Jump to content



Photo

Can't View Hotmail in IE or Firefox. Plz Help!


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 raymondkorn

raymondkorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-October 04

Posted 19 July 2005 - 05:54

My friend is having a problem veiwing his hotmail e-mail in either FF or IE, I have uninstalled firefox COMPLETELY and reinstalled it several times to no avail.

Logging in is fine, but after that all FF does is show the HTML coding within the browser window, instead of the page itself. IE shows the main hotmail window fine (this is after logging in), but once he clicks on the MAIL tab nothing happens, IE just gives the error page.

He is on dailup, but no other sites give him any problems. We have the latest ad-aware, Anti Virus (NAV 2003) and AntiSpyware installed and updated.

Most problems I can handle, but this one has me completly stumped. :blink: Please help!

Edited by raymondkorn, 19 July 2005 - 05:59.



#2 OP raymondkorn

raymondkorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-October 04

Posted 19 July 2005 - 06:49

Someone please help!

#3 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 19 July 2005 - 06:53

Tried a new profile for FF?

#4 Orange Battery

Orange Battery

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 09-March 04
  • Location: London

Posted 19 July 2005 - 06:55

I was experiencing problems like this a while back and it it was a problem with my hosts file, I replaced it with an earlier version from a backup but there are lots of ways of editing it if thats the problem, thought I would mention it just in case.



Windows 95/98/Me c:\windows\hosts

Windows NT/2000/XP Pro c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

Windows XP Home c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

#5 OP raymondkorn

raymondkorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-October 04

Posted 19 July 2005 - 10:53

I was experiencing problems like this a while back and it it was a problem with my hosts file, I replaced it with an earlier version from a backup but there are lots of ways of editing it if thats the problem, thought I would mention it just in case.
Windows 95/98/Me c:\windows\hosts

Windows NT/2000/XP Pro  c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

Windows XP Home c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

View Post


the host file is fine, that still won't explain why ff can't reach it as per norm

#6 OP raymondkorn

raymondkorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-October 04

Posted 19 July 2005 - 10:56

Tried a new profile for FF?

View Post


I have no idea how to create a new profile,

However after I uninstalled firefox, I did a search for anything "mozilla" or "firefox" related and deleted it all.

#7 OP raymondkorn

raymondkorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-October 04

Posted 21 July 2005 - 12:29

PLEASE HELP ME!!!

#8 Just Add Water

Just Add Water

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-July 05

Posted 23 July 2005 - 19:31

I'm having the exact same problem; my IE doesn't work period, so I installed Opera instead to test and see if I could get into my Hotmail account. Still no dice. I'm afraid I can't help because I'm still looking for the answer myself! All those Firefox gimmicks don't help; creating a new profile, uninstalling, etc.

#9 Moonwolf

Moonwolf

    Engineer Neowin Member

  • Joined: 02-September 01
  • Location: Canada

Posted 23 July 2005 - 20:19

not the profile that is causing the problem.
I have 3 machine in the house...and i cant log on to any of them to hotmail with my account.

all started yesterday .....problably a router problem or one of there server is down which problably contain your account.

#10 Just Add Water

Just Add Water

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-July 05

Posted 24 July 2005 - 05:34

not the profile that is causing the problem.
I have 3 machine in the house...and i cant log on to any of them to hotmail with my account.

all started yesterday .....problably a router problem or one of there server is down which problably contain your account.

View Post


Exactly, it did all start yesterday...I've been looking everywhere to find public notice of Hotmail ****ing up, but to no avail.

#11 hulibecker

hulibecker

    If u try to fail, and do fail, is that success or failure!

  • Joined: 28-October 01

Posted 24 July 2005 - 15:02

Anyone had any luck yet signing in??

#12 vetdreamz

dreamz

    discreet artist

  • Joined: 19-March 03

Posted 24 July 2005 - 15:39

I have no idea how to create a new profile,

However after I uninstalled firefox, I did a search for anything "mozilla" or "firefox" related and deleted it all.

View Post

go to C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles and look in the profile folder. back up what you need (bookmarks, cookies, user.js, whatever you want) or just backup the whole profile.

then delete the profile folder and start firefox. once it starts, you can put the necessary files back, like bookmarks.html.

PLEASE HELP ME!!!

View Post

chill, man. no need to yell or whine.

moved here

#13 deebee

deebee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-February 03

Posted 24 July 2005 - 15:44

I've been having the same problem. For the past 4 days I've been unable to sign into my Hotmail UK account. Whichever PC I've tried it on, I've had someone else try their account, and they can sign in no problem. I've also managed to get into my account through MSN Mobile on my phone, and yet it still won't work through my computer, no matter what browser I use (FireFox or IE). Has anyone any ideas on this, it's getting to be extremely annoying! :crazy:

#14 OP raymondkorn

raymondkorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-October 04

Posted 26 July 2005 - 11:14

go to C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles and look in the profile folder.  back up what you need (bookmarks, cookies, user.js, whatever you want) or just backup the whole profile.

then delete the profile folder and start firefox.  once it starts, you can put the necessary files back, like bookmarks.html.
chill, man.  no need to yell or whine.

moved here

View Post


Sorry about whining, but no one had posted any reponses for some time.

Thanks for that, but it still didn't help.

#15 Bearded Kirklander

Bearded Kirklander

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 13-May 04

Posted 01 August 2005 - 18:22

You have all those Microsoft sites added to your TRUSTED ZONE in IE, right?

*.microsoft.com
*.hotmail.com
*.passport.com
*.passport.net

I have to do that to get it to work on my IE 6.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!