Jump to content



Photo

How do I disable Vibrant advertising?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 deck

deck

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-August 01
  • Location: Canada

Posted 19 December 2007 - 20:27

You may have seen this on Neowin and other sites. Colored text with a double underline that, when hovered over, pops up a description or ad. Clicking on the question mark takes you to a site where the ad describes itself at Vibrant In-test Advertising.

Question; is this the choice of Neowin and other sites to have this Vibrant crap? Or is it my Firefox that's cheating on me?

I hate these vibrant ads. Half the time 'software' or 'games' is a Vibrant ad line when I check the Software headlines. So rather than seeing the headlines, an ad gets in my way.

Can I turn off these Vibrant In-text Ads ? If so, how?


#2 shihchiun

shihchiun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 03
  • Location: CT, USA

Posted 19 December 2007 - 21:17

Well, for Neowin they go away when you sign in. Don't know if there's anything you can do besides that.

#3 ScottKin

ScottKin

    Windows Guru

  • Joined: 15-October 03
  • Location: Seattle, Washington USA

Posted 19 December 2007 - 22:13

Well, for Neowin they go away when you sign in. Don't know if there's anything you can do besides that.


That may be so for Subscribers, for us "unwashed & unblessed" we still get that annoying crap when we sign-in - and it gets worse if your cursor happens to travel over one of them on it's way to clicking on something that you actually WANTED to click on to get information from when you click on it.

--ScottKin

#4 vetColin-uk

Colin-uk

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 25-February 04
  • Location: Wirral, UK

Posted 19 December 2007 - 22:17

You cant "turn them off", they are part of the site you visit. not all sites have them, only some. theyre not browser based, i think they appear in every browser that supports them.

#5 celestialspring

celestialspring

    Why do we need to work?

  • Joined: 07-October 04
  • Location: Down Under.

Posted 25 December 2007 - 05:33

I don't know if this is against the rules. Assuming that the Mods will delete this if required, here we go.

There are different options based on the browser you use.

Global Alternatives:
Proxomitron (free)
AdMuncher (paid)

Browser Specific
IE explorer (get Admuncher or Proxomitron)
Opera (built in Ad blocker)
Firefox (extension called Ad Block)

Block these sites:
*.kontera.*
*.vibrantmedia.*

cheers.

cs

you can also use the hosts file, not recommended though.

#6 PegasusX

PegasusX

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-February 07

Posted 25 December 2007 - 05:42

On Firefox, use Adblock Plus (http://adblockplus.org/en/) and subscribe to the "EasyList" adblock list (abp://subscribe/?location=http%3A%2F%2Feasylist.adblockplus.org%2Fadblock_rick752.txt&title=EasyList)

#7 panicswitched

panicswitched

    You call these bagles?!

  • Joined: 04-August 03
  • Location: Salt Lake City

Posted 25 December 2007 - 05:49

we really should be talking on how to filter ads in all honesty doing some research can help you do what youre wanting to do
i find if i login the ads are not as bad sometimes i get those intellitext ads and the vibrant but i can usually spot them and avoid setting them off
if i had the money id subscribe but since i dont ill live with the ads :)

#8 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 25 December 2007 - 06:04

Side note: This is the most annoying form of advertising since pop-up blockers. If your mouse just brushes the edge of some text the massive block appears and blocks what you were trying to read, then you have to wait a good few seconds for it to nick off.

#9 EnzoFX

EnzoFX

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-July 05

Posted 25 December 2007 - 06:10

i dunno what ads your talking about, the only ones i see is at the very bottom of the page, and near the very top, both of which state: ads by google. That is all. Maybe you have some spyware?

#10 celestialspring

celestialspring

    Why do we need to work?

  • Joined: 07-October 04
  • Location: Down Under.

Posted 25 December 2007 - 06:20

i dunno what ads your talking about, the only ones i see is at the very bottom of the page, and near the very top, both of which state: ads by google. That is all. Maybe you have some spyware?


No spyware there mate. Its clever programming.

#11 corrosive23

corrosive23

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-February 02
  • Location: Tucson, AZ
  • OS: Windows 8.1 on Desktop, Xubuntu 13.10 on Laptop
  • Phone: Galaxy Note III

Posted 25 December 2007 - 06:22

i dunno what ads your talking about, the only ones i see is at the very bottom of the page, and near the very top, both of which state: ads by google. That is all. Maybe you have some spyware?


Well there is intellitext on the front page, and on random forum pages.

#12 glitch409

glitch409

    neowinianamaboberdoodle

  • Joined: 21-November 03
  • Location: dark corner of hell, NJ

Posted 25 December 2007 - 06:24

Side note: This is the most annoying form of advertising since pop-up blockers. If your mouse just brushes the edge of some text the massive block appears and blocks what you were trying to read, then you have to wait a good few seconds for it to nick off.

Agreed. And they don’t go away when you log in, at least not on the front page.

I really don’t know what the admins here were thinking when they put them up. They know that people here are tech savvy, and if they put up such annoying ads, most users will begin to bock ads indiscriminately of which type they are(thus costing neowin revenue from all ads). All I can imagine is that these ads pay far more than normal ads.

#13 itsnotabigtruck

itsnotabigtruck

    IT'S A SERIES OF TUBES!!!

  • Joined: 08-April 03
  • Location: Portland, OR

Posted 25 December 2007 - 06:29

For us non-subscribers, they definitely stay even when logged in.

Edited by bmaher, 29 December 2007 - 19:45.


#14 shihchiun

shihchiun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 03
  • Location: CT, USA

Posted 29 December 2007 - 19:42

They've started appearing for me as well. Guess we all get them now.

#15 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 29 December 2007 - 19:47

Guys, please don't go down the usual adblocker thread route. For more info, please see the Adblockers thread in the Site Announcements forum.