Jump to content



Photo

little black square in top-left corner of screen


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 sdkaneda

sdkaneda

    the threadkiller!

  • Joined: 10-November 01

Posted 01 March 2005 - 14:50

i've been using an mac with os x since october and i'll just cut to the chase. there's always been this little 8x8 black square that pops into view at the very top-left corner of the screen (covering the curve on the menu). it only shows when the top of my cursor is in that upper leftmost pixel. i noticed today that now it's a blue triangle! i've tried clicking this thing, dragging it, etc. nothing has any effect on it.

so does anyone know what it's for?

Attached Images

  • corner.jpg



#2 Koyder

Koyder

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-December 02

Posted 01 March 2005 - 15:19

It might be an issue with the theme you're using. Try switching back to Aqua and see if it's still there.

#3 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 01 March 2005 - 20:24

I would take a guess that your theme is doing it as Koyder said above.

#4 Elliott

Elliott

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-September 02
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion
  • Phone: iPhone 5 (iOS 6)

Posted 01 March 2005 - 21:59

I used to have that program too, and I can't remember what it caused by right now.

#5 tariq

tariq

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-July 03

Posted 02 March 2005 - 01:30

Just a guess but could it be Active Screen Corners?

#6 Etc.

Etc.

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-March 02

Posted 02 March 2005 - 01:48

Might also be Butler, if you have that running.

#7 Elliott

Elliott

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-September 02
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion
  • Phone: iPhone 5 (iOS 6)

Posted 02 March 2005 - 02:41

Might also be Butler, if you have that running.

View Post

That's where I remember it from! Why does Butler do that?

#8 OP sdkaneda

sdkaneda

    the threadkiller!

  • Joined: 10-November 01

Posted 02 March 2005 - 12:42

yeah, it's Butler. :whistle: you can drag a file or a link to that corner and it opens the butler window so you can add it to your custom menu.

in earlier versions it was a little black square and now it's a blue triangle.

mystery solved!

#9 PureLogic

PureLogic

    Aqua Cool!

  • Joined: 17-January 05
  • Location: On-The-Go

Posted 02 March 2005 - 18:44

It's nice that they added a option so you can disable the thing (NOT) :angry:



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!