Do performance chips really work?

I drive a 2001 Mitsubishi Mirage, and it seriously needs help in the horsepower department. Don't laugh, but it has 92HP. :( I wanted to purchase a performance chip because I have to drive up several hills on the way to and from both work and school. Taking the hills with my car is a chore because I basically have to floor it, and it still has trouble getting up. I just want to add a little more power that would hopefully make this easier. Here's the chip I was thinking of. Thanks in advance, guys!

I have been a automotive technician for GM around 17 years now. The best performance any car can gain is let it breath. More air in and more air out will help alot. Not much you can do for 92 HP. That performance chip I never heard of. Better off with a name brand like Hypertech. Go to Jegs.com also. Install a K & N air filter will help alot. Open up your exhaust to 3" also. It all depends on money. More money= more power. My 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer EVO makes around 300 stock. I spent around 5k so far and now I am kickin about 400 HP.But honestly speaking I have never heard or seen that chip you linked to.

most of the time, these chips just change the air/fuel ratio and increase it. This at first, can give you morepower, but the result is that your car runs rich, and damage to components can occur. More power would mean adding an intake, exhaust, possibly better cams and a new manifold, then getting a full remap of the ecu. Wouldn't expect morethan 20hp tho LOL.

Running rich hurts power...it doesn't help it.

I'd say it depends *alot* on the vehicle. Some vehicles can see ridiculous gains from computer tuning alone (diesel pickup trucks), and then theres my '94 blazer that might see 10 hp from a tune. I'd look around for other people with the same vehicle (maybe a mitsubishi forum?) and get their opinion on what works and what doesn't for your vehicle.

It all depends on your car type and the chip.