Jump to content



Photo

New server ordered for Neowin


  • Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

#1 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 31,368 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 02 July 2008 - 08:44

Neowin has ordered a new server to handle our SQL database, we will be moving from 32bit Intel Xeon HT technology to a true 64bit (Intel Xeon) Quad core system with 16GB of memory, to better handle the increasing load on our servers of just over 3 years old.

This is a basic rundown of what we've ordered:

Quad Core Xeon L5410 Processor2x6M Cache, 2.33GHz, 1333MHz FSB for PowerEdge R300
16GB Memory, 4x4GB, 667MHz Dual Ranked DIMMs
Riser with 2 Slots: 2 PCI Exprx8 slots
2x 146GB 15K RPM Serial-Attach SCSI 3Gbps 3.5-in HotPlug HardDrive
On-Board Dual Gigabit Network Adapter
Chassis with Hot Plug Hard Drive and Non-Redundant Power Supply for PowerEdge R300
Hot Plug Add-in SAS6iR RAID Controller (SATA/SAS Controller) which supports 2 Hard Drives - RAID 1

As with the other servers, we will be running RedHat Enterprise on it

The continuing popularity and support of our guests, members and subscribers have made this possible, and I hope that we can also show that we continue to improve the state and service of Neowin in order to make everyone's stay here more pleasurable.

The new server will be installed in our Michigan datacenter and the other 4 servers will be moved from Chicago to the Michigan DC as well, however we expect minimal downtime, because we have backup solutions in place to handle Neowin on spare and loaned servers.

The new setup will be:

New server will handle SQL
2x current server will handle Apache (web requests)
1x current server will handle development and backup our data
1x server: TBD

So in a nutshell, we will be replacing the MySQL server, but the other servers will continue to serve their current purpose, meaning there will be minimal downtime and configuration requirement. We will make an announcement of the change over date once the server has been delivered and placed at the Michigan DC.


#2 +JMann

JMann

    NeoRequest.net

  • 5,128 posts
  • Joined: 12-May 03
  • Location: Somerset, UK

Posted 02 July 2008 - 08:46

Great stuff, glad to see the user's money/Neowin profit going towards the site and getting it running even faster. (Y)

#3 Mike

Mike

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,124 posts
  • Joined: 11-August 02

Posted 02 July 2008 - 08:51

does this michigan dc exclusively use cogent too ? >.<

#4 unity+

unity+

    1010

  • 2,962 posts
  • Joined: 21-April 07

Posted 02 July 2008 - 08:52

Woohoo! Congrats! Well done :D :yes:

#5 Coldgunner

Coldgunner

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,263 posts
  • Joined: 04-March 04
  • Location: Peterborough, UK

Posted 02 July 2008 - 08:55

Rappys pr0n has to go somewhere I guess...

#6 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 31,368 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 02 July 2008 - 08:57

does this michigan dc exclusively use cogent too ? >.<

Yes, but stats show that we have a way better connection than we did at ThePlanet (bigger pipe) and the servers will be closer to HQ meaning that our server guy will be able to combat problems a lot quicker.

PS: Don't ask me the current speeds, Marcel did a test a few days ago and I can't remember what he said we had but it was faster than ThePlanet!

#7 Emil Valsson

Emil Valsson

    Neowinian

  • 700 posts
  • Joined: 18-February 04
  • Location: City 17

Posted 02 July 2008 - 09:05

Why RHEL? Save yourself some money and use CentOS if you want to use Linux. RHEL support is worthless. :)

#8 Jimmy0

Jimmy0

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,022 posts
  • Joined: 12-May 06
  • Location: Hampshire, England

Posted 02 July 2008 - 09:40

That looks like a nice new beefy server; how much does one of those bad boys set you back?

#9 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 31,368 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 02 July 2008 - 09:58

It's a Dell, so around $3000 excluding setup costs..

#10 vetStephen

Stephen

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,060 posts
  • Joined: 17-July 05
  • Location: Manchester / Huddersfield, UK

Posted 02 July 2008 - 10:12

Yes, but stats show that we have a way better connection than we did at ThePlanet (bigger pipe) and the servers will be closer to HQ meaning that our server guy will be able to combat problems a lot quicker.

PS: Don't ask me the current speeds, Marcel did a test a few days ago and I can't remember what he said we had but it was faster than ThePlanet!

i thought they were in the stardock HQ where are they then?

#11 Matrix XII

Matrix XII

    System F

  • 10,465 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 04
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • OS: W7 64 SP1 | OS X 10.9.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 02 July 2008 - 10:16

Yay!

Great news :D

#12 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • 7,747 posts
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 02 July 2008 - 10:18

i thought they were in the stardock HQ where are they then?


Stardock's DC in Chicago

#13 Obi Wong

Obi Wong

    Neowin Dai Lo

  • 4,099 posts
  • Joined: 28-December 01
  • Location: Markham, Ontario

Posted 02 July 2008 - 10:20

looks good... but can it run Crysis?! :p

#14 vetAntaris

Antaris

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,376 posts
  • Joined: 25-January 05
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 02 July 2008 - 10:22

Hows the next version of Neowin coming along?

#15 ultimate99

ultimate99

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,705 posts
  • Joined: 20-August 02
  • Location: ON, Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 02 July 2008 - 10:26

Very impressive! To the top Neowin (Y) (Y) :D