Jump to content



Photo

How to enable a disabled iPod touch


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 vetCalum

Calum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-January 07

Posted 14 July 2008 - 23:32

Hi.

I work on the technology section of an M&S store & recently some annoying little girl customer disabled one of our iPod touch's fully, meaning we had no other chances to guess the passcode.

I went to the Apple Store in Meadowhall & asked a sales assistant how to enable it & he told me, I then looked at articles on the Internet (which were the same) & then tried to do this. However, it still didn't work. I then noticed on one article that it said you have to put it in the computer which it was first set up on. Because this is a work's iPod, I am not plugging it in to a computer which it was set up on & I'm unsure as to whether anyone will know/remember which computer they used to set it up.

Is there a way to enable the iPod touch fully, using a computer to which the iPod has not been connected before? I do not care if any media or settings are erased off it or restored to default.

We do not have the Internet at M&S & I only have the iPod touch for one day (until 4:15pm tomorrow - Tuesday - night GMT/BST)


Please can somebody help ASAP, before tomorrow?

Maybe Cara can ask somebody who she works with? Or maybe she will know how to do this?

Thanks in advance :) I am grateful for ANYBODY's & EVERYBODY's help
:)

Calum.


#2 Hell-In-A-Handbasket

Hell-In-A-Handbasket

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 03
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro, iOS7, OSX 10.7, Ubuntu/WinXP system Died the Good Death

Posted 14 July 2008 - 23:37

from what i understand you attach it to a computer period and it will unlock, after its attached, do a reload on it

#3 CPressland

CPressland

    www.absolute.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: England
  • OS: OS X Mavericks

Posted 14 July 2008 - 23:39

+1, just plug it into a PC/Mac with iTunes installed and do a restore on it.

#4 OP vetCalum

Calum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-January 07

Posted 14 July 2008 - 23:47

Thank you, but no, unfortunately that doesn't work.

I have tried that & what the Apple store guy & official Apple website says. Basically they told me to reset it by pressing the 'sleep/wake' button and 'home' button simultaneously & then connect it to the computer when the Apple logo appears. They then said once connected to the computer, it will let me press "Restore" to update the software & restore the iPod.

This, however, still doesn't work, & I assume it is because I am not using the computer which the iPod was set up on?

I am still getting the error message which is in the attached screenshot (yet it will not let me enter any sort of passcode onto the iPod touch itself, so it is a weird message):

Attached Images

  • Untitled.jpg


#5 betasp

betasp

    Cooler than a polar bear's toenails...

  • Joined: 24-September 03
  • Location: 2nd Level of Hell

Posted 14 July 2008 - 23:48

Do a restore on the unit. Download firmware and lookup iphone ipod force restore.

#6 OP vetCalum

Calum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-January 07

Posted 15 July 2008 - 05:58

OK thank you for your help everyone. After trying it again, it appears I was resetting it wrong. I have now got it to show the iTunes logo & cable image on the iPod touch screen & my computer has recognised the iPod touch, enabling me to click "Restore". I am now trying to download the immense 165.5MB file, with my flat's ridiculously rubbish Internet connection. I will post when/if it finally downloads & let you know if it has worked. Thank you once again for your help.

#7 network53

network53

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 10-November 09

Posted 10 November 2009 - 08:23

Hi,

its been a long time since u got it fixed but i'm having the same problem

Can u please help me with it

im not sure what im doing wrong

my email is network53@gmail.com

Thanks so much


OK thank you for your help everyone. After trying it again, it appears I was resetting it wrong. I have now got it to show the iTunes logo & cable image on the iPod touch screen & my computer has recognised the iPod touch, enabling me to click "Restore". I am now trying to download the immense 165.5MB file, with my flat's ridiculously rubbish Internet connection. I will post when/if it finally downloads & let you know if it has worked. Thank you once again for your help.