Jump to content



Photo

Join Neowin Folding@Home Group


  • Please log in to reply
633 replies to this topic

#616 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,688 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 16 September 2013 - 08:57

There's an unused Dell Precision M6700 (Core i7-3740 QM@2.7 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Nvidia GPU) here at work which is now doing its part for the team. 




#617 Top Qat

Top Qat

    Neowinian

  • 347 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 and Server 2012 R2u1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S 3

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:49

Just added mine in.

 

User Top_Qat.

Running on AMD FX8530, 32G Ram, NVidia GPU, OS is Windows Server 2012 Standard.

System is on 24/7.



#618 BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,704 posts
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 18 September 2013 - 01:59

I still have 2 machines crunching away... soon to be 3.  Why the long face, Ed?



#619 crazzy88ss

crazzy88ss

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,438 posts
  • Joined: 24-July 05
  • Location: CA, USA

Posted 24 September 2013 - 01:11

thanks guys!

 

My spike in points was because I hooked up a bunch of computers at work that weren't used by anybody.  I've since switched jobs, and they've been coming off line as power outages and shufflings happen at the old company.

 

The computer I use at my new job is an Intel Pentium... lol :'( 



#620 vetsanctified

sanctified

    Your order is meaningless. My chaos is significant.

  • 21,048 posts
  • Joined: 29-November 01
  • Location: ø
  • OS: OS X 10.9 and Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: An awesome Moto X for $150 off contract.

Posted 24 September 2013 - 01:17

Question, while I always supporting folding@home I have a fear: Would the increased energy consumption would not outweigh the benefits?



#621 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 31,105 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:12

I've joined again (stopped when I took out my home/office server) I think I can still use the Neobond entry http://fah-web.stanf...sername=Neobond that's how I've set it up anyway so I'll see tomorrow if registers me crunching away again :p



#622 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • 11,578 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 05 October 2013 - 08:37

What is this?

Someone take a minute to explain it in dummy terms?



#623 vetsanctified

sanctified

    Your order is meaningless. My chaos is significant.

  • 21,048 posts
  • Joined: 29-November 01
  • Location: ø
  • OS: OS X 10.9 and Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: An awesome Moto X for $150 off contract.

Posted 05 October 2013 - 08:40

What is this?

Someone take a minute to explain it in dummy terms?

 

Each member dedicates part of their computer's processing power in order to analyze some proteins and chemical compounds. This can help scientist to better understand some diseases, like Alzheimmer's, Huntington's and cancer.



#624 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • 11,578 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 05 October 2013 - 08:43

Each member dedicates part of their computer's processing power in order to analyze some proteins and chemical compounds. This can help scientist to better understand some diseases, like Alzheimmer's, Huntington's and cancer.

I might look into doing it when I have finished building my new rig, (this one is only a dual core Athlon and will struggle if I was to add mine <something I'll have to be shown how to do once it's running>)



#625 vetsanctified

sanctified

    Your order is meaningless. My chaos is significant.

  • 21,048 posts
  • Joined: 29-November 01
  • Location: ø
  • OS: OS X 10.9 and Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: An awesome Moto X for $150 off contract.

Posted 05 October 2013 - 08:44

I might look into doing it when I have finished building my new rig, (this one is only a dual core Athlon and will struggle if I was to add mine <something I'll have to be shown how to do once it's running>)

 

If you have a ps3 you can then fold with it. The ps3 is currently the most efficient folding machine.



#626 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • 11,578 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 05 October 2013 - 08:46

If you have a ps3 you can then fold with it. The ps3 is currently the most efficient folding machine.

oh, is that what that option was....

I left it alone as I didn't understand what it was or what it did. I'll have to go and check next time I'm using it



#627 vetsanctified

sanctified

    Your order is meaningless. My chaos is significant.

  • 21,048 posts
  • Joined: 29-November 01
  • Location: ø
  • OS: OS X 10.9 and Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: An awesome Moto X for $150 off contract.

Posted 05 October 2013 - 08:51

oh, is that what that option was....

I left it alone as I didn't understand what it was or what it did. I'll have to go and check next time I'm using it

 

It's a long read but you can check out some of the results folding@home have generated

 

http://folding.stanf...edu/home/papers



#628 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • 7,388 posts
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 25 February 2014 - 00:34

Folding@Home Chrome App!

 

In order to use the Folding App, you need to cover these three basic requirements:
1) Use the latest Chrome Browser in Windows, Linux, or OSX (Details)
2) Install the Folding App from the Chrome Web Store (Details)
3) Launch the Folding App and you are now folding!

 

Remember to configure Team 55186 for Neowin - http://folding.extre....php?s=&t=55186



#629 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • 2,590 posts
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 25 February 2014 - 13:37

Folding@Home Chrome App!

 

In order to use the Folding App, you need to cover these three basic requirements:
1) Use the latest Chrome Browser in Windows, Linux, or OSX (Details)
2) Install the Folding App from the Chrome Web Store (Details)
3) Launch the Folding App and you are now folding!

 

Remember to configure Team 55186 for Neowin - http://folding.extre....php?s=&t=55186

 

Does that extension use a variant of BOINC? And can you crunch on GPU with the extension?



#630 Skiver

Skiver

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,548 posts
  • Joined: 10-October 05
  • Location: UK, Reading

Posted 26 February 2014 - 15:58

added the extension to my chrome browser so will try and run this when I can :)