Jump to content



Photo

AutoPatcher Legend & Commandline Arguments


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#16 +theblazingangel

theblazingangel

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 25-March 04
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 21 March 2006 - 22:34

^ its an NSIS installer so their switches apply


#17 Angelico_Payne

Angelico_Payne

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-May 05
  • Location: Federation

Posted 24 March 2006 - 14:42

/unattend /noeula /nochecks /nonags /nobackup /nolog /noreboot /screenlog /ignorelogs /forcelogs (prior presets)

Switches by thuun


forum topic


Do these work...?

Acctualy I'm intrested in /nobackup switch ,since I remember having a conversation with FlapDaFrol who specificly said that the install without backups is not supported.

Blaze?

#18 +theblazingangel

theblazingangel

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 25-March 04
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 24 March 2006 - 15:49

^ ive never actually tried any of the command switches myself appart from /noeula

the 'switches by thuun' i believe may be back from ap 4.x or earlier because raptor hasnt listed many of them in this thread himslef.

if youve got a problem or question about the switches youd probably do best to ask raptor.

#19 chunky_monkey

chunky_monkey

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 12-April 06

Posted 18 April 2006 - 12:31

Is there anyway to stop autopatcher stealing focus each time a new update is installed? ie can it be forced to stay minimised in the tray while it does its thing?

#20 Wizardry

Wizardry

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-February 04

Posted 21 May 2006 - 18:19

I have tried to use the answer.ini file to automate the installation of Autopatcher. Autopatcher is a great product but I have had mixed results while using the answer file. The answer file certaintly automates the install of the hotfixes for Windows XP but it did not work correctly for me. For example, I tell it "not" to install Windows 7.5 messager and yet it does? Does the answer.ini file need to be edited once it is saved to the hard drive? Does the order of each command make a difference?

Any help would be appreciated.

Wiz





This thread will contain information which applies to all AutoPatcher releases.

AutoPatcher Legend
In AutoPatcher, some items appear with special formatting. The color legend below will help you understand what the formatting means.
Commandline Arguments (a.k.a. Switches)
You may use the following commandline arguments (a.k.a. switches) to control AutoPatcher's behavior.
Saving Custom Selections
Kind regards,
Antonis Kaladis
AutoPatcher Project Manager
www.autopatcher.com



#21 Ironpaw

Ironpaw

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-June 06

Posted 18 June 2006 - 06:53

This tool is great. The silent options look like they could be used to run a full update from a central place. I tried this:

I downloaded the April 2003 full editition and manually ran it on a machine (awsome very nice).
I ran it again and generated a silent install ini (hold shift down like in the instructions). The auto ini included all critical patches and some options. The ini looks nice and logical in notepad.

I created a batch file with this command

"\\server\path\AutoPatcher_2003_Apr2006_Full.exe" /unattend:t2 /noeula /noreboot /defaults:\\server\path\\2k3Defaults.ini

When I run that though I get the end user agreement and then normal manual options.

So I look again and perhaps these options are not for the full install but the AutoPatcher.exe file installed under c:\program files\Autopatcher 2k3\autopatcher.exe.

So to autopatch new machines do I need to patch to that EXE on a machine where it was manually installed?
Can I copy that whole directory from program files to a net share and use it from there?

I dont see a manual for autopatcher (am I missing something) just links to the newsgroups which are not so set by step? I see the website is coming and then no doubt more instructions. I figure other must be doing what I want to do and could use a reply to this like me.

If I get it all sorted I am happy to write a step by step. Excellent tool and extendable for other packages which is awsome.

IronPaw

removed large excess space at the bottom of your post - theblazingangel

Edited by theblazingangel, 18 June 2006 - 11:23.


#22 +theblazingangel

theblazingangel

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 25-March 04
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 18 June 2006 - 11:34

@Ironpaw

the switches are for autopatcher.exe not the installer. the installer simply unpacks the autopatcher release, you then run autopatcher to install the updates.

after extracting the release(s) you can copy the contents of the folder you extracted it to directly to a cd/dvd/flash-drive/portable-hard-drive/network-share/etc
note, dont bother copying uninstall.exe!

im not clear on what you meant here:

So to autopatch new machines do I need to patch to that EXE on a machine where it was manually installed?

did you mean 'what happens if a machine already has some patches installed'?
did you mean 'what should you do if a machine already has a copy of autopatcher installed'?
did you mean something completely different?
please elaborate.

#23 cutie_pyie

cutie_pyie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-April 06

Posted 10 July 2006 - 22:16



This thread will contain information which applies to all AutoPatcher releases.

AutoPatcher Legend
In AutoPatcher, some items appear with special formatting. The color legend below will help you understand what the formatting means.
Commandline Arguments (a.k.a. Switches)
You may use the following commandline arguments (a.k.a. switches) to control AutoPatcher's behavior.
Saving Custom Selections
Kind regards,
Antonis Kaladis
AutoPatcher Project Manager
www.autopatcher.com


theblazingangel Mar 24 2006, 15:49 Post #18

AutoPatcher Team Member

Group: Registered
Posts: 1,211
Joined: 25-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 51,082


^ ive never actually tried any of the command switches myself appart from /noeula

the 'switches by thuun' i believe may be back from ap 4.x or earlier because raptor hasnt listed many of them in this thread himslef.

if youve got a problem or question about the switches youd probably do best to ask raptor.



Raptor.
Could you please put together an up-to-date list of the switches that work with AP and examples of their actual usage??

Reading thru the forum it becomes VERY confusing a to what switches work and how to format them!

Thnx a lot.
Cutie_pyie

#24 Angelico_Payne

Angelico_Payne

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-May 05
  • Location: Federation

Posted 16 August 2006 - 22:51

I think it would be good to recreate first post with up to date listing of swiches, and to delete all the other posts... cause it becomes a little confusing reading trough it all

#25 cme4pc

cme4pc

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-November 06
  • Location: North Carolina, USA

Posted 20 November 2006 - 23:01

....... do I need to patch to that EXE on a machine where it was manually installed?


Sounds like IronPaw is attempting to run AutoPatcher across a network share.... haven't tried this myself, my thinking AutoPatcher looks at local install status only... that is unless %system% folder variable can somehow be changed/redirected...

but adding the 'path' to the AutoPatcher executable located in a share on a mapped network drive is what i think is being asked...

#26 Squirrel61

Squirrel61

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 30-November 06

Posted 30 November 2006 - 21:14

I can't seem to create the answer file. I'm using the october 2006 Dutch language full version. After starting AP and waiting 'till the modules have shown up, I select everything that applies to my situation. Then I press shift and see the button change to "save as default". However, when I click on it it just lists the module details for the module selected twice but doesn't save anything. Could there possibly be some bug?

#27 rsrcomp

rsrcomp

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-April 05
  • Location: Bakersfield, CA USA

Posted 13 April 2007 - 23:44

How do I do a "Save as Default" in 5.6 and are the command line switches the same in 5.6 as in 5.1.

Thanks in advance.

(working with the Vista version)

#28 gandolas

gandolas

    AutoPatcher's Portuguese Member

  • Joined: 10-May 02

Posted 13 April 2007 - 23:57

Press Ctrl+S to save the answer file and Ctrl+L to load one (when in the module tree screen).

In order for AutoPatcher find it and show it when you start AutoPatcher again, save it in \AutoPatcher folder.

#29 y_not

y_not

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Oregon

Posted 24 April 2007 - 01:26

Trying out the new AP v5.6 for Vista, much improved speed, very nice!

However, I can't get the switches to work, I read on here how to make a default answer file for the new v5.6
(Thx 'Gandolas'), but none of the switches for /noeula /defaults /skipdetection etc.. work.

Have they been renamed?

I'd like to deploy this as a silent install using an answer file, anything else I need to know?

#30 rkillcrazy

rkillcrazy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-September 05

Posted 24 April 2007 - 20:19

Trying out the new AP v5.6 for Vista, much improved speed, very nice!

However, I can't get the switches to work, I read on here how to make a default answer file for the new v5.6
(Thx 'Gandolas'), but none of the switches for /noeula /defaults /skipdetection etc.. work.

Have they been renamed?

I'd like to deploy this as a silent install using an answer file, anything else I need to know?


AutoPatcher 5.6 has a slightly different set of switches. Some have been replaced...
Commandline Arguments:

  • nolicense: Skips both the AutoPatcher and Microsoft licenses
  • nocrashhandler: Disables the crash handler
  • log: Enables active file logging (to <windows>\autopatcher.log)
  • devmode: Allows you to ignore errors (in crash handler)
  • noreboot: Skips the reboot sequence
  • nodetection: Skip file and registry detection on modules. Everything will be as if it's not installed, even if it is!
  • answerfile:<filepath>: > Specifies an answer file to load.
    This overrides the Answer File screen (where AutoPatcher would normally detect answer files in its folder and ask you whether it should load any of them)
    Always use this argument last!
  • unattend: Activates unattended installation (implies nolicense). This also skip the answer-file screen, so the only way of specifying an answer file is through the answerfile switch.
  • minimal: Only used along with unattend. This will run AutoPatcher with a minimal UI.