Jump to content



Photo

[REL] Vista Game Explorer Editor


  • Please log in to reply
457 replies to this topic

Poll: Vista Game Explorer Editor (430 member(s) have cast votes)

How would you rate VGEE out of 10?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Ryan R

Ryan R

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-June 07
  • Location: Melbourne - Australia

Posted 25 July 2007 - 23:08

As requested by one or two forum members here - I'm creating this thread to allow more people to notice this program that allows you to add and edit information and BoxArt shown in your Vista Game Explorer (or VGE).

The most recent release of this program is VGEE Beta 2.15a - and you can get it from here


A few things to note:
* You can run this program in Windows Vista or 7. 32bit and 64bit versions have been tested. Non-English versions of Vista may have a few problems - but they can be corrected manually by altering the shortcut file by right-clicking an icon in the VGE and choosing Customise (after using VGEE).

* It is crucial that when you add or edit games in the editor, that you have your Game Explorer closed (not just minimized).


Note - the VGE is the Windows folder that shows you your games (accessible via Start-->Games)
the VGEE is my program which adds and edits games.


Please remember that the problems discussed in the first few pages of this thread refer to much earlier builds of this software and have been fixed.

Edited by Ryan R, 28 July 2009 - 01:19.



#2 Vegtro

Vegtro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-September 04

Posted 25 July 2007 - 23:34

Can't download it. Keeps on saying the file is damaged. :(

#3 OP Ryan R

Ryan R

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-June 07
  • Location: Melbourne - Australia

Posted 26 July 2007 - 03:15

It must be a problem with a mirror it's directing you to - I just tested it (Optus - Australia mirror) which works

You can also get it from my site: http://ryzza007.googlepages.com/vgee

#4 OP Ryan R

Ryan R

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-June 07
  • Location: Melbourne - Australia

Posted 26 July 2007 - 04:48

:pc: Not good enough?

I expect reasons then - so that it can be made better :argh:

#5 :: Lyon ::

:: Lyon ::

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-May 03
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 26 July 2007 - 05:04

LoL.. lucky I chose "Null vote" OOPS does that make you feel better or worse ^^

#6 SHADOW-XIII

SHADOW-XIII

    Embrace Your Dreams

  • Joined: 25-August 05
  • Location: London

Posted 26 July 2007 - 14:57

Great, at last I managed to add games with boxart
to edit existing ones to have boxart I just had to press "Add Game"insteadof update information.
Cheers

#7 myxomatosis

myxomatosis

    Shrinking Universe

  • Joined: 21-January 04
  • Location: Montréal (Canada)

Posted 26 July 2007 - 15:08

Works well so far.. I've been looking for a program like that for a while ;)


Anyone knows where to get good quality box arts?

#8 Nitrius

Nitrius

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-May 03
  • Location: Norway

Posted 26 July 2007 - 15:38

Can't seem to get it to work, gets some sort of error every time i try to add a game. something about its not being able to locate some sort of .jpg file..


Edit: Got it to work. I first dragged the .exe for the game i wanted into the games window, and i then opened up your program @Ryan R and used it to edit it. So far it seems to work fine. Dosen't seems like i have to use regedit or anything like that. Just dragging my game into the Games window, and then use your program to edit the details. Working great.

Thanks for this great program!

Edited by Nitrius, 26 July 2007 - 16:15.


#9 Nitrius

Nitrius

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-May 03
  • Location: Norway

Posted 26 July 2007 - 16:32

Hmm i don't have any more games to start the VGEE with, so now everytime i edit/try to add a game it just overwrites a game which i have allready finished..

#10 Jamibu

Jamibu

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-June 07

Posted 26 July 2007 - 21:04

Boxart can be found at www.allgame.com

#11 OP Ryan R

Ryan R

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-June 07
  • Location: Melbourne - Australia

Posted 26 July 2007 - 21:59

There's a button bottom-right that says 'Find BoxArt' which links you to allgame.com
If you use IE7 then you can simply drag the boxart pic from IE into VGEE (this doesn't work in Firefox - nothing i can do abt that)

Truth of the matter is that you need at least one game that Vista automatically downloads info for (which you pick in the Wizard). VGEE prevents you from having to go through the labourious process of manually adding and editing games - no doubt saving hours of time for those with large game collections.

@shadow - do you have the latest version (2.08)? - You should be able to edit boxart by presing the update button

@Nitrius - VGEE detects games that have not been added to the VGE properly (ie - you dragged it into VGE & vista didn't find anything). If it does detect this - it'll delete the game and readd it properly. If you mucked around in regedit - then you increase the chances that VGEE won't make that detection.Also - can you clarify your 2nd post - overwritten games are supposed to be re-added to your VGE & remain the 'game to overwrite'.

If any bugs are found or you have suggestions pls post them here - thx.
I'll be fixing one small bug with deleting games son an will then release as 2.08a on my site (http:\\ryzza007.googlepages.com/vgee)

#12 Nitrius

Nitrius

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-May 03
  • Location: Norway

Posted 26 July 2007 - 22:40

Only way i'am able to add as many games as i want, is to use steam.
Because each time i add a new game with VGEE i have to close it and open it to add a new one, and before i do that i need to start steam once and close it down so that the Games get the info, then i start VGEE and i choose Steam again.
So far this is the only method i'am able to add as many games as i want..

#13 :: Lyon ::

:: Lyon ::

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-May 03
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 27 July 2007 - 00:58

Same here.. somehow when VGEE starts, it can't find the games that Vista automatically sets-up.
(I'm not blaming the VGEE program, but I think I did some tinkering with the registry long time ago and it may cause Vista to stop "auto-detecting" the games :( bah)

#14 OP Ryan R

Ryan R

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-June 07
  • Location: Melbourne - Australia

Posted 27 July 2007 - 01:39

Try use this method to get everything fixed:

* Use VGEE to delete the games that you know Vista should add automatically.
* Navigate to C:\Program Files\...\FolderContainingAGameYouJustDeleted
* Drag the game exe file into your VGE (nothing will happen yet)
* Right click the game exe file and select Send To --> Desktop (Create Shorcut)
* If Vista is capable of finding info for that game - it will do so now
* Refresh the VGE (F5) until all the info is there.
* You'll now have 2 icons for the game. One has all the info - the other doesn't.
* Right-click the game with no info and choose 'Remove...'
* Delete the desktop shorcut you created

Repeat the process for all games that should be added automatically added.
(You must be on the internet to do this - also ensure your VGE Options are set to search online).

Open VGEE again. Click 'Load Game' - then choose 'Change VGEE Options'
All games that have been added automatically by Vista will be shown - choose one that will be your 'Game To Overwrite'.

Attached Images

  • Untitled.jpg


#15 :: Lyon ::

:: Lyon ::

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-May 03
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 27 July 2007 - 03:21

Wow.. comprehensive support :) Thanks, I'll try it later at home tonight

the games that you know Vista should add automatically.

mmm if I install a demo or a game, and it shows on the Vista Games Explorer, that will be "the games that I know Vista should add automatically", is that correct?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!