Hard Drive making alot of noise after boot

Recently bought a new PC with a 500gig Sata Hard Drive in, the machine boots into vista quickly and doesn't make alot of noise doing so, but after 30secs of being on the desktop the hard drive makes alot of noise accessing/reading data and does this for about 3/4 minutes then it stops and runs silently the rest of the time I'm using the machine, since I'm new to vista I've disabled what I feel is not needed at boot, and also stopped vista creating system restore points.

Does anyone have idea what else I can disable and how I can decrease the noise the Hard Drive makes

Recently bought a new PC with a 500gig Sata Hard Drive in, the machine boots into vista quickly and doesn't make alot of noise doing so, but after 30secs of being on the desktop the hard drive makes alot of noise accessing/reading data and does this for about 3/4 minutes then it stops and runs silently the rest of the time I'm using the machine, since I'm new to vista I've disabled what I feel is not needed at boot, and also stopped vista creating system restore points.

Does anyone have idea what else I can disable and how I can decrease the noise the Hard Drive makes

This is normal for Vista for the first few minutes (maybe 5 minutes or so) of the Desktop's appearance. The OS is doing a lot of necessary disk accessing.

Vista is opening and starting its services, reading in its paging file(s), reading in its Prefetch/Superfetch files, starting all programs represented by icons in the Notification area, opening all active or inactive windows, if Vista is set to open windows which were still open when the OS was last shut down, and executing other scheduled start-up tasks, such as bringing its Search Index up-to-date. Additionally, if your OS is set to defrag upon startup, it will cause a great deal of disk grinding initially. Add in the third-party low-level disk utilities, security suites, etc., and it can get pretty "noisy".