Jump to content



Photo

Computers can't see each other on lan


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 gaius5

gaius5

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-January 08

Posted 29 January 2008 - 05:13

Athlon 64x2 running Vista Home Premium networked with P4 XP SP2 through Linksys WRT54G router (wired connection). Network name is MSHOME on both computers. Both computers can ping router, but not the other computer. Norton Integrated Security runs on both computers. NIS map on Atjhon shows both computers, but P4 is offline. NIS map on P4 shows both compouters online. When I click "repair" on P4 interface I get message, "TCP/IP is not enabled for this connection".

How can I get the computers to see one another?

gaius5


#2 EnzoFX

EnzoFX

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-July 05

Posted 29 January 2008 - 05:18

check your firewall

#3 compass4

compass4

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-August 07

Posted 29 January 2008 - 14:31

IF it says TCP/IP is not enabled, you should make sure TCP/IP is bound to that network adapter.

Go to the properties of your NIC and make sure it looks like the picCheckTCIP.JPG

Beyond that i've seen PC's that had incorrect network drivers loaded, do this. You should check your device manager and make sure there is no "Yellow Exclimation" marks.

Start-->Run-->devmgmt.msc

#4 OPaul

OPaul

    That's what she said

  • Joined: 12-August 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC, US

Posted 29 January 2008 - 14:45

If you can't ping the other computers, verfy NIS or Windows firewall (if that's enabled) isn't blocking ICMP packets. Also, if the machines are wireless, trying disaplying "loopback" in your routers config.

#5 compass4

compass4

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-August 07

Posted 29 January 2008 - 14:47

If you can't ping the other computers, verfy NIS or Windows firewall (if that's enabled) isn't blocking ICMP packets. Also, if the machines are wireless, trying disaplying "loopback" in your routers config.


If TCP/IP is not Enabled, he's not going to be able to ping anything.

{EDIT} I guess it does say in the OP that both computers can ping the router.. I find that difficult to believe if TCP/IP is not enabled on one of the PC's

Edited by compass4, 29 January 2008 - 14:56.


#6 OPaul

OPaul

    That's what she said

  • Joined: 12-August 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC, US

Posted 29 January 2008 - 14:56

If TCP/IP is not Enabled, he's not going to be able to ping anything.


If TCP/IP wasn't enabled, he wouldn't have been able to ping the router.

#7 Adzzz

Adzzz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-September 03
  • Location: East Yorkshire, England

Posted 29 January 2008 - 15:01

Sounds like you need to install the LLTD patch on the XP machine. Get it here if it's not already installed.

Ad

#8 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 29 January 2008 - 15:21

another reason to hate firewalls behind firewalls. The firewall is doing exactly what is intended, block other computers from communicating directly with it.

Turn off norton and see if they work just fine. After thatn remove it and run normal windows firewall enabling file sharing and you should be more than good to go.

#9 slammer55

slammer55

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-May 07
  • Location: Northern VA

Posted 29 January 2008 - 19:40

Another way to find your computer in the workgroup, since that is what you're using, is net view. Try Run-->cmd-->net view. This should display a listing of all the machines connected to your workgroup.

#10 vetFred Derf

Fred Derf

    Klaatu barada nikto

  • Joined: 30-December 02
  • Location: ɐpɐuɐɔ 'oʇuoɹoʇ

Posted 29 January 2008 - 19:43

another reason to hate firewalls behind firewalls. The firewall is doing exactly what is intended, block other computers from communicating directly with it.

Turn off norton and see if they work just fine. After thatn remove it and run normal windows firewall enabling file sharing and you should be more than good to go.

Yes, the OP should at least temporarily disable his software firewalls. His router will have a NAT firewall to keep him protected from outside intrusions.

#11 OP gaius5

gaius5

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-January 08

Posted 29 January 2008 - 20:29

I thank you all for your suggestions and have tried them all. Now I can ping both computers from one another, but the computers still can't see one another on the lan. In fact, the XP computer doesn't even show itself when I select, "View workgroup computers".

On Vista run cmd net view displays only Athlon-PC (the Vista computer). On XP I get, "There are no entries in the list".

It seems the problem is on the XP computer, but I don't now what else to try.


btw The XP can connect to the Internet without any trouble.

gaius5

#12 slammer55

slammer55

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-May 07
  • Location: Northern VA

Posted 29 January 2008 - 21:27

Have you simply tried running the Network setup wizard? Are you positive you enabled sharing on both PC's? If all fails and you still can't determine the problem, start from scratch using this tutorial:

http://www.microsoft...1.mspx?mfr=true

Good Luck!

#13 k22

k22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-February 02

Posted 29 January 2008 - 23:37

I thank you all for your suggestions and have tried them all. Now I can ping both computers from one another, but the computers still can't see one another on the lan. In fact, the XP computer doesn't even show itself when I select, "View workgroup computers".

On Vista run cmd net view displays only Athlon-PC (the Vista computer). On XP I get, "There are no entries in the list".

It seems the problem is on the XP computer, but I don't now what else to try.


btw The XP can connect to the Internet without any trouble.

gaius5


what happens when you do the following

start, run, \\x.x.x.x (where x.x.x.x is the IP of the other machine)

#14 PermaSt0ne

PermaSt0ne

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-October 04
  • Location: Southern California, USA

Posted 29 January 2008 - 23:50

what happens when you do the following

start, run, \\x.x.x.x (where x.x.x.x is the IP of the other machine)


if they can ping each other, that should allow you to access the computers :yes:

but it doesn't solve the problem of seeing the computers in the network windows (unfortunately) but it's better than nothing

#15 OP gaius5

gaius5

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-January 08

Posted 29 January 2008 - 23:54

what happens when you do the following

start, run, \\x.x.x.x (where x.x.x.x is the IP of the other machine)



Windows cannot access \\192.168.1.101