Jump to content



Photo

Just How Much Ram Do We Need?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

Poll: Just How Much Ram Do We Need?

Just How Much Ram Do We Need?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 vincent_inactive

vincent_inactive

    NeoWin

  • Joined: 05-August 01

Posted 14 August 2001 - 15:48

Is 256mb or 512 Today's Standard?


#2 sdb420

sdb420

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-August 01

Posted 14 August 2001 - 16:18

i think 256 mb in a minimum for todays apps and games. and 512 just to be comfortable.

#3 Murdock

Murdock

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-August 01

Posted 14 August 2001 - 17:05

Originally posted by sdb420  
i think 256 mb in a minimum for todays apps and games. and 512 just to be comfortable.




128mb is the minimal, 256 to run fine all the aps and games.

#4 vetToxicfume

Toxicfume

    A ride of 54 miles

  • Joined: 10-July 01
  • Location: San Francisco

Posted 14 August 2001 - 17:06

I'd say 256mb is the standards nowadays

but it won't hurt getting a 512, as u know the prices of RAMs atm.

Oh! and it's all DDR!! :china:

#5 OP vincent_inactive

vincent_inactive

    NeoWin

  • Joined: 05-August 01

Posted 14 August 2001 - 17:10

Any articles about ram prices dropping?

#6 +Tikimotel

Tikimotel

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 13-August 01

Posted 14 August 2001 - 17:20

256Mb is definite minimum for win2k, 256Mb is more than enough for win9x/ME dunno for XP maybe 512Mb to run smoothly.

#7 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 16 August 2001 - 06:59

At the moment, I have 256 Mb's of SDRAM (PC133), and Windows 98SE. This is the maximum this OS can handle, isn't it?!

#8 khaos34

khaos34

    :: island theory thief ::

  • Joined: 11-August 01

Posted 16 August 2001 - 07:28

i've had winxp boot up running apache and dns2go client with 54mb of ram, so 128 is possible if yer not gonna run apps like photoshop or have plenty windows open... i'd say you'd be pretty comfortable with 256, as i've never surpassed that unless i had like photoshop and a couple of other apps like dreamweaver and indesign running documents... and that's with someone else also logged on with the user switching thing, and their own IM apps running... 512 is a lot and more than sufficient, but i'd get more if i had the money cuz it's so cheap nowadays =D

#9 vetconfigure

configure

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 13-July 01
  • Location: Thailand

Posted 16 August 2001 - 09:20

'How much Ram Do We Need?'

*- As much as your mobo can handle ;)

#10 Jackalo

Jackalo

    Cisco Certified Networking Professional

  • Joined: 16-August 01

Posted 16 August 2001 - 09:29

I run WindowsXP w/ 320MB of PC133 (256MBx1 and 32MBx2). All I have to say... Smooth.



I believe that 256MB is today's standard. With all the newer software items coming out though, it shouldn't be long before 512MB becomes the standard.



-Mike

#11 Hachre

Hachre

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-August 01

Posted 16 August 2001 - 11:12

Originally posted by King Mustard  
At the moment, I have 256 Mb's of SDRAM (PC133), and Windows 98SE. This is the maximum this OS can handle, isn't it?!




Windows 98SE can handle up to 999 RAM I think, but if you got 512 or more you have to make modifications to the system.ini you find them in Microsoft Knowledgebase search for "Very large amount of RAM"

#12 vetaco

aco

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-August 01
  • Location: Australia

Posted 16 August 2001 - 11:45

I ran xp 2465 then 2505 on my old comp.



PII 233

64MB PC133



Ran fine, but 128 is the minimum these days, 256 is very comfortable. :cool:

#13 Kernel Sanders

Kernel Sanders

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-August 01

Posted 22 August 2001 - 04:58

i ran win2k fine on 160mb for quite some time, but anything below 256 now seems deathly slow. with the amount of multitasking i do, 416 seems to work about right for now, but sometimes photoshop 6 tempts me to get some larger sticks, i've got tons of 32's lying around, but they do me no good, as all the slots on all the pc's are full.

#14 mortensen

mortensen

    music-videos operator

  • Joined: 14-July 01

Posted 23 August 2001 - 09:46

Well, if you're only doing gaming then all you need is 256RAM. I use Photoshop etc and they all run fine on 256RAM.



In fact the difference between 128 and 256 is small. The ONLY difference I noticed in games was that they loaded quicker... having 256RAM doesn't give a higher framerate or anything.



But who cares??? RAM is £30 for 256MB [not even hard to find - it's that price in all local shops]. At that price I really don't know why I don't have 1024RAM... YES I DO... YOU DON'T NEED IT. How's it gonna help me? Games don't run faster with that much RAM... Photoshops runs REALLY fast as it is... and you sure as hell don't need that much for WinXP... LMAO.



PS - 512RAM is just stupid for the gamer or average Windows user. Only serious nuts need it to get "Photoshop" to run a second faster after adding hundreds of effects.



-mortensenj

#15 vetaco

aco

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-August 01
  • Location: Australia

Posted 23 August 2001 - 09:55

win9x/me - 256MB max recognised



win2000/xp pro - ns, but over 256MB recognised

win2000 server - up to 2GB

win2000 advanced server - up to 4 GB

win 2000 datacenter - up to 8GB



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!