Jump to content



Photo

GTAIV: PS3 version runs at 630p while 360 version at 720p


  • Please log in to reply
150 replies to this topic

#1 maash

maash

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,060 posts
  • Joined: 09-September 06

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:15

http://www.ps3forums...ad.php?t=136366

http://forum.beyond3...p;postcount=513


This is from the same guy who made news that Halo 3 was running at 640p and Bungie admitted he was right.


#2 Coldgunner

Coldgunner

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,263 posts
  • Joined: 04-March 04
  • Location: Peterborough, UK

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:18

here comes the flamer wars...

#3 McSmiggins

McSmiggins

    Neowinian

  • 890 posts
  • Joined: 22-May 04
  • Location: Essex, UK :)

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:21

In before the flame war. :)

It really doesn't matter, at all, I can't believe all the fuss people made about Halo 3.

#4 sTIMPZ

sTIMPZ

    Curbside Prophet

  • 261 posts
  • Joined: 11-January 05
  • Location: Northern Virginia

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:22

Halo 3 looks good so it really doesn't matter to me...and GTAIV is going to look even better.

#5 Coldgunner

Coldgunner

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,263 posts
  • Joined: 04-March 04
  • Location: Peterborough, UK

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:24

indeed, you gotta be pretty shallow to not buy a game for qualities other than its graphics, however this appears to be some guy who reckons its running at X res

#6 spenser.d

spenser.d

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,925 posts
  • Joined: 19-December 03

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:28

indeed, you gotta be pretty shallow to not buy a game for qualities other than its graphics, however this appears to be some guy who reckons its running at X res


I'm pretty sure we tried mentioning this when people tried to mutiny Bungie over it, but nobody listened then...

-Spenser

#7 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • 19,414 posts
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:29

Who cares what res it runs at, graphics aren't that important (especially considering how popular GTA3, VC and SA were, and they were ugly).

here comes the flamer wars...

-f

#8 Kushan

Kushan

    Sold his soul for some megahurtz

  • 7,257 posts
  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: The End of the Universe

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:30

I'm going to need a more credible source for that claim than some random guy on some random forum.

#9 DrCheese

DrCheese

    Tell me i'm your national anthem

  • 3,017 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: England!

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:30

I don't have a problem with it, but I've always felt it's lame that they can still stick "720p" "1080p" on the back of the box. Halo 3 did that. Upscaling does not equal HD at all.

#10 DELTETHISACCOUNT

DELTETHISACCOUNT

    DELETETHISACCOUNT

  • 3,334 posts
  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: DELETETHISACCOUNT
  • OS: DELETETHISACCOUNT
  • Phone: DELETETHISACCOUNT

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:31

Damnit, I wish people would stop telling us this crap. It's only then that I notice the blurriness and upscaling in games like Halo 3 and COD4.

#11 spenser.d

spenser.d

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,925 posts
  • Joined: 19-December 03

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:31

I'm going to need a more credible source for that claim than some random guy on some random forum.


Why? All you have to do is count the pixels. You don't need an expert for that one.

-Spenser

#12 Kushan

Kushan

    Sold his soul for some megahurtz

  • 7,257 posts
  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: The End of the Universe

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:32

Why? All you have to do is count the pixels. You don't need an expert for that one.

-Spenser


I'm also incredibly lazy.

Also, I don't have a PS3 to count the pixels of that version.

#13 OP maash

maash

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,060 posts
  • Joined: 09-September 06

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:33

here is what its running at

PS3: 630p with 2xAA at FP16 Lighting
X360: 720p with 2xAA with FP10 Lighting


PS3 has a more softer image because it is being upscaled to 720p While you see more jaggies on the 360 version because it is being rendered natively at 720p.

#14 Kupo-Cheer

Kupo-Cheer

    Neowinian Exile

  • 1,506 posts
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: US, Vermont

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:33

I've also heard that the 360 version suffers from very minor framerate problems every now and then, so I guess that is why. I would rather the game run at ever so slightly less than HD quality, if need be, in order for the game to run at a silky-smooth framerate. Halo 3 was a beautiful game (obviously not the *greatest* graphically, but it was nonetheless pretty), and so is GTAIV, regardless of resolution.

I'm still getting the 360 version simply because I don't have a PS3.

#15 spenser.d

spenser.d

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,925 posts
  • Joined: 19-December 03

Posted 28 April 2008 - 17:35

I don't have a problem with it, but I've always felt it's lame that they can still stick "720p" "1080p" on the back of the box. Halo 3 did that. Upscaling does not equal HD at all.


Well if you want to get technical (and Bungie has mentioned this on their story about it), they render two buffers both at 640p, so you get 1280 rendered pixels and so they can easily put 720p on the back and not be twisting the truth.

(Info on that is here: http://nikon.bungie.....html?item=147)

-Spenser