Jump to content



Photo

*Setting up UPnP


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 matty13

matty13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-August 06
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 19 November 2006 - 10:08

How do i setup UPnP On my router what values are best for these?
Advertisement Period (in minutes)
Advertisement Time To Live (in hops)

Thanks
-Matt

Netgear WPN824 Rangemax v1


#2 andy2004

andy2004

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 31-December 03
  • Location: Bristol

Posted 19 November 2006 - 10:14

upnp should be disabled unless you absolutely need it

refernce http://www.grc.com/unpnp/unpnp.htm

#3 noroom

noroom

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 03
  • Location: Germany

Posted 19 November 2006 - 10:21

without the security update patch, and with the Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) system in its default "enabled" state, any of the many millions of Internet-connected UPnP-equipped Windows systems could be remotely commandeered and forced to download and run any malicious code of a hacker's design

That goes for any service, not just uPnP. If you don't apply the latest security patches, you're much better off not turning your computer on. And lol @ FBI.

#4 mikey

mikey

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-January 03
  • Location: Essex, UK

Posted 19 November 2006 - 10:29

is it not safe to turn on UPnP if you are within a NAT firewall?

#5 OP matty13

matty13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-August 06
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 19 November 2006 - 10:32

Im on about in router so Xfire and Limewire and MSN Messenger can configure itself with my router to work correctly if i just turn it on,

My router keeps rebooting and rebooting and rebooting i think i need to set it up properly so im not sure what i put for those 2 settings.

#6 TogaForComfort

TogaForComfort

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-August 04
  • Location: Luton, England

Posted 19 November 2006 - 10:47

Why don't you use port forwarding?
This will give you controll over which ports are used.

Google will help you find the port numbers if you are unsure what they are

#7 OP matty13

matty13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-August 06
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 19 November 2006 - 10:50

Why don't you use port forwarding?
This will give you controll over which ports are used.

Google will help you find the port numbers if you are unsure what they are


Because there is more than 1 computer you no thatys what a router is for...
My sister has to use MSN, I do and my brother all on each different computer.

#8 TogaForComfort

TogaForComfort

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-August 04
  • Location: Luton, England

Posted 19 November 2006 - 11:10

Because there is more than 1 computer you no thatys what a router is for...
My sister has to use MSN, I do and my brother all on each different computer.


Sorry, didn't think about that.

Anyhow here is some info on what each setting means
http://wejump.ifac.c...Advanced18.html

I would use the defaults settings for now and start experimenting if you are having issues.
As with most network related setting there are no magic values that will guarantee good results there are many variables that affect performance.

#9 OP matty13

matty13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-August 06
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 19 November 2006 - 11:20

Sorry, didn't think about that.

Anyhow here is some info on what each setting means
http://wejump.ifac.c...Advanced18.html

I would use the defaults settings for now and start experimenting if you are having issues.
As with most network related setting there are no magic values that will guarantee good results there are many variables that affect performance.


Thanks it workin fine now randomly.

#10 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 19 November 2006 - 13:29

Well most people arent targetted for hackers unless you are cocky and something.


UPnP is great and I personally always have it on to save me the hassle of port forwarding.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!