Jump to content



Photo

Burning 750 MB BIN file to 700 MB CD


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 OrangeSoul

OrangeSoul

    I am just a User

  • Joined: 24-January 03
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 07 July 2004 - 20:14

Can i use overburn or some other software feature to burn a 730-750 MB BIN file to a 700 mb CD?


#2 username

username

    neowin mountaineer

  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted 07 July 2004 - 20:17

if its a vcd or svcd porn movie then it can be up to 800 megs, otherwise you will have to overburn

#3 vetrezza

rezza

    They will return

  • Joined: 17-December 02
  • Location: Edinburgh, UK

Posted 07 July 2004 - 20:18

No problemo, as long as your cdrs aren't shoddy cheap ones. I use TDK Metallic ones, and was able to burn a 750mb iso to one using burnatonce, with no trouble.

#4 I8PP

I8PP

    Old Fart

  • Joined: 23-March 02
  • Location: Toronto

Posted 07 July 2004 - 20:19

The BIN size is never the size of the cd. It contains extra data that's not burned (error correction stuff i believe). You can mount the bin file and see what the actual size of the cd is.

#5 OP OrangeSoul

OrangeSoul

    I am just a User

  • Joined: 24-January 03
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 07 July 2004 - 20:19

but when i put in the empty 700 MB cd and set the 730 MB BIN image file to burn , it goes over the red line in nero, will it still fit?

#6 mzkhadir

mzkhadir

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-January 02
  • Location: Arlington Heights, IL

Posted 07 July 2004 - 20:20

The BIN size is never the size of the cd. It contains extra data that's not burned (error correction stuff i believe). You can mount the bin file and see what the actual size of the cd is.

most bin files come with a cue file which contains what type of data needs to be written to cd.

#7 vetSpyder

Spyder

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-August 01
  • Location: ON, Canada

Posted 07 July 2004 - 20:21

you're burning it wrong. you need the matching cue file and then in nero, choose to burn a disc image..select the cue file and it'll burn properly.

if you don't have the cue file, use something like UltraISO to convert the bin file to an ISO file and then do a disc image burn with the iso

#8 username

username

    neowin mountaineer

  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted 07 July 2004 - 20:22

but when i put in the empty 700 MB cd and set the 730 MB BIN image file to burn , it goes over the red line in nero, will it still fit?

I answered your question... so did everyone else, if its vcd or svcd porn movie, then it can be 800 megs and fit on a CD... if its a data CD, then you will be overburning and I don't know if your drive / media will support it

#9 I8PP

I8PP

    Old Fart

  • Joined: 23-March 02
  • Location: Toronto

Posted 07 July 2004 - 20:23

but when i put in the empty 700 MB cd and set the 730 MB BIN image file to burn , it goes over the red line in nero, will it still fit?

I'm assuming this BIN file is a cdrom image. If yes, then if there's a cue file that accompanies it, you select Burn Image from either the File or Record menu of Nero. You don't drag and drop it in a new cd compilation.

#10 BugMeNot

BugMeNot

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-June 04

Posted 08 July 2004 - 01:44

or just stop trying to burn your warez and go out and buy that software/movie

#11 +gwai lo

gwai lo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-May 04
  • Location: Los Angeles

Posted 08 July 2004 - 03:52

bit ot...whats this I hear about overburns physically damaging drives?

#12 bakerster

bakerster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-October 03

Posted 08 July 2004 - 03:59

or just stop trying to burn your warez and go out and buy that software/movie

Or just stop being a ass? :rolleyes:

  bit ot...whats this I hear about overburns physically damaging drives?


Whaaaaat? No it doesn't.

#13 mgleason007

mgleason007

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-June 04

Posted 08 July 2004 - 04:17

,Jul 8 2004, 03:59] Whaaaaat? No it doesn't.

It can.

#14 ipacers

ipacers

    #31 and only...

  • Joined: 03-May 03
  • Location: New Jersey, USA

Posted 08 July 2004 - 04:21

It can.

how could it damage the drives?

#15 struct

struct

    Victory is mine!

  • Joined: 16-October 03

Posted 08 July 2004 - 06:05

from what I've read, it can make the laser physically go past a point it was never designed to. thus damaging the drive.