Jump to content



Photo

Sandboxie - Browse the internet with ease.


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#16 vetPL_

PL_

    Neowinian Senior

  • 13,773 posts
  • Joined: 02-August 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 07 June 2007 - 15:49

Me like :D

I think they're trying this for Windows Vienna. Of course, MS make it sound much more impressive.


#17 well...

well...

    Neowinian

  • 910 posts
  • Joined: 07-November 06
  • Location: UK

Posted 07 June 2007 - 15:52

Whoo been using sandboxie for firefox since this thread started, sandboxie on usb would be awesome, i could use all my programs at school!

#18 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 24,723 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 07 June 2007 - 18:32

I'm running my iBook just now but I can't wait to try this on the home pc when im back from vacation!

Couple of questions though...

Does Sandboxie run programs at full speed? Meaning they load/run as quickly as they would without it? I wouldn't see why not but its worth asking.

Whats memory usage like and do you have to have a Sanboxie "process" running with windows at all times?

Thanks, can't think of anymore questions just now!


The first time you start an application in sandboxie it does take a few extra seconds for sandboxie to transfer files the application requires over to the sandbox. Once thats done the startup time from there on is about the same, however if you tell sandboxie to delete the sandbox every time you exit the applications, then you are going to get the same few extra seconds every time. Sandboxie does have an option for multiple sandboxes (not sure if this is only in the paid version) you could then have sandboxie delete the contents of 1 application on exit and not others.

The memory usage with sandboxie is the following

sandboxiedcomlaunch.exe = 2,184k
sandboxieRpcSs.exe = 3,176k
SbieSvc.exe 2,120k
control = 2,732k

The sandboxiedcomlaunch.exe and sandboxieRpcSs.exe are running only when you have an application opened and sandboxe. SbieSvc.exe and control.exe remain even when not sandboxed
If you only have 256 megs of ram you might see a slight slow down with the amount of ram its using, if you have anything over 1 gig, I don't think it will matter

#19 riot

riot

    Error

  • 386 posts
  • Joined: 02-September 04
  • Location: NY

Posted 07 June 2007 - 18:43

Great review!! I am now going to install and try this out! Thanks!

#20 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 24,723 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 27 June 2007 - 19:51

I use this program out at the local (little) airport for inside the break room, where they have a computer setup for pilots to come in and browse the net. Besides the computer being setup as a limited user, they are sandboxed in this.

#21 troist

troist

    Neowinian

  • 1,210 posts
  • Joined: 22-March 05
  • Location: Blighty

Posted 03 July 2007 - 22:08

this looks great. it'll save me booting up a VM to test out any dodgy looking programs. its x64 compatible too :D

#22 supernova_00

supernova_00

    NeoVeteran

  • 4,834 posts
  • Joined: 07-August 01

Posted 09 July 2007 - 16:36

where is post 1 through 15? There are no links to go to the other pages.

EDIT: showed up after a bunch of refreshes

Edited by supernova_00, 09 July 2007 - 16:44.


#23 QuietStorm21A

QuietStorm21A

    Neowinian

  • 331 posts
  • Joined: 31-January 05
  • Location: Atlanta, GA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 09 July 2007 - 17:44

Very interesting! Cant wait to get home from work and try this out! :)

#24 +Ghost96

Ghost96

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,716 posts
  • Joined: 10-February 04
  • Location: Right Here!

Posted 11 July 2007 - 14:42

SO I take it your system admins aren't on top of things like this if the possibility exists that you could run it at school? Maybe via USB?

I'd have this blacklisted immediately. But then again I kill all access to USB drives for students but allow it for staffers. But yeah, I'd imagine most admins would blacklist the exe file - and if it has to install a service you can't just do it under any account.

So let's hope it doesn't allow you guys to run wild on school networks! :p

#25 grimreaper

grimreaper

    [ F i s c h ]

  • 2,243 posts
  • Joined: 03-September 03

Posted 22 July 2007 - 07:05

but can you sandbox norton?

#26 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 24,723 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 23 July 2007 - 04:17

but can you sandbox norton?


Cute

but for it to be effective you'd have to install it sandboxed , and most antiviruses don't like that.

#27 nXqd

nXqd

    Neowinian

  • 527 posts
  • Joined: 29-July 05
  • Location: Home

Posted 30 July 2007 - 15:14

OMG ! Sandboxie is so great :)
So Portable Program is easier now, no need VM to test software ( Maybe not with OS testing )
nXqd

#28 nXqd

nXqd

    Neowinian

  • 527 posts
  • Joined: 29-July 05
  • Location: Home

Posted 31 July 2007 - 13:42

You want Sandboxie Portable version huh ?
Try this http://sandboxie.com...t...c&start=210
nXqd

Edited by Nxqd3051990, 31 July 2007 - 13:53.


#29 Echilon

Echilon

    GGTW

  • 10,413 posts
  • Joined: 18-May 03
  • Location: Chester, England

Posted 31 July 2007 - 14:54

It's a fair bit of extra work, and I've never had an application screw up and though "I wish I'd use Sandboxie".

#30 313

313

    Neowinian

  • 4 posts
  • Joined: 27-March 07
  • Location: Bucharest

Posted 11 September 2007 - 09:51

I have a limited windows account at work. Is there any way of installing it without the need for an admin account?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!