Jump to content



Photo

slow extraction in winrar


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 28 August 2007 - 11:06

when i extract a big file (1 g or more) i've noticed that winrar only uses 8-12% of my cpu, is there a way to force him to use more cpu and by so it will finish more quickly? (low priority is unticked in options)


#2 The2

The2

    ZOMG

  • Joined: 09-January 05
  • Location: Croatia

Posted 28 August 2007 - 11:09

Maybe your hard drive is too slow? Try extracting from one hard drive to the other if you have two.

#3 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 28 August 2007 - 11:12

WD 320GB 16MB SATA2 7200 RPM - WD3200AAKS - too slow?

#4 The2

The2

    ZOMG

  • Joined: 09-January 05
  • Location: Croatia

Posted 28 August 2007 - 11:15

WD 320GB 16MB SATA2 7200 RPM - WD3200AAKS - too slow?


Hm...that's strange. I know it's a long shot - have you tried the latest version?

#5 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 28 August 2007 - 11:23

on with the latest.. on other systems winrar takes 100 cpu?
Posted Image

#6 GreenMartian

GreenMartian

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 04
  • Location: adelaide, au

Posted 29 August 2007 - 15:06

Yeah. It utilises 100% of my CPU.
Although I think that may be because my PC is about 7 years old

When you say slow, what do you benchmark it against? How does it perform when extracting a file HALF the size?

Could still be a HD speed limitation. Can't make it spin faster than what it's designed to :)

Or it could be a Vista thing, who knows? You dual-booting?

#7 gnuman

gnuman

    Chief Website Architect

  • Joined: 11-August 02

Posted 29 August 2007 - 15:59

You could right click on the process and give it higher priority. That should improve the performance. Also if you are extracting 1gb files, your HD is probably quite fragmented.

#8 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 29 August 2007 - 16:07

i dont have xp here... its not slow as in "dead slow", maybe its the way that winrar programed
i've tried it gnuman, it goes up to 23% and its a bit faster but still not using the cpu full capacity

#9 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 29 November 2007 - 21:30

I'm bumping this topic with a new pic hopefully to get some answers.
maybe a winrar alternative?

Posted Image

#10 GusValentine

GusValentine

    TroubleShooter

  • Joined: 18-December 03

Posted 30 November 2007 - 00:27

For an alternative, nothing to lose by trying 7-Zip
http://www.7-zip.org/
Try 7-Zip 4.56 beta (2007-10-24)
Even though it says Beta, it's still very stable; has been for me anyway.

#11 Gangsta

Gangsta

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-December 05

Posted 30 November 2007 - 00:41

7-zip is good. However, I actually like jZip (uses 7-zip compression tech, etc, and can open all the same files) because it seems more like a release product. I dunno, I just don't like the feel of 7-zip that much...

#12 kcjuggalo

kcjuggalo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-January 08

Posted 17 January 2008 - 20:56

I'm new here but this subject is why I joined... I have a problem that is similar in that the amount of CPU used to extract files will change and I'm not sure why so maybe someone here can help me:)

My problem is that I can extract a file (using winrar 3.7) in 4 seconds flat. Meaning when the little box pops up for winRAR when the counter hits 4 seconds its done (on a 700MB file)... but sometimes it will take 30-40 seconds for a 700MB file and for a long time i've just chalked it up to different compressions or me doing other stuff on the hard drive. But today i found something that if I take an archive and try to extract it and it takes 30-40 seconds it only uses about 6-8% CPU in processs explorer. HOWEVER. If I delete one file of hte archive and repair it with quickpar and then extract the same archive it will extract in 4 seconds like the rest of them and the CPU usage is at 25% I hope that makes sense to someone...

Basically does anyone know what would cause a quickpar repair to change the speed of the extraction or CPU usage of winrar?

Thanks.

#13 frogger

frogger

    Caveman

  • Joined: 18-November 04

Posted 02 May 2009 - 20:11

huge bump, i know, but i was researching this problem myself.
I upgraded winrar to the newest 64bit native BETA.
That brought it up to about 40% and i did a benchmark and a couple calculation, and the rest can be chalked up to HD performance.
I didn't think it would be a limiting factor either, but it is.

#14 soldier1st

soldier1st

    Software Tester/Tech/Linux Lover

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-December 03
  • Location: Guess Where
  • OS: Windows 7,Android,Linux Mint
  • Phone: HTC Incredible S

Posted 02 May 2009 - 20:28

perhaps for those who have a dual core you could turn the multithreading option on, perhaps that will speed it up, also if the virus scanning option is turned on that could slow it down.

#15 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 02 May 2009 - 20:33

Some AV's REALLY slow down WinRAR I've noticed...