Xine Problem

when ever I play an avi with xine the color is in black and white like so

xineprob.png

:/ how can I fix this? might it be because of my video card?

this is how its supposed to look like

xinesnap-20021118-194155-1.png

did you try to logoff/restart? could be that you didn't do that after installing xine. I am using RedHat 8.0 as well, but I didn't get anything like that and I use xine for all video-files.

Btw, did you install the "divx4linux" rpm?

can you back that up?

I'm a newbie myself, and I've tried both mplayer and xine and found xine to be MUCH better. I've read "xine is crap"/"mplayer is crap" but so far I haven't seen any reasons supporting any of those comments. Would you mind stating few of them here?

From my past experience, Xine on my Linux PDA (as can be found in Opie Mediplayer 2) is buggy, and very slow. Mplayer, on the other hands, is much more optimised, uses less cpu, memory, etc.

Mplayer also supports a loads more formats ;)

yea I just installed divx and still get the same problem, when I try Mplayer by right clicking the file and choosing open with> movei player

I get this error

snapshot1.png

but when I goto open with> other> and type in mplayer it works

snapshot2.png

except I don't get a control panel just the screen

Use the console to launch mplayer, use 'mplayer <file> -quiet'

its the same as if I right click on the file and choose open with> other> and type in "mplayer", I want to have a control panel and also be able to change the display size

How about do the gmplayer command? If not work, then try to do the mplayer -vo x11 -gui and see what happen. If it works, then try to do gmplayer -vo x11..

BTW: What kind of video card do you have?

BTW: What kind of video card do you have?

look at my sig :p

ATI Radeon 9000 Pro

no drivers for it :/ only vesa but no 3D support

also have your read my pm I sent you?

look at my sig :p

ATI Radeon 9000 Pro