Jump to content



Photo

Modded BIOS?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Sensayshun

Sensayshun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-January 05

Posted 10 December 2005 - 11:25

Ok, I'm finally getting around to flashing the BIOS on this computer (I'll do it withing the next month) and was wondering, as I'll be overclocking should I try a modded BIOS?
What are the advantages/disadvantages?

Also IS there a modded BIOS for an ASUS A7N8X-Deluxe Because I havn't found one. The main thing I want to do is be able to get the BIOS to recognise the CPU as a sempron 2800 (which is what i've got in there) as the old BIOS doesn't support sempron CPU's.

Btw, it's Rev 2.00


#2 Leddy

Leddy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-July 03

Posted 10 December 2005 - 11:39

I'd suggest only official firmware upgrades.

Why? Because if you screw your BIOS, you're not likely to be able to fix it.

#3 paperless

paperless

    yipee

  • Joined: 22-May 03
  • Location: Portugal

Posted 10 December 2005 - 13:11

Well.. if there are modded Bios its because they work...

If you cant find any modded one for you motherboard use an official one becausewell.. its obvious why you shouldnt install the bios of another mobo there..

#4 LK.

LK.

    Neowinian Villager

  • Joined: 14-July 05
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 10 December 2005 - 16:41

There are ways around manufacturer-specifc bios updates. For Award Modular bioses you use modbin in conjunction with Awdflash

If you want to modify it, and your bios is Award(v6 onwards) then:

Download modbin6.exe and extract it to your desktop.
Prepare a blank floppy disk. Format it and tick the create MS DOS startup disc box (XP).
Look for your motherboard manual and find out if there is a bios/flash protection feature built in. If there is you can turn it off in the bios if available or by jumpers on the board. If you know there isn't then skip to the next part.

Copy awdflash.exe to the floppy and insert it.
Reboot your computer and at the A:\ prompt type awdflash -b backup.bin
When asked for confirmation to backup press Y. Ignore the source file/data not found message after that.
Remove the floppy during boot-up and insert it again once on the desktop. Extract backup.bin from the floppy to your desktop. Run modbin6.exe. The screen:

Posted Image

Posted Image


To edit or make hidden options available in your bios, use the Edit Setup Screen options.
Standard white text means the options in bios are already setup and/or in use. Greyed or blacked out options mean disabled and/or otherwise hidden by default.
To enable hidden options choose them using up/down keys, press enter and select Normal.

Posted Image


If it doesn't work there is onboard flash protection which doesn't allow you to use third-party bios tools. Or some options aren't compatible.



Press ALT+F and choose Save As to save the bios to desktop, name it bios1.bin. Delete the old backup(backup.bin)from the floppy disc and put the new one on it. Reboot with floppy disc in drive in -- at A:\ prompt type awdflash bios1.bin/py/sn

To flash Award bios's earlier than v6 use modbin_4.50.80.zip



might help
have fun modding :cool:

#5 Smigit

Smigit

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane Australia

Posted 12 December 2005 - 12:49

Well.. if there are modded Bios its because they work

Not necessarily. Could be some half done job someone uploaded.

You could use a modded one but would there be much benefit in doing so. I'd much rather have peace of mind that what I'm getting has been tested by the manufacturer and if a problem occurs I wont be stuck with something I cant return because I was playing around with non supported firmware. I mean up to you of course, but personally I'd rather not risk it or risk losing my warrenty.

#6 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 14 December 2005 - 16:57

Ive used a modded bios before... on a gigabyte board...i had to so i could get .1v more to my ram... it worked fine .... but i read up on this bios quite a bit before trying it... a lot of people trusted this person's work so i gave it a shot.

#7 larrylumbo

larrylumbo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 05

Posted 14 December 2005 - 17:05

on a asus board ALT +F2 method works or create a bootdisk as for modded bios
TRATS bios http://forums.pcper....&postid=2046478

Uber (Demoulous) http://homepage.ntlw...michael.mcclay/

have fun :D


take a look here so you dont end up with a paperweight
http://www.nforcersh.../asus-vf13.html

#8 Ruti

Ruti

    Geeky Geko

  • Joined: 02-January 06
  • Location: Santo Domingo,Dominican Republic
  • OS: Linux lover, Windows slave
  • Phone: Android

Posted 12 January 2006 - 18:25

can i use a modded bios so i would be able to change vcore? on a foxconn 661mx mobo?

#9 Jonathon Mirza

Jonathon Mirza

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-January 06

Posted 15 January 2006 - 18:21

i dont know about modded bios but i got plent of modded cmos chips that work for sale they are good quallity eeprom type chips they work fine

#10 Computer Guru

Computer Guru

    Mostly Harmless...

  • Joined: 23-April 05
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 16 January 2006 - 08:10

lk798, that was a GREAT post mate....
do you know if such a thing exists for us bastards stuck with non-OCable intel boards?

#11 Paul

Paul

    .net Developer

  • Joined: 23-January 03
  • Location: Wirral, UK

Posted 16 January 2006 - 09:23

Ik798, great stuff. Thanks for the info!!!