Jump to content



Photo

COM Surrogate needs to close! (HELP) PLEASE


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Esmandau

Esmandau

    WaReZ KiLLeR

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: Puerto Rico

Posted 09 October 2006 - 13:00

I Am Having This problem since i installed vista 5744 it says

COM Surrogate program Needs to close





What the hell is that


#2 Iscariah

Iscariah

    Psychonaut

  • Joined: 23-May 04
  • Location: Arlon, Belgium

Posted 09 October 2006 - 13:27

Same problem here, combined with a RUNDLL32 crash when trying to play a video on WMP11...

Which audio card do you own, and which drivers do you use? Maybe an Audigy 2 with Creative Vista beta drivers 2.10.0000? If so... you should remove the driver and wait for a new version from Creative or from MS on Windows Update.

#3 OP Esmandau

Esmandau

    WaReZ KiLLeR

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: Puerto Rico

Posted 09 October 2006 - 15:16

Same problem here, combined with a RUNDLL32 crash when trying to play a video on WMP11...

Which audio card do you own, and which drivers do you use? Maybe an Audigy 2 with Creative Vista beta drivers 2.10.0000? If so... you should remove the driver and wait for a new version from Creative or from MS on Windows Update.



I DOnt hav Creative Hardware but it happen to me usins iTunes and WMP

So maybe is the same

#4 Iscariah

Iscariah

    Psychonaut

  • Joined: 23-May 04
  • Location: Arlon, Belgium

Posted 09 October 2006 - 15:57

Seen like that, it has to be a problem related to audio hardware or audio driver...

But which audio hardware do you have then? Realtek AC'97? 'cause this one is known to have issues with Vista as well!

#5 Chimera

Chimera

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-August 01

Posted 09 October 2006 - 16:14

I'm having the same issue, Realtek AC'97...but I'm not sure that's the problem. I get the Com Surrogate error when I go into any folder with Divx or Xvid or Mpeg 2 files, I think Vista is trying to generate previews. I get the Rundll32 error when opening the same media in Media Player, but the files still play fine. It's annoying as hell!

#6 +AJerman

AJerman

    Boomer Sooner!

  • Joined: 24-July 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 09 October 2006 - 16:22

I get the same after watching a video that uses the Xvid codec. I think that's what's causing it. I have an X-Fi, but it doesn't have drivers so I'm just using my onboard Realtek sound.

#7 OP Esmandau

Esmandau

    WaReZ KiLLeR

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: Puerto Rico

Posted 09 October 2006 - 18:33

Seen like that, it has to be a problem related to audio hardware or audio driver...

But which audio hardware do you have then? Realtek AC'97? 'cause this one is known to have issues with Vista as well!


Yes i Have realtek 97

Im suppose to think that is something with the drivers but exactaly why it do it when playing video and not when playing AUDIO, maybe because of the Xvid Codecs but i dont know

I was confuse yesterday and was at the limit of my pacience to do a clean install to see if it resolve the issue!

#8 Chimera

Chimera

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-August 01

Posted 09 October 2006 - 18:36

I'm just going to deal with the issue until RTM, then do a clean install...that is, if testers get a 180 day copy of RTM.

#9 Iscariah

Iscariah

    Psychonaut

  • Joined: 23-May 04
  • Location: Arlon, Belgium

Posted 09 October 2006 - 19:03

So it's linked to video files, but not especially DivX/Xvid files, because I have that problem simply when playing a MPG file with WMP11.

For the Realtek AC'97, are you using drivers from Realtek website? In that case, remove them because AC'97 works 'correctly' when you're using the drivers provided by Microsoft.

#10 Chimera

Chimera

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-August 01

Posted 09 October 2006 - 19:09

yeah it's definitely video files, but it only seems to be video files that play in media player because I have lots of MP4 files that play in quicktime, and don't get the error with those.

#11 OP Esmandau

Esmandau

    WaReZ KiLLeR

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: Puerto Rico

Posted 09 October 2006 - 20:15

So it's linked to video files, but not especially DivX/Xvid files, because I have that problem simply when playing a MPG file with WMP11.

For the Realtek AC'97, are you using drivers from Realtek website? In that case, remove them because AC'97 works 'correctly' when you're using the drivers provided by Microsoft.

You have all the reason since i use the originals drivers taht came from the CD Facotry Settings i have been issue with that error but now i ROLL BACK and dont have any issue

Thanks Pal' :D

#12 DawnUnder2002

DawnUnder2002

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-December 01

Posted 10 October 2006 - 11:44

I had actually installed the original XP drivers from disc, but then upgraded the driver with the one provided in Windows Update. Still giving me these same errors. I will try to uninstall all drivers for the audio card and then just install the ones provided through Windows Update, maybe that will solve the issue.

#13 OP Esmandau

Esmandau

    WaReZ KiLLeR

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: Puerto Rico

Posted 10 October 2006 - 12:17

No Way to resolve it, i dont know but this is driving me a little mad so, if somebody knows a way to resolve the issue please post it!!!

#14 trichard

trichard

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-January 06

Posted 10 October 2006 - 22:23

I observe that it is always due to the using ot WMP11 .....

After adding Codec Pack All in 1 6.0.3.0 from http://www.free-codecs.com/ .....ok already ...

Download : http://www.free-code...php?d=1716&s=67

Not really the sound driver.....

I tis the Codec that crashes....

Not cauese by sound drive3r..... it is the CODEC that crashes...

#15 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: NYC & Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 11 October 2006 - 00:12

Error caused by DivX™ Codec: no specific solution available

Thank you for submitting an error report.

Problem description

An analyst at Microsoft has investigated this problem and determined that an unknown error occurred in DivX™ Codec. This software was created by DivX®.


Recommendation
Microsoft has researched this problem with DivX®, and they do not currently have a solution for the problem that you reported. Below is a recommendation to take that may help prevent the problem from recurring.

Contact DivX® for support or product updates.

Additional information

If this problem continues to occur with the latest product updates for DivX™ Codec, we recommend you obtain assistance and troubleshooting information directly from DivX®.


That's the solution i got for it when i installed the latest codec. i had 6.2.5 before and couldn't go full screen and a few other issues and Vista said upgrade tot he latest as a fix... lol guess not. Hmm so i guess vista isn't perfect yet, forgot about this lil error i was getting with divx files.... that's a divx problem tho right since other videos play fine.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!