Jump to content



Photo

Is 1.5Mbps a fast Internet Speed?


  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#1 DaDude

DaDude

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-May 08

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:15

I currently have Roadrunner high speed Cable internet and the speed is ok, but not great. I'm not sure exactly what the speed is. Anyway, RCN was advertising their cable internet for $16.99 a month, but I have to sign up for a 1 year contract. The internet speed for that service is 1.5Mbps. So, my question is: Is that a good internet speed? I just want to make sure what I'm getting myself into before I sign up for the deal.


#2 +StevoFC

StevoFC

    In Search Of...

  • Joined: 13-August 02
  • Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:19

lol, just keep what you have.

#3 Farstrider

Farstrider

    The Clash

  • Joined: 16-March 03
  • Location: Somerset West, Cape Town, SA
  • OS: Arch Linux

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:22

Mine is 2.0 and is pretty average! Is the bandwidth shaped or not? If it is then it will be fairly ordinary. My download speeds are so so but web pages do not load fast enough for me!

#4 Ghostdraconi

Ghostdraconi

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-November 01
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:23

1.5 isn't that fast but not knowing what you have may mean it's faster than what you have. Before you even think about changing your service you should see what kind of speeds you're currently getting. Try Speedtest that should give you an idea of the speeds you getting currently.

#5 Frank

Frank

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-May 03
  • Location: Southern Colorado

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:24

For surfing the net I don't think you will really notice the difference between 1.5 MB and 6 MB. If you don't do a lot of downloads and want to save money go for it.

Have you ran a speed test on your current connection to see what you are getting?

#6 JaredFrost

JaredFrost

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-May 04

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:26

If you they have to lock you into a contract to keep you as a customer, I would keep clear

In answer to your question though, 1.5Mbps is around 180KB/s, minus some overhead, so you're probably
looking at 150KB/s max, and it's an ok speed.... for 4-5 years ago, the price itself isn't bad, but if you factor
in the 1yr contract it's a pretty bad deal

#7 Rudy

Rudy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 01
  • Location: Ottawa, On

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:33

pretty slow if you ask me

#8 Impact

Impact

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 06
  • Location: Maple Valley, WA

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:35

That's quite slow. I'm getting roughly 15 Mbps on standard Comcast.

#9 DigitalDude

DigitalDude

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-October 01

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:38

Um, I'm on roadrunner and the down is actually 7meg, at least in my area (Charlotte, NC)

#10 mikesingh

mikesingh

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-May 08
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64
  • Phone: Sprint Samsung ATIV S Neo

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:40

I'm on Cablevision's Boost package and normally score around 28-30Mbps. There are much better alternatives out there for you, try to check around... and like others have said.. the contract makes it a pretty ishy deal.

#11 MMaster23

MMaster23

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-October 03
  • Location: Netherlands

Posted 24 August 2008 - 23:46

That's quite slow really .. i'm on 24mbit and going to 100mbit very soon.. I'm a heavy-traffic user and consider 1.5mbps slow as hell...

#12 Rudy

Rudy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 01
  • Location: Ottawa, On

Posted 25 August 2008 - 00:02

That's quite slow really .. i'm on 24mbit and going to 100mbit very soon.. I'm a heavy-traffic user and consider 1.5mbps slow as hell...

I hate you...... heheh jk but I wish I could get 100mbit

#13 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 6/Nexus 5

Posted 25 August 2008 - 00:16

Damn 1.5Mbps, that's still around?

I have charter, and for the longest time (till 2 years ago, their lowest service was 384kbps). My parents were happy with it because they aren't on the computer much, but for me, it really sucked. You can't do anything at 384Kbps. Now, charter has been upgrading their lowest internet packages to 5Mbps, which is amazing. They also offer 10Mbps, and 15Mbps (all down speed).

#14 offroadaaron

offroadaaron

    root can touch you anywhere

  • Joined: 02-May 02
  • Location: Australia

Posted 25 August 2008 - 00:19

for cable 1.5Mbit is freaking slow.

#15 Expl0ited

Expl0ited

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-August 08
  • Location: Vegas Baby!

Posted 25 August 2008 - 00:22

That's quite slow really .. i'm on 24mbit and going to 100mbit very soon.. I'm a heavy-traffic user and consider 1.5mbps slow as hell...


lol Ill take ANYTHING, 56k here yes don't laugh. even 128k ISDN from the 90's would rock.