Jump to content



Photo

AutoPatcher Legend & Commandline Arguments


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#31 JHershkowitz

JHershkowitz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-April 07

Posted 10 May 2007 - 15:02

Question regarding Autopatcher 2003 (5.1)

I see how to make it patch automatically ... Works GREAT!

What I cant seem to figure out, is an answerfile that will always install ALL Critical & Recommended, without the need to recreate the file each time new updates are applied.

Ideally, you should be able to set the answer file like below .... without ANY other lines, and it should not have to contain each subitem underneath it.

// AutoPatcher 5.1 Answer File
+ Microsoft Windows - Critical Updates
+ Microsoft Windows - Recommended Updates
- Microsoft Windows - Updated Components
- Windows Addons
- Registry Tweaks

Thoughts/other suggestions?


#32 Dreamz Unlimited

Dreamz Unlimited

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 16-October 05

Posted 13 May 2007 - 05:47

how can b i able to make switch to skip the detection process ??


plz help.. thx!!

#33 PsiMoon314

PsiMoon314

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-January 04

Posted 01 June 2007 - 07:35

Hi,

For those who need to delete the hotfix backups then you can use the tool from:

http://dougknox.com/...tfix_backup.htm

This is a freeware tool which will delete the hotfix backups for you.

CCleaner will remove the hotfix install log files if you need to do this.

However I do not recommend deleting either of these.

If your system drive is that full up then you will probably have issues running Windows XP anyway. Remember that you probably need to have at least 1 GByte of free disk space on the system drive to use Windows XP effectively.

Kind Regards

Simon

#34 drew826

drew826

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-October 06

Posted 01 June 2007 - 12:39

Is there a command line /defaults switch for AutoPatcher 5.6 like in previous versions? The old syntax doesn't seem to work with this version.

#35 gandolas

gandolas

    AutoPatcher's Portuguese Member

  • Joined: 10-May 02

Posted 01 June 2007 - 12:49

^ It's in the 1st post.

#36 drew826

drew826

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-October 06

Posted 01 June 2007 - 13:26

^ It's in the 1st post.


Thanks man, I didn't realize it had been changed recently. You guys must have snuck it in after I left work yesterday.

#37 Jack 0Neill

Jack 0Neill

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-October 05

Posted 06 July 2007 - 16:18

So these still operate by the / before the code? I didn't see it documented in the first post. ;)

Edited by Jack 0Neill, 06 July 2007 - 16:23.


#38 Guest_adaman02_*

Guest_adaman02_*
  • Joined: --

Posted 04 August 2007 - 06:14

could there be another command line switch added? a /? or /help or /switches or all of these to show the command line switches within autopatcher itself like many other programs?

#39 OP vetakaladis

akaladis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 09-March 02
  • Location: Athens, Greece

Posted 05 August 2007 - 10:35

could there be another command line switch added? a /? or /help or /switches or all of these to show the command line switches within autopatcher itself like many other programs?


added to my todo list :)

#40 dawtips

dawtips

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-August 07

Posted 08 August 2007 - 16:46

Question regarding Autopatcher 2003 (5.1)

I see how to make it patch automatically ... Works GREAT!

What I cant seem to figure out, is an answerfile that will always install ALL Critical & Recommended, without the need to recreate the file each time new updates are applied.

Ideally, you should be able to set the answer file like below .... without ANY other lines, and it should not have to contain each subitem underneath it.

// AutoPatcher 5.1 Answer File
+ Microsoft Windows - Critical Updates
+ Microsoft Windows - Recommended Updates
- Microsoft Windows - Updated Components
- Windows Addons
- Registry Tweaks

Thoughts/other suggestions?


I would also like this feature.

#41 dawtips

dawtips

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-August 07

Posted 09 August 2007 - 22:34

Actually, let me explain what I'm looking for so it is clear.

It would be nice if you could set AutoPatcher to scan the current system it is running on and install all of the updates in the groups that you specify (Critical Updates, Recommended Updates, etc.). I don't see why I should have to create a test machine to run an answer file against.

One situation where I see this useful is if I later slipstream updates on to a CD and run AutoPatcher on first logon.

#42 Zoom7000

Zoom7000

    The Ankle Breaker

  • Joined: 12-November 03
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1/OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 4

Posted 21 August 2007 - 11:47

With regards to loading your custom selections, the older instructions stated the following:

Note #1
Never, I repeat, never use quotes. Even if the path to the answer file contains spaces, AutoPatcher will handle it without quotes.


Does this still apply? Should we still stay away from using "quotes" even if the filepath contains spaces?