP relay agent (Catalyst 3550 switch) to include information about itself and the attached client when forwarding DHCP requests from a DHCP client to a DHCP server.

Option 82 must be configured on switch AND the DHCP server. I'm looking to set it up on the server.