Jump to content



Photo

Signal problem with LG TV (urgent)


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 06 February 2008 - 13:38

just got my VGA cable form ebay and its hooked upto my spare DVI slot of my 8800GTX and its going to my LG TV (VGA on tv)
but the tv is reporting no signal ive tired the cable in the other dvi slot on the gfx card and it works fine with the ebay cable, but when i go back to the other dvi slot it gets no signal again

The nvidia CP is reporting dual view and the TV is set to the correct channel (so to speak)

i dont think im doing anything wrong, and surly the other dvi socket on the 8800gtx cant be faulty can it??

EDIT: just tried swapping the cable round and both dvi sockets are working fine, but tv is still getting no signal but moniter is

tv and ebay cable work fine on there own (when pc moniter isnt connected but when i connect them both the tv signal stops working


#2 OP Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 06 February 2008 - 13:50

right process of emlination suggests its something to do with a setting on the PC but i dont know what

Ive tested the ebay cable with both DVI converters with both cables on both tv and pc on there own and all cobminations work, but as soon as i connect both cables it doesnt what to know

#3 Rajii

Rajii

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-January 06
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 06 February 2008 - 13:50

Is it going into Power saving mode? My LG does that. I've not been able to fix it :(

#4 OP Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 06 February 2008 - 13:55

the lg tv is just saying no signal power light is green
haha finally got it working, dont ask me how, but i set the nvidia cp to displa on my lg tv first and it asked to confim i said no and it kept the picture up

so far so good

#5 Rajii

Rajii

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-January 06
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 06 February 2008 - 14:07

Dunno if this helps, but my mate says he had to use a DVI/VGA converter and plug a VGA-DVI lead into that, and that worked for him.

the lg tv is just saying no signal power light is green
haha finally got it working, dont ask me how, but i set the nvidia cp to displa on my lg tv first and it asked to confim i said no and it kept the picture up

so far so good



Have you tried rebooting yet? :)

#6 OP Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 06 February 2008 - 14:12

yup rebooting was the first think i tried, but its working now for some reason, both on cloan and on dualview

thankx for your help Rajii

#7 Rajii

Rajii

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-January 06
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 06 February 2008 - 14:19

heh no worries, spurred on by your luck I attempted another go at getting mine to work.... dunno whether it was newer drivers or what but it did!!! :blink:

Edit: hmmm.... well everything's not so rosy in the garden, don't seem to have the option to show video on tv when played from the pc.

Edited by Rajii, 06 February 2008 - 14:40.


#8 OP Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 06 February 2008 - 16:14

was just about to ask how it went, but i guess ive got my answer lol



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!