Jump to content



Photo

Intel Processors Overclock Database


  • Please log in to reply
230 replies to this topic

#31 ObiWanToby

ObiWanToby

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-April 04
  • Location: Columbus, OH

Posted 18 June 2008 - 23:11

Am I missing something here, I can't edit my original post, I wanted to add...

Posted Image


#32 CrashGordon

CrashGordon

    The Perfect Threesome: Lime, Salt & Tequila

  • Joined: 31-January 04
  • Location: Atlanta, GA
  • Phone: Jackson JS3 Kelly Bird IV through a Fender Rumble 150. Can ya hear me now?

Posted 18 June 2008 - 23:27

Am I missing something here, I can't edit my original post, I wanted to add...
<snipped image>

You only get about 15 minutes to edit your posts, (unless you're the Thread starter).

It looks like we're getting a good variety of CPU's for the list so far. (Y)

#33 +shift.

shift.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-July 06
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Posted 18 June 2008 - 23:42

Yeah, looks pretty good.

And holy crap, Santiago you're running a pretty low V Core for a 3.2GHz Q9450. :s

#34 CrashGordon

CrashGordon

    The Perfect Threesome: Lime, Salt & Tequila

  • Joined: 31-January 04
  • Location: Atlanta, GA
  • Phone: Jackson JS3 Kelly Bird IV through a Fender Rumble 150. Can ya hear me now?

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:22

Quick update: on my Vcore I've reduced it to 1.176v to drop the temps, and ran Orthos for another 9+ hours and was stable, but I forgot to take a screenshot of it :pinch:. I was just happy to see my max temps at 56-57c. I can't believe how little voltage this cpu needs, the default 1.32v seems like quite a lot. Here's the CPU-z shot:

Posted Image

Edited by CrashGordon, 19 June 2008 - 01:32.


#35 santiagof4

santiagof4

    Venezuelan Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-July 04
  • Location: Lechería, Venezuela

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:24

Yeah, looks pretty good.

And holy crap, Santiago you're running a pretty low V Core for a 3.2GHz Q9450. :s


Thats good, isn't it? :)

At idle is 1.152V, at load 1.120V, the same as stock.

#36 +shift.

shift.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-July 06
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:26

It is good. That's probably why your temperatures are so low, 49C load. Very little Vdroop as well but that's probably more motherboard related if anything.

#37 santiagof4

santiagof4

    Venezuelan Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-July 04
  • Location: Lechería, Venezuela

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:32

Yep... the only annoying thing is the Core0 temp difference :wacko:

#38 +chconline

chconline

    I review, not promote.

  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Posted 19 June 2008 - 04:22

And I thought chc was the only guy with a Core 2 Extreme on the forums. I guess I was wrong! :p

Not until I get a QX9770 or something.

But anyways, this is the lazy way of doing it. Increasing the multiplier. :p

Posted Image

I dropped it from 4GHz since it wasn't worth the extra volts. Mine is ES as you can see, but this one is complete junk when it comes to overclocking -- can't do 4GHz until 1.43V.

Processor - Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650
Stepping - C0
Vcore - 1.35V
Method of cooling and make and model of cooler - Air - Noctua NH-U12P with Noctua NF-P12 @ 1100rpm cap
Make and model of motherboard with BIOS version - Asus Striker II NSE, 0305
OS version - Windows Vista Ultimate
RAM brand, model number, frequency (actual not effective), and latencies - Super Talent Project X DDR3-1600, 800MHz (1600MHz), 7-6-6-18 Unlinked mode

I've pulled way better OCs before, but this is good enough heh. I think I am going to get the new OCZ Flex II soon, the Striker II NSE reverses the RAM orientation and it looks ugly in my case :x

#39 Obi Wong

Obi Wong

    Neowin Dai Lo

  • Joined: 28-December 01
  • Location: Markham, Ontario

Posted 19 June 2008 - 04:27

Processor: E8400 (500x8 = 4.0GHz)
Stepping: C0
Vcore: 1.352v
Method of cooling: Air - Noctua NH-U12P
Make and model of motherboard: Asus P5K-E (Rev A2) BIOS 1013
OS version: Vista Ultimate SP1 x64
RAM brand: 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers 5-5-5-15 @ 500MHz

orthos.jpg

only thing i'm kinda worried about is temps
i just put a new heatsink in. i've read that it takes time for the thermal paste to set (or cure?) and i can see a drop in temps of ~5 degrees?

#40 +shift.

shift.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-July 06
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Posted 19 June 2008 - 04:32

About 200 hours I believe. Depending on what thermal compound you use.

#41 OP +gwai lo

gwai lo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-May 04
  • Location: Los Angeles

Posted 19 June 2008 - 04:34

You're fine, most people define 15°C-20°C under Tjmax as being safe. Desktop Wolfdale Tjmaxes are 95°C.

yayuh first 500 FSB posting. That's good enough right now for the FSB submission.

I'll have both of you guys added in a few minutes.

#42 ObiWanToby

ObiWanToby

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-April 04
  • Location: Columbus, OH

Posted 19 June 2008 - 14:30

I find it encouraging that Vista x64 is being used quite a bit....

Windows 7 is quite a bit faster, these machines are going to run beautifully! Not that they don't already ;)

#43 +shift.

shift.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-July 06
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Posted 19 June 2008 - 16:23

I don't think there's a difference in overclocking across different OS' though.
The only difference is that some 64bit users might be running 4GB of RAM.
But otherwise I think it's more dependent on the chipset and cooling.

#44 Impact

Impact

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 06
  • Location: Maple Valley, WA

Posted 19 June 2008 - 17:31

Intel Core 2 Duo E4500
D Stepping
1.38 V-Core (Set to Auto in Bios because it isn't stable for some reason if it isn't)
Stock Intel Box Cooler (Air)
Gigabyte P35-DS3L Rev. 2.0 With F7 Bios
Windows Vista Business x64
Kingston KVR667D2K2/2GR (2GB of RAM) and Kingston KVR667D2N5K2/2G (Other 2GB of RAM)
Both 2GB Kits of RAM are 667MHz (PC2 5300)
The stock latencies are 5-5-5-15, but I have them running at 5-4-4-15 at 792MHz

Stable with prime95 for 12 hours. The temps hover around 60 degrees celsius when running prime 95 after a couple of hours, so I think I'm ok temperature-wise.

#45 +shift.

shift.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-July 06
  • Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Posted 19 June 2008 - 17:34

...


Remember to include CPU-Z screenshot of CPU, Mainboard and Memory tabs.

As well you forgot to include what speed your CPU is overclocked to.

Check CrashGordon's post on the first page for an example of how it should be formatted. :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!