Jump to content



Photo

Setting widescreen monitor resolution


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Kev1n

Kev1n

    13

  • Joined: 19-July 04
  • Location: Malaysia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 06:21

Since my old monitor broke down I decided to temporarily use my aunt's HP w17e widescreen 17" monitor. It has no manual so I checked the website and the optimal resolution is 1440x900, which means its aspect ratio is 16:10. However this is way too small (I have to squint to read) and circles are horizontally squished (eg. it's tall and long). If I use 1152x864 (which looks best to me), circles look slightly fat.

So how I set the resolution?


#2 I am Reid

I am Reid

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-November 05
  • Location: Columbus, Ohio

Posted 19 January 2008 - 06:37

its only 17", so at 1440x900 its probably IS going to look small, so your best option would probably just be to move it closer to you, thats about all I can think of, or try some other 16:10 resolutions, like 1280x800.

Or you could always do what I did to my parents when making the switch from 800x600 to 1024x768. Just leave it at the higher resolution for a little while, and then switch it back to the smaller one, and it will leave you thinking "what the ****".

#3 OP Kev1n

Kev1n

    13

  • Joined: 19-July 04
  • Location: Malaysia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 07:16

Thanks but what I want is a resolution that displays a real circle. All the ones I have now just give a squished circle!

I dont have 1280x800 in display properties.

#4 +shift.

shift.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-July 06
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Posted 19 January 2008 - 07:25

Just set your display to the max resolution....shouldn't that be the native one?

#5 omganinja

omganinja

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 07:28

Well 1440x900 is its native res, so everything else is gonna look ****. Just use 1440x900 and get used to it, or make the fonts larger.

#6 OP Kev1n

Kev1n

    13

  • Joined: 19-July 04
  • Location: Malaysia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 07:48

What I mean is, I dont really care about the size just yet, but none of the resolutions I have gives me a correct aspect ratio, eg: a circle that is actually round. 1440x900, although native, gives me a tall oval instead of a round circle, while some others give a fat, squashed circle. How do I get a resolution that can actually display a 100% round circle?

#7 dreamsINdigital

dreamsINdigital

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-September 02

Posted 19 January 2008 - 07:52

Try checking the monitor menus for any aspect ratio options or 1:1 pixel mapping.

#8 omganinja

omganinja

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 07:53

It sounds like the image resolution doesnt match the monitors resolution. Are you talking about a wallpaper or every circle you see?

#9 OP Kev1n

Kev1n

    13

  • Joined: 19-July 04
  • Location: Malaysia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 08:12

I dont see any aspect ratio options, and yes every circle I see isn't 100% round. I wiki'ed circle and the circle there wasnt round. Circles in my wallpaper aren't round. Even the sniper scope in counter strike isn't round. :laugh:

#10 omganinja

omganinja

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 08:19

Did you auto adjust the monitor after changing the resolution?

#11 OP Kev1n

Kev1n

    13

  • Joined: 19-July 04
  • Location: Malaysia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 08:24

Did you auto adjust the monitor after changing the resolution?

Nope.

#12 omganinja

omganinja

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 08:28

Does doing that solve the problem?

#13 OP Kev1n

Kev1n

    13

  • Joined: 19-July 04
  • Location: Malaysia

Posted 19 January 2008 - 08:44

Does doing that solve the problem?

You mean auto-adjusting it? No. Actually when I apply a new resolution it usually auto-adjusts for me...

#14 +chconline

chconline

    I review, not promote.

  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Posted 19 January 2008 - 18:53

1440x900 is too small for you on a 17" :|

Run it at its native resolution and increase the font size or something :)

Edited by chconline, 19 January 2008 - 19:16.


#15 OP Kev1n

Kev1n

    13

  • Joined: 19-July 04
  • Location: Malaysia

Posted 20 January 2008 - 04:30

1440x900 is too small for you on a 17" :|

Run it at its native resolution and increase the font size or something :)

The problem isnt the size, it's the incorrect aspect ratio I'm getting on the display. For example, a circle on my monitor doesn't look round, it's oval in shape.

Could this be due to my old, OLD graphics card - geforce 4 MX? I updated the drivers and there is now the 1280x800 option but when I apply it my taskbar goes missing and the display is vertically stretched.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!