Jump to content



Photo

AutoPatcher Release Info button


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 emptysevenfive

emptysevenfive

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 22-August 07

Posted 23 August 2007 - 08:36

I have downloaded most of the current autopatcher5.6 releases plus updates and trie to install them all in the same directory.

If Install the Vista core plus august update, and look at the release info it says that is is official. However as soon as I install any xp core it makes vista release unofficial.

So I currently have all releases installed except for vista and it reports True for official release.
I have noticed that all releases now report as being dated august 2007 even though some of the installation files were dated May/june/july.


Thanks


#2 +theblazingangel

theblazingangel

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 25-March 04
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 23 August 2007 - 14:59

exactly which releases did you install?
please run autopatcher (to the selection screen) with the /log /verbose switches, and post the contents of C:\WINDOWS\autopatcher.log

#3 Tenchi103

Tenchi103

    AP Office Release Manager

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 23 August 2007 - 19:45

exactly which releases did you install?
please run autopatcher (to the selection screen) with the /log /verbose switches, and post the contents of C:\WINDOWS\autopatcher.log


Hey there Blaze.

The same thing happened to me when I installed everything on my pen drive. It looks like the RTM was updated when I applied the Vista Update to the Vista Core but the logs are basically showing everything as missing in the RTI <See File Attached>

I'll try to re-duplicate it later by installing all the releases again.

Attached Files



#4 Shof

Shof

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-November 04
  • Location: Middle of a Big Apple

Posted 23 August 2007 - 20:02

Are you trying to install xp and vista core on a vista computer? Together? If so, you cant you can only install one. If you are running vista, install only the vista core

#5 +theblazingangel

theblazingangel

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 25-March 04
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 23 August 2007 - 20:07

somethings up with the dotnet 1.1 sp1 module. gandolas must have changed something...

note that the other files in the log file show as missing because autopatcher quits parsing an rti file when it finds a problem that causes the rti to be recognised as unnofficial. - as well as parsing all the rti files, any additional files found are listed as not referenced by an rti file!

----

@shof, you can combine releases of different types (preferably from the same month), but you shouldn't combine two core releases from the same line. i.e:

xp may07 core + xp jun07 update + xp jul07 update + xp aug07 core = wrong, the new core does not do the same job as the aug07 update - it does not delete/rename/move things

xp may07 core + 2k may07 core + xp jun07 update + 2k jun07 update + ... = right

#6 Shof

Shof

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-November 04
  • Location: Middle of a Big Apple

Posted 23 August 2007 - 20:09

@shof, you can combine releases of different types (preferably from the same month), but you shouldn't combine two core releases from the same line. i.e:

xp may07 core + xp jun07 update + xp jul07 update + xp aug07 core = wrong, the new core does not do the same job as the aug07 update - it does not delete/rename/move things

xp may07 core + 2k may07 core + xp jun07 update + 2k jun07 update + ... = right

Im taking about this:

If Install the Vista core plus august update, and look at the release info it says that is is official. However as soon as I install any xp core it makes vista release unofficial.


It seems he is trying to install 2 cores in 1 OS

#7 Tenchi103

Tenchi103

    AP Office Release Manager

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 23 August 2007 - 20:24

Im taking about this:
It seems he is trying to install 2 cores in 1 OS


Actually no Shof. Like Blaze was saying, I installed all modules into one directory which was on my pen drive. It doesn't matter which OS you use to install AP since AP is so versatile. If you install all releases to one source and then run it on a client computer, AP will detect which OS you are running and only display what is applicable.

The Vista and XP releases share modules such as the .net modules. If this module isn't identicle with both releases, they will conflict with each other and break the offical tag :cool: