Jump to content



Photo

New Core 2 Duo 3DMark05 scores


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 24 October 2006 - 01:19

of course all of you have been following my recent uprgrade to a dual core sys...as if you have nothing better to do...

but anyway, put it to the 3dmark05 test, build 1.20.

sys:

E6400 2.13Ghz, all stock
2GB DDR2-533 Kingstons
Asus 7900GS 256MB stock (1320Mhz)
MSI 965 Neo F mobo
Hitachi vanilla SATA II HDD, 8MB cache etc

what else makes a diff? not sure. anyway, scored 7589. christ i don't even know what that means!

conversely, my P4HT 3.0GHz with 1.2GB DDR and Sapphire X800 (700Mhz) scored in the area of 4500 if my memory serves me right, about a year ago.

any thoughts appreciated!


#2 Trong

Trong

    wut in teh wurld

  • Joined: 17-January 06
  • Location: Northern Virginia

Posted 24 October 2006 - 02:06

7900GS > X800 ? What's not to get?

EDIT: Do you not realize that 3DMark is video card benchmarking software?

Edited by Trong, 24 October 2006 - 02:20.


#3 OP neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 24 October 2006 - 02:46

but i didn't say i didn't get it. i just don't know exactly how useful 3dmark scores are, as pleasing as they may sometimes be.

#4 Trong

Trong

    wut in teh wurld

  • Joined: 17-January 06
  • Location: Northern Virginia

Posted 24 October 2006 - 03:00

They're benchmark scores? They aren't exactly useful unless you're benchmarking video cards.

It tells you which cards are better than others (most of the time)? It's just benchmarking man.

EDIT: WTF? I'm so confused on what Neowin is doing.

It tells you which cards are better than others (most of the time)? It's just benchmarking man. //Posted 5 minutes ago


They're benchmark scores? They aren't exactly useful unless you're benchmarking video cards. //Posted just now



#5 OP neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 24 October 2006 - 04:16

dude, you're taking me too seriously. i was just playing dumb, but i apologize coz it's hard to get cynicism across on a forum.

i've been using 3dmark since 01 so i know what it "means", but still can't see the applicability, since a lot of lower-score rigs in reality perform just as well as blazing-speed ones.

at any rate, are these typical scores for that kind of setup?

Thanks

#6 Trong

Trong

    wut in teh wurld

  • Joined: 17-January 06
  • Location: Northern Virginia

Posted 24 October 2006 - 18:52

Are you still playing dumb?

That's why you use the online result browser? You click it and look at other 7900GS scores...

Go google some benchmarks for the 7900GS and that tells you their scores.

http://www.google.co...amp;startPage=1

You don't play dumb unless you have [sarcasm][/sarcasm]

Edited by Trong, 24 October 2006 - 19:20.


#7 Amnesia

Amnesia

    iLoveQatar.net

  • Joined: 15-December 03
  • Location: Qatari / British

Posted 24 October 2006 - 18:57

No need to be mean to him Trong.

If I understand correctly, he is basically asking what the benchmarks are based upon.

Of course 3 is larger than 2 but how does the benchmark decide that it's 3.

Am I right in that is what you mean neoadorable ?

#8 Trong

Trong

    wut in teh wurld

  • Joined: 17-January 06
  • Location: Northern Virginia

Posted 24 October 2006 - 19:16

I seriously didn't know whether he was playing dumb. He says he's been using it forever but doesn't know why or how it works?

#9 Geranium_Z__NL

Geranium_Z__NL

    Will get these two together, even if I have to use Duct Tape

  • Joined: 20-February 05
  • Location: Netherlands, The
  • OS: Windows 8 Professional x64 NL
  • Phone: Sony Xperia S

Posted 24 October 2006 - 19:16

Christ... I Had 2000 :|

on this system :(

#10 Rogue`

Rogue`

    n00b

  • Joined: 08-August 04
  • Location: Liverpool, UK

Posted 24 October 2006 - 21:50

Not a bad score I think, I used to get 10775 3DMarks with my old 7600GT SLI setup in 05, not ran 3DMark05 on my 7950GT yet (ive ran 01 & 06 tho), but it will probably be lower anyway :p

#11 OP neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 25 October 2006 - 01:52

thx for the back Amnesia, but it's all good, i think Trong's just playin anyway.

man, from my original post it's kind of apparent i have at least a clue as to what's going on in the computing world, and yes, it's just my slightly sarcastic tone when asking what it all means. no need to be offended Trong, it wasn't meant personally at you, clearly! i do appreciate your attitude tho: it shows you take posts seriously and want to help.

so yes, help: is that score reasonable? Here we have Rogue with a 7600GT scoring 30 percent higher! hence, there's the X factor. a technically faster card scoring lower. any explanations?

#12 Behemoth

Behemoth

    Resident Lunatic

  • Joined: 26-January 04
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 25 October 2006 - 02:11

thx for the back Amnesia, but it's all good, i think Trong's just playin anyway.

man, from my original post it's kind of apparent i have at least a clue as to what's going on in the computing world, and yes, it's just my slightly sarcastic tone when asking what it all means. no need to be offended Trong, it wasn't meant personally at you, clearly! i do appreciate your attitude tho: it shows you take posts seriously and want to help.

so yes, help: is that score reasonable? Here we have Rogue with a 7600GT scoring 30 percent higher! hence, there's the X factor. a technically faster card scoring lower. any explanations?



Rouge had a 7600GT SLI setup, meaning 2 x 7600GTs working together, hence the higher score than your 7900GS. My 05 score is in my sig with a single 7800GTX. If you want to know if your card is scoring what it should, google for some benchmarks of the 7600 by some review sites, like anandtech or toms hardware, they should have 3dmark 05 benches in there. Hope this helps.

#13 OP neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 25 October 2006 - 05:32

nice score Behemoth and thx for the input. why is it 3dmark then goes into a second cycle where everything slows down to 2-5 FPS? that big fish and airship sequence then takes forever!

and yes, i forgot Rogue had two GT's...

#14 Behemoth

Behemoth

    Resident Lunatic

  • Joined: 26-January 04
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 25 October 2006 - 13:37

nice score Behemoth and thx for the input. why is it 3dmark then goes into a second cycle where everything slows down to 2-5 FPS? that big fish and airship sequence then takes forever!

and yes, i forgot Rogue had two GT's...



The last two tests are just for your CPU, not video card. That's why it goes so slow.

#15 Rogue`

Rogue`

    n00b

  • Joined: 08-August 04
  • Location: Liverpool, UK

Posted 25 October 2006 - 16:15

In 3DMark03 and 05, if you have the registered version, you can disable the CPU and other tests and still get your 3DMark score (you only need to run the game tests).

Also, yea, that was with 2 7600GT's :) I never did the test on 05 with 1 7600GT, but for 03 I got:

6600GT AMD64 3200+: 7646Marks
7600GT AMD64 3200+: 11794Marks
2x7600GT AMD64 3200+: 22151Marks

These were whilst overclocking, think my 3200+ was at 2.4Ghz (2Ghz stock) and my 7600GT's were at 590/1600 (550/1400 stock)....for some reason I never did them with my 4600+....

I will do 05 and 03 with my current rig in a bit.....I just finished removing my IHS (Integrated Heat Spreader) from my 4600+ and currently Prime95'ing the cores to see if its stable, as I had to also mod my HSF retention bracket so my HSF had a better contact with the now lower CPU :o



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!