Jump to content



Photo

Indiana Jones and the Emperors Tomb


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
13 replies to this topic

#1 FearMeAll

FearMeAll

    Dirka Dirk Hacka Sherp

  • Joined: 12-November 02
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 April 2003 - 23:07

Just got Indiana Jones and the Emperor's Tomb, and I'm kinda disheartened at the way it plays..jerky and too fast. My favorite Indy game was the Infernal Machine(abeit it's gameplay was too slow). If you remember in the Infernal Machine, it took him a while to turn, and he ran like he had a serious cramp in his backside, and enemies were tough because he moved so clunkily(that ain't a word :p ) Well, now it looks like Lucasarts heard the complaints and decided to make Indy climb walls faster, run really fast, and turn on a dime..but, it's a little too fast, at least for me. The game seems to go at a frantic pace when confronting enemies, but then you still have to solve puzzles in the temples..and the whole feel of the game is too fast for this genre. It's turned into an arcade game(thanks to consoles) and has lost it's old contemplative appeal. Have you tried to make Indy swim? He moves like a dolphin on steroids! He's so fast you run into a wall before you have a chance to move the mouse a different direction! This would be a great game if it could just slow down a bit, freaks me out..
the infernal machine would get a little too slow though, remember when you have to change weapons? The method: stop, stand a second, change weapon, shoot, run, stop, stand a while, shoot, put weapon away, crouch, move, you know what I mean. I just wish Lucasarts could have found a happy medium between the two, cuz now I feel the whole Indiana jones game series has been cheapened. I want across between exploration and adventure...cuz Emperor's Tomb sucks for exploration... -my thoughts.
/edit- also the emperor's tomb has a frame lock of 30 fps..which explains why I thought it was jerky..found it out in fraps..

Attached Images

  • Neowin_Review_copy.jpg

Edited by FearMeAll, 01 April 2003 - 23:13.



#2 MxxCon

MxxCon

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-December 01

Posted 01 April 2003 - 23:26

i'm on 4th episode/mission/whatever..china one..
ya the guy is running and climbing pretty fast. but i don't think it's such a big deal. fighting is really good. his heavy breathing after different moves gets annoying pretty fast. game is indeed locked at 30fps which sucks major ass.
biggest thing i don't like in this game is chain/rope jumping, especialy when you have to stop swinging to turn or move up/down.

#3 OP FearMeAll

FearMeAll

    Dirka Dirk Hacka Sherp

  • Joined: 12-November 02
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 April 2003 - 23:44

yeah- fighting is the only part I like...

#4 MxxCon

MxxCon

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-December 01

Posted 02 April 2003 - 07:56

i figured out how to increase fps
edit "\Indiana Jones and the Emperors Tomb\GameData\indy\vars.cfg"
you'll see
fps=false
fpsLimit=30
i hope you can figure out what to do there :)

also changing aiDisabled=false to true will turn off enemy AI :)

#5 OP FearMeAll

FearMeAll

    Dirka Dirk Hacka Sherp

  • Joined: 12-November 02
  • Location: USA

Posted 02 April 2003 - 13:00

i figured out how to increase fps
edit "\Indiana Jones and the Emperors Tomb\GameData\indy\vars.cfg"
you'll see
fps=false
fpsLimit=30
i hope you can figure out what to do there :)

also changing aiDisabled=false to true will turn off enemy AI :)

cool! I'll try it out! I'll go ahead and limit FPS to 500..he he- got a little farther in the game- it's not bad- it's growing on me

#6 OP FearMeAll

FearMeAll

    Dirka Dirk Hacka Sherp

  • Joined: 12-November 02
  • Location: USA

Posted 02 April 2003 - 13:05

aahh= the game is MUUUUUCCH better now...thanx!!

#7 rohithpatel

rohithpatel

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-January 02

Posted 02 April 2003 - 21:07

Well Gamespot gave this game a decent review and the gameplay is supposed to nice (not the best mind u). But I am a big Indiana Jones fan and found most of the old games very bad and when a game which has 7.2 in gamespot comes out with "Indiana Jones" on it... i am gonna get it.

#8 tronmaster

tronmaster

    The Quiet Guy

  • Joined: 09-December 01

Posted 02 April 2003 - 21:51

Soooooo, is it bad as the Infernal Machine? I gave after I had to become Mr. "Plumber" Mario. :o

#9 OP FearMeAll

FearMeAll

    Dirka Dirk Hacka Sherp

  • Joined: 12-November 02
  • Location: USA

Posted 02 April 2003 - 23:55

Soooooo, is it bad as the Infernal Machine?  I gave after I had to become Mr. "Plumber" Mario.  :o

it's not bad at all...I'm happy with it now after I went into the cfg file and increased it from the frame lock...runs really nice and I like it. It's better than the Infernal Machine. But for some wierd reason, I like that old game...I think it's cuz it was the first 3dgame I bought for pc..ran like silk on my 2meg onboard video card..

#10 OP FearMeAll

FearMeAll

    Dirka Dirk Hacka Sherp

  • Joined: 12-November 02
  • Location: USA

Posted 09 April 2003 - 03:28

Hey- just to let those who have not played this game know- it is really fun! I judged it too harshly at first glance, but it really is good. GOOD GAME!!

#11 Hamza Nasir

Hamza Nasir

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 13-November 12

Posted 13 November 2012 - 10:50

Hello. can u plz help me here. what software u r using to open the cfg file. I also want to increase the frame rate.

#12 +McCordRm

McCordRm

    http://richardmccord.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 06
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 13 November 2012 - 10:56

Notepad.

And wtf...this is like the Jesus of Resurrections.

#13 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 13 November 2012 - 11:02

:blink:

Well at least it is relevant to the conversation, I guess. Even if that conversation is nine (nine!) years old.

And yeah, you would edit the file via Notepad. Right-click on the .cfg file, "open with..." and select Notepad.

#14 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: OnePlus One 64GB

Posted 13 November 2012 - 11:03

Hello. can u plz help me here. what software u r using to open the cfg file. I also want to increase the frame rate.

Hi there. Please don't resurrect old threads. If you need help, then simply create a thread of your own.

Closed



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!