Jump to content



Photo

Photoshop CS4 won't load


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 20 October 2008 - 05:15

I'm using Vista x64 bit with a Radeon 4850 and 8.10 Catalyst drivers.

For some reason both the 32 bit and 64 bit version of CS4 fails to load. I get a "Photoshop CS4 has stopped working" message whenever I tried to launch it.

I tried using compatibility mode in the 32 bit version (turned off aero effects n also tried for xp sp2 compat) and it actually loaded. However I got the message:

Photoshop has encountered a problem with the display driver, and has temporarily disabled GPU enhancements. Check the video card manufacturer's website for the latest software.

GPU enhancements can be enabled in the Performance panel of Preferences.


I tried creating a new image and it crashed the program. I decided to close it and remove the compatibility options and opened it again. This time the 32 bit version didn't crash but I still got the same message. Opening a new image crashed the program again. Trying to access the Performance panel in preferences also crashed the program.

So my question is if anybody knows what the exact cause of the problem is? I'm assuming it may have to do something with the video card / driver? Was wondering if anyone else was having the same problem as well.

Edited by dlegend, 20 October 2008 - 05:33.



#2 Rahul

Rahul

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-May 04
  • Location: Pelican Bay State Prison,Crescent City,California

Posted 20 October 2008 - 08:08

you sure you got more than 1 GB of RAM , its necessary for CS4 to run

#3 OP svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 20 October 2008 - 08:14

i have 4 gb of ram. vid card has 512 mb.

i'm uninstalling and reinstalling photoshop cs4 and seeing if that will help anything. think photoshop is the only prob out of the suite. i've tried running adobe premiere pro cs4 and it seems to run fine.

#4 Geranium_Z__NL

Geranium_Z__NL

    Will get these two together, even if I have to use Duct Tape

  • Joined: 20-February 05
  • Location: Netherlands, The
  • OS: Windows 8 Professional x64 NL
  • Phone: Sony Xperia S

Posted 20 October 2008 - 08:24

tried newest drivers... ?

#5 Kaze23

Kaze23

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-January 05
  • Location: Calgary, AB
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 w/Update 1
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 20 October 2008 - 08:29

Very strange. I run Vista x64 with the same video card, same Catalyst drivers, and same amount of RAM. Photoshop CS4 (both 32 and 64-bit) works flawlessly for me.

#6 OP svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 20 October 2008 - 08:41

^ hopefully reinstalling will fix my problems then.

#7 kraized

kraized

    Slam Dunk My Funk!

  • Joined: 04-July 04
  • Location: London

Posted 20 October 2008 - 08:43

Have you tried creating a new user account to check it ain't a problem with your current one?

#8 Skulltrail-old

Skulltrail-old

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-June 08

Posted 20 October 2008 - 12:58

Uninstall, delete the Adobe Photoshop folder (C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop CS4), restart your computer, then install.

#9 SQ1

SQ1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-October 04

Posted 20 October 2008 - 13:03

Be sure u have the lastest graphics drivers, that's important

#10 OP svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 20 October 2008 - 19:36

I think I found the problem. It seems as if GamerOSD was again the culprit (had a problem running my games in DX10 + fullscreen). I had disabled some of the features of GamerOSD so there wouldn't be any problems running my games which worked. I didn't stop to think that it would be the cause of my Adobe Photoshop problem.

I realized the problem had to be software-wise after reinstalling my video driver and having Photoshop CS4 load properly. After restarting though, CS4 again failed to work properly. I uninstalled GamerOSD, reinstalled the driver, and restarted and now it still works.

For anyone else using ASUS's GamerOSD -- beware! At least on my machine it causes problems with games and now Photoshop CS4. It's too bad because I also use ASUS SmartDoctor (great fan control feature dependent on the temp for my card) which pops up an annoying message every time I restart telling me I should install GamerOSD for full features if I don't have it =(

Did another restart. Happy to say the problem is solved! Thanks everyone for their help.

Edited by dlegend, 20 October 2008 - 19:58.


#11 spizzo

spizzo

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 10-December 08

Posted 10 December 2008 - 02:38

I think I found the problem. It seems as if GamerOSD was again the culprit (had a problem running my games in DX10 + fullscreen). I had disabled some of the features of GamerOSD so there wouldn't be any problems running my games which worked. I didn't stop to think that it would be the cause of my Adobe Photoshop problem.

I realized the problem had to be software-wise after reinstalling my video driver and having Photoshop CS4 load properly. After restarting though, CS4 again failed to work properly. I uninstalled GamerOSD, reinstalled the driver, and restarted and now it still works.

For anyone else using ASUS's GamerOSD -- beware! At least on my machine it causes problems with games and now Photoshop CS4. It's too bad because I also use ASUS SmartDoctor (great fan control feature dependent on the temp for my card) which pops up an annoying message every time I restart telling me I should install GamerOSD for full features if I don't have it =(

Did another restart. Happy to say the problem is solved! Thanks everyone for their help.



I just found out I had the same problem. Couldn't figure out why PS was crashing on startup. Googled around a bit and found this post. Removed GamerOSD and voila, photoshop runs! Thanks a million, appreciate the help :D

#12 actinogen

actinogen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-January 07
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA

Posted 27 December 2008 - 22:59

I just found out I had the same problem. Couldn't figure out why PS was crashing on startup. Googled around a bit and found this post. Removed GamerOSD and voila, photoshop runs! Thanks a million, appreciate the help :D


I was having a similar problem with Adobe Photoshop CS4, and in my case it was Rocketdock.

#13 Captain crow

Captain crow

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 14-January 09

Posted 14 January 2009 - 12:17

I am having the same problem of PS CS4 refusing to load. I start it, the splash screen shows and it crashes. It doesn't start loading elements, but it stops at "reading preferences".

I HAVE tried to reset prefs. And I HAVE deleted/uninstalled Gamer OSD.

Oh, and all the other applications in the suite work. It's just photoshop CS4 (32/64bit) that refuses to load.

#14 Nitrazepam

Nitrazepam

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 18-January 09

Posted 18 January 2009 - 12:52

Thanks!!!!! dlegend, it happened to me with XP a few days ago, downloaded some cs4 copies and getting same error.

Just installed vista and again, installed CS4 and getting error. Redownloaded reinstalled and same :((

I have a crossfired config with 2 hd4870, 4 GB ram and quad6600. GamerOSD and Smartdoctor.
Removed Gamerosd (closing won't work) and without reinstall, CS4 Finally loaded, just in time to crack it :p.

PD: I just registered to neowin to give thanks to you dlegend, there are lot of people on "google" with same problem but with no solution xD
tytytytytytyty

#15 akiira

akiira

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 10-July 09

Posted 10 July 2009 - 08:10

I think I found the problem. It seems as if GamerOSD was again the culprit (had a problem running my games in DX10 + fullscreen). I had disabled some of the features of GamerOSD so there wouldn't be any problems running my games which worked. I didn't stop to think that it would be the cause of my Adobe Photoshop problem.

I realized the problem had to be software-wise after reinstalling my video driver and having Photoshop CS4 load properly. After restarting though, CS4 again failed to work properly. I uninstalled GamerOSD, reinstalled the driver, and restarted and now it still works.

For anyone else using ASUS's GamerOSD -- beware! At least on my machine it causes problems with games and now Photoshop CS4. It's too bad because I also use ASUS SmartDoctor (great fan control feature dependent on the temp for my card) which pops up an annoying message every time I restart telling me I should install GamerOSD for full features if I don't have it =(

Did another restart. Happy to say the problem is solved! Thanks everyone for their help.


Dude, THANK YOU SO MUCH, how the hell did you find out it was that, i never even use it nor is it ever on, quiet weird, but thanks :D
i have an eah4830 and did same thing

--
But now a new problem for me occured, for instance when i choose a coloiur it chooses an opposite one, like black goes to green, red blue etc,, anyone know ? =/

Edited by akiira, 10 July 2009 - 08:21.




Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!