Jump to content



Photo

VGA cable on my LG widescreen monitor.


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 ozgeek

ozgeek

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Queensland, Australia

Posted 21 October 2008 - 15:41

I've setup my 360 to run on my LG computer monitor. It works great but but the problem is that there is no sound. Video works great. Can see but can't hear. A while ago, I posted here requesting assistance for this but got nowhere so I went back to my CRT TV for a while. I have now since re-interested in trying again. Before some of you told me to get a Y- RCA spliter. Did that but it achieved nothing because where do I plug the one plug end into?

Just then I noticed that the 360-end of the VGA cable has a square patch. Is this to do with sound? I also discovered a similar port on my computer back panel. Here's a photo of my computer back panel. (Yes I unplugged the sound cable for PC so can get better shot). The square port (marked with red arrow). What is it? Does this plug into the square plug on the cable of the 360 VGA cable?

Attached Images

  • P1010002.jpg



#2 gdodson

gdodson

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-October 04

Posted 21 October 2008 - 15:46

Those connections are for optical audio, but I doubt that the optical on your computer is an input. What speakers are you using? What you want to do is use the RCA to 3.5mm stereo adapter that comes with the 360 VGA kit. Plug that adapter into the input on your speakers.

#3 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 22 October 2008 - 01:14

the VGA cable is perfect for LCD TV's, not monitors, unless your monitor has audio output, not input obviously. this is the only drawback to the VGA setup...if your monitor doesn't have a red-white output or a 3.5 (typically green or black) headset output, you need to get an external sound source to drive audio. what i did before was pull out an ancient reciever and just hook up the red white audio from the VGA cable to the outputs on the reciever. the sound was awesome.

this is one of my main complaints for MS in terms of hardware, there's no onboard amplification whatsoever. i hope next iteration there'll at least be a headset option.

in the meantime, i recommend you switch to a 22" cheapo LCD TV, those can be had for under 300 bucks easy these days. it'll have everything you need and will look infinitely better than your tube TV. the 22 inchers are also goign to get 1680X1050 support in a couple of weeks, so that's even better.

#4 OP ozgeek

ozgeek

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Queensland, Australia

Posted 22 October 2008 - 11:37

Oh damn, that port is a output optical port.

I do have this Y adapter but WHERE do I plug the headphone plug end of the adapter in? My speakers are just standard computer speakers. On them it says "Amplified Multimedia Speaker System". The left unit is connected to the right and the right unit is the main one that have the power, bass and volume controls on it as well as a headphone port. If you tell me to plug in the adapter to this phone port, don't, because I already tried and it don't work. See the photo in my original post. The speakers are plugged into the black round port.

#5 DigitalE

DigitalE

    Tree Climber

  • Joined: 24-March 05
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 22 October 2008 - 16:28

Does your computer have a Line-In port? If so, plug it into that.

#6 spenser.d

spenser.d

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-December 03

Posted 22 October 2008 - 18:49

Oh damn, that port is a output optical port.

I do have this Y adapter but WHERE do I plug the headphone plug end of the adapter in? My speakers are just standard computer speakers. On them it says "Amplified Multimedia Speaker System". The left unit is connected to the right and the right unit is the main one that have the power, bass and volume controls on it as well as a headphone port. If you tell me to plug in the adapter to this phone port, don't, because I already tried and it don't work. See the photo in my original post. The speakers are plugged into the black round port.


Plug it into the blue one. I believe that's generally the line-in port. You might have to go into your sound settings on your computer to enable line-in.

-Spenser

#7 stephen_0002

stephen_0002

    R€§Þë©t£Ð þï®åt€

  • Joined: 14-March 05
  • Location: Cold Lake, Alberta

Posted 25 October 2008 - 19:06

Those connections are for optical audio, but I doubt that the optical on your computer is an input. What speakers are you using? What you want to do is use the RCA to 3.5mm stereo adapter that comes with the 360 VGA kit. Plug that adapter into the input on your speakers.



I used the vga kit for the xbox 360 .. Let me tell ya. It is well worth it. on the cable, you should have 2 rca cables comming out it. they are both male connections. you then need a y-rca splitter, looks like this Here ... that line-in is female. The line-in on your speakers goes in the female y-rca splitter.

There is no reason to have any audio hook-up connecting to you pc using the 360 vga kit. All that is needed it VGA monitor, pc speakers, y-rca splitter and ofcourse the 360. :D

#8 acnpt

acnpt

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-September 04
  • Location: South Wales, UK

Posted 26 October 2008 - 10:37

So your speakers use a headphone plug?.
If so then buy a 'coupler' to conect the two input/male plugs to each other.
Posted Image

I bought mine from maplin for £1 or £2.

Thats what I use to connect my Xbox and cheap logitech speakers.

#9 stephen_0002

stephen_0002

    R€§Þë©t£Ð þï®åt€

  • Joined: 14-March 05
  • Location: Cold Lake, Alberta

Posted 28 October 2008 - 00:19

naw. if only it was that easy.

All you need is a VGA kit like this one...Here obviously vga goes to monitor.... but audio plugs in to Here ( possibly supplied when you purchased new speakers). no pc needed.. no extra hardware

#10 rajputwarrior

rajputwarrior

    olé olé olé olé

  • Joined: 20-June 04
  • Location: BC, CANADA

Posted 28 October 2008 - 02:16

the crappy thing is that the xbox doesn't support 16:10 resolutions, so the images are stretched and it kills the quality a bit. Why they can't add 16:10 resolution support is beyond me...

#11 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 28 October 2008 - 10:06

those are coming in the next update, reportedly

EDIT: besides, i've only ever used my 360 on 16:10, first a 19 inch, now a 22, and never noticed any stretching or other major problems. i'm sure it will look a bit nicer on the native ratio and resolution, but honestly it's good enough right now.

#12 vetbangbang023

bangbang023

    Silent Veteran

  • Joined: 17-October 01
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posted 28 October 2008 - 17:45

those are coming in the next update, reportedly

Reported where? I've heard no such thing.

edit: Wow, is it really possible? I'm reading around and seeing it mentioned a lot. I've been waiting for this since I bought my Xbox, but gave up hope long ago.

#13 OP ozgeek

ozgeek

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Queensland, Australia

Posted 28 October 2008 - 17:51

naw. if only it was that easy.

All you need is a VGA kit like this one...Here obviously vga goes to monitor.... but audio plugs in to Here ( possibly supplied when you purchased new speakers). no pc needed.. no extra hardware



I guess no one here reads threads before posting. Have a look at my previous posts and you will open your eyes to see that I already said that I have that VGA cable and that spliter. The purpose of this thread is to find out where to plug in the headphone-jack of the spliter.

#14 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 29 October 2008 - 01:02

nah bangbang, you just went for a ride on the anti-Xbox bandwagon, but you're better now :cool:

as for you ozgeek, people were just trying lend a helping hand. besides, i think several replies, including mine, talked specifically about what kinds of output you could use. so take it easy down there.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!