Counter Cheat ever be fixed?

I know that half life is one of the most popular games ever. I was just wondering if they have plans or even thought about plans to get rid of the cheating in it. I find this to be overly used and especially with so many people useing it now. I admit I used it for about a week, and I must say, you it once and u can easily tell from then on who is cheating and who is not just by the way they play. Couldn't half life somehow make something in the game or having somethign in the servers to compare the files being used ot pla the game with one on the servers or something. I know they have tons of stuff out now, but none of it works :(

i don't think half-life will ever be cheat free. i'm no programmer, but i'd guess that it never took into consideration "cheat prevention". i think they would have to recode the whole thing with that in mind, and even then, who knows what people will come up with.

i haven't been following the online gaming scene as much lately, but how is cheating in some of the newer games? rtcw, dod, ss2, avp2?

Cheating sucks big time in Counter-Strike. I tend to go in servers with programs such as Cheating-Death and CSGuard running as it does cut out a lot of the cheats. Seriously I dont see the point in cheating though. It's a pain in the arse. :roll:

The new CS version that is coming out next week will have a new cheat prevention programmed into it so we shall see how that does. I like how some of the newer games specifically OFP prevents a lot of people from cheating. It scans all of the cfg files in the ofp directory and probably other things and then announces to the server when someone has a modified config file, what they modified, then boots them. So back to the topic, hopefully this new cheat prevention measure will cut out all of the cheats or at least most of them.

I don't think cheating can be completely rid of. Maybe try other methods, so the people won't "want" to cheat anymore?