Jump to content



Photo

My Laptop's keyboards enter button is not working


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Deep_Level_Shark

Deep_Level_Shark

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 05

Posted 20 February 2006 - 15:32

hi, My Laptop's keyboards enter button is not working.......and so i cant write new line......is there any other alternatve shortcut to write newline when the "enter" button does not work ? BTW, what happened to my "Enter" button ? what i should do ? is it a dust problem ? or a damage ? i am new at using Laptops......so dont know what happened or what shold i do.....the "enter" buton seems is not smooth like other buttons and nt producing sound like othr buttons as soon as they are pressed.


#2 obsolete_power

obsolete_power

    Licensed Geek

  • Joined: 05-February 03
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 20 February 2006 - 15:39

First of all, what laptop is it?
I'm afraid that there aren't any shortcuts to the enter button for a windows laptop as far as I am concerned but on an apple laptop there is a second enter button. What may have happened is either the key isn't making contact with the circuit board because of some sort of debris or it may just be a faulty circuit around the button. If you tell me your laptop brand I could elaborate on this further.

#3 OP Deep_Level_Shark

Deep_Level_Shark

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 05

Posted 20 February 2006 - 15:44

My Laptop(notebook) is ACER TRAVELMATE 4152NLCI....can you please help ? i cant write anthing because of the absense of newlines(enter button).....i am pressng "enter' button......but this is not working.

#4 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 20 February 2006 - 15:51

Stupid question have you tried rebooting your computer. I had this exact same problem just 10 min ago lol . I think a program went funky and screwed up my keyboard .I reset ther comp and it worked.

the only other solution is to buy a new keyboard and install it yourself.

I have an acer aspire 1691 wmli and they basically have the same case.

Acre laptops are extremely easy to upgrade and open up. You can prob repair the keyboard itself.


I think the problem probably is dirt under the key. Just use compressed air at blow the dirt out.

I havent ahd a single problem with the keyboard hardware itself.

#5 OP Deep_Level_Shark

Deep_Level_Shark

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 05

Posted 20 February 2006 - 15:58

once i rebooted though but still it did not work.........well,this time i'll shut down completely and then let you know...............BTW, does Laptops require an UPS for power supply? do you use UPS for your Laptop ?

#6 obsolete_power

obsolete_power

    Licensed Geek

  • Joined: 05-February 03
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 20 February 2006 - 16:13

once i rebooted though but still it did not work.........well,this time i'll shut down completely and then let you know...............BTW, does Laptops require an UPS for power supply? do you use UPS for your Laptop ?


Ummm no, UPS is for battery backup of mainly desktops and since your laptop has a battery there is no need.

#7 lawtai

lawtai

    Neowinian Old Timer

  • Joined: 06-October 01
  • Location: Rochester, NY

Posted 20 February 2006 - 16:13

If it's an old laptop, then the keyboard could just have gone bad from usage. There's really no good way to replace the keyboard on laptops, so most likely you could be out of luck. It might be repairable though, but I'm not sure.

#8 OP Deep_Level_Shark

Deep_Level_Shark

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 05

Posted 20 February 2006 - 16:13

guys.....you are geneius.

Now my enter button works fine.

i just went for a complete shut down.....and then restarted ...i got a message "windows has recovered from a serious problem.....tell microsoft ....blah blah blah....' and then "enter" button works fine.

by the way, will you guys suggest me How do i take care of my Laptop ?


this is a newly bought Laptop and i dont have any prior experience using this at all.


1)what are the accessoris/kits i have to buy to take care of my laptop ?

2)i use UPS in my desktop......i dont know whether Laptops needs UPS too. does it needd ?

3)how can i protect keyboards/LCD's from dusts ?




Please share your experiences/tips


regards

#9 obsolete_power

obsolete_power

    Licensed Geek

  • Joined: 05-February 03
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 20 February 2006 - 16:14

How old is this laptop?

#10 OP Deep_Level_Shark

Deep_Level_Shark

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 05

Posted 20 February 2006 - 16:19

How old is this laptop?


4 days.


N.B: are u the owner of that PC configauration !!!! are you a serious gamer ? :D

#11 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 20 February 2006 - 16:20

I am glad that I can be of service.

Actually anybody else get this wierd problem. That makes 2 people it happened 2 today. I fidn that not just a coincidence. Bad aptch or software or something?


Something to keep in mind.


i really think it has to do with a software patch or something. Anyway I dont think its something you did .


I suggest getting a good laptop bag that has a lot of padding.

The acer screens with the special coating (remember i have an acer lappy lol) get finger prints extremely easy.

when cleaning the screen use only a damp towel or paper towel. do not use any cleaners or window cleaner.

Dont use too much water either ebcause it can short it out.

The acre laptops vent from the sides and not the bottom. I recomend at least once a month blowing the cpu fan out with some compressed air.

Also every now and then use the compressed air on the keyboard to get rid of some of the dust.

other then that acer laptops have pretty good quality and i have had mine for atleast a year and no problems at all.


Oh big tip. I recommend getting a version of xp pro and wiping out acers default config and installing pro on the laptop.

For some strange reason they have the hdd setup as 2 partitions using fat 32 instead of ntfs. So i suggest if possible installing xp pro on the machine and repartitioning the drive with ntfs.

#12 obsolete_power

obsolete_power

    Licensed Geek

  • Joined: 05-February 03
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 20 February 2006 - 16:22

1)what are the accessoris/kits i have to buy to take care of my laptop ?

2)i use UPS in my desktop......i dont know whether Laptops needs UPS too. does it needd ?

3)how can i protect keyboards/LCD's from dusts ?
Please share your experiences/tips
regards


1) You don't need to buy much just a cleaning solution for your LCD screen (I recommend the Monster ScreenClean solution which I use and works amazingly well, it also comes with a large microfiber cloth and its about $30 CDN) and a carrying case for your laptop with good padding (I suggest gel padding as it creates an environment where you laptop is almost completely surrounded by gel) so you can protect it from bumps and scratches etc.

2) You most certainly do not need a UPS

3) If you want to protect the keyboard from normal wear from finger oil, dirt and dust you should definitely invest in one as it also protects the screen from scratches and stains that the keyboard might induce on it wen the lid is closed. Now I must warn you this is not cheap. I paid almost $50 CDN for my laptop keyboard protector from iSkin and its very good but they only make protectors for apple notebooks.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!