Jump to content



Photo

conhost.exe ?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Myrdhinn

Myrdhinn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-November 08

Posted 10 December 2008 - 05:23

Since superantispyware doesn't work, I put on latest spybot S&D and defs. Did a scan for jollies and it found this conhost.exe in /system32 and said it's "win32:sober". Just wondering if others have this file and if they get the same result. I bet it's a FP but always a chance it somehow got in with something else besides 6956.


#2 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 10 December 2008 - 06:02

Well conhost.exe is a new binary on Win7. It hosts the command prompt window that cmd.exe runs in.

#3 OP Myrdhinn

Myrdhinn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-November 08

Posted 10 December 2008 - 16:34

Thanks Brandon. Good to know it's a FP from spybot.

#4 Me Myself and I

Me Myself and I

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-December 08

Posted 11 December 2008 - 18:08

Well conhost.exe is a new binary on Win7. It hosts the command prompt window that cmd.exe runs in.


i hope im not being inappropriate by posting in this thread, i thought that it would save me clutttering up the board any further by adding topics, when it already exists. if i should have posted this in a new thread, then apologies for that.

Spybot also picking up conhost.exe for me, and i was pretty sure that it was a FP, so excluded it. i just checked my running processes, and there are 15 instances of conhost.exe running, why would this be? i havent run a cmd prompt window since yesterday.

i am running Windows 7 6801

Posted Image

anyone know why this is?

thanks

#5 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 11 December 2008 - 19:24

I'm gonna have to guess it's a bug.

#6 Me Myself and I

Me Myself and I

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-December 08

Posted 11 December 2008 - 19:28

I'm gonna have to guess it's a bug.


thanks for your reply Brandon :)

a bug as in virus? or bug as in windows errors?

im guessing you mean the latter

i have terminated them all, with no adverse reaction so far anyway

#7 Alexoh

Alexoh

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-November 08
  • Location: Paris (France)

Posted 25 December 2008 - 14:29

Me too : Spybot reports conhost as a malware...

#8 Panda X

Panda X

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-January 07

Posted 25 December 2008 - 14:58

There's conhost, dllhost, taskhost, and svchost now in 7.

#9 limok

limok

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-May 04
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy S4, iPhone 5

Posted 25 December 2008 - 16:11

yeh taskhost is a cpu killer, so I removed it from the system32 folder. 7 working fine at the momo

#10 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 25 December 2008 - 20:15

yeh taskhost is a cpu killer, so I removed it from the system32 folder. 7 working fine at the momo


What??? Taskhost doesn't even do anything, it's whatever task is hosted there that you must have had a problem with. You can't just delete the file, I'm assuming WFP put it back as soon as you deleted it (otherwise your system would be in a ridiculously broken state). If you're having problems with a task eating CPU, you should find out what task it is and disable it. After you submit the hung app bug report of course.

#11 limok

limok

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-May 04
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy S4, iPhone 5

Posted 25 December 2008 - 20:34

well I have restarted multiple times and taskhost hasn't popped up in the processes tab as of yet. All my apps seem to be working fine.

taskhost used to pop up and take 50% cpu (dualcore) with no apps running in background. Once I end tasked it it was another 20 mins or so when it popped up again.

#12 MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-March 07
  • Location: Germany

Posted 25 December 2008 - 22:56

Start processExplorer as admin and move the mouse over the taskhost.exe and you'll see which tasks are being started from the exe.

#13 y_notm

y_notm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 25-August 01

Posted 25 December 2008 - 23:04

Start processExplorer as admin and move the mouse over the taskhost.exe and you'll see which tasks are being started from the exe.

Or just open task scheduler and click view running tasks.

#14 limok

limok

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-May 04
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy S4, iPhone 5

Posted 26 December 2008 - 02:35

looked it up and its got something to do with racengn.dll

#15 MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-March 07
  • Location: Germany

Posted 26 December 2008 - 12:51

looked it up and its got something to do with racengn.dll


this is the Reliability analysis engine.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!