Jump to content



Photo

Team Fortress 2 - How to Change ur name


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 BBinder

BBinder

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-October 03
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 830

Posted 18 September 2007 - 15:21

i seen some ppl asking how you change your name in the game but not sure anyone got the correct answer so i'll post it for you all

the name that gets used in the game is the one thats tied to your steam community account (if u got 1 if not make one)

when u got ur account ready open steam then goto settings, then click on the friends tab and you can enter a nickname, just click ok afterwards

you can also click on the Change link will takes u to steam community account details where u can change more stuff

hope thats easy to follow :)

Posted Image

Edited by BBinder, 18 September 2007 - 15:31.



#2 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 18 September 2007 - 15:29

Awesome tip there, cheers!

I checked earlier, and it wasnt unlocked for me, gah. Ill restart steam :)

#3 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 20 September 2007 - 12:44

I have done that, but it still says unknown when I play.

Am I doing something wrong?

#4 gunnerhkjp

gunnerhkjp

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-January 03

Posted 20 September 2007 - 12:49

I have done that, but it still says unknown when I play.

Am I doing something wrong?


Wow dude!
I have the same problem.

#5 Jason S

Jason S

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-September 07
  • Location: Massachusetts

Posted 20 September 2007 - 13:04

Have you registered for Steam Community yet? It's separate from the old friends list, you have to make a new profile.

#6 gunnerhkjp

gunnerhkjp

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-January 03

Posted 20 September 2007 - 13:15

Have you registered for Steam Community yet? It's separate from the old friends list, you have to make a new profile.


Yes I have.

#7 Ayepecks

Ayepecks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-December 01
  • Location: United States

Posted 20 September 2007 - 13:35

Sweet, now tell me how to remove user icons ingame (scoreboard, killed by, final score) and I'll be good, lol... it annoys the crap out of me for some reason, especially with some people's icons.

#8 gunnerhkjp

gunnerhkjp

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-January 03

Posted 23 September 2007 - 23:58

Has anyone else solved this problem?

#9 Ayepecks

Ayepecks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-December 01
  • Location: United States

Posted 24 September 2007 - 02:23

You have to sign into "Friends" on Steam so it doesn't say "[unknown]".

#10 gunnerhkjp

gunnerhkjp

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-January 03

Posted 24 September 2007 - 06:42

You have to sign into "Friends" on Steam so it doesn't say "[unknown]".


You're a life saver.
I had no idea I had to click on the friends icon on the bottom of the steam window.

Thanks!