Jump to content



Photo

Windows 7 on a OLD machine


  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#1 eilegz

eilegz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-September 02

Posted 21 January 2009 - 00:18

Today i tested Windows 7 on an pretty old laptop

a Toshiba Satellite with a very old specs

Pentium 4 2.26 GHZ Northwood
768 MB ram DDR1
40Gb Hard drive
Geforce 4 MX 420 32 mb

I'm impressed with windows 7 so far, it run almost like XP, in performance area it took a minute with 10 seconds to startup which its ok because xp almost takes 50 seconds.

Audio was not recognized but windows update found a driver and installed with those critical updates, What its really disappointing its that microsoft and nvidia could NOT provide a driver for my legacy but good old video card. After searching and google i found that a very OLD XP driver 72.30 its compatible with Vista and so i tried it with windows 7 and works ok so far.

Nvidia 72.30 driver topic
http://forum.ecousti...829/331431.html

thats all for now, but its amazing how windows 7 improve in performance area compared to vista, somehow a only cons that i find so far its that windows 7 its kinda instable sometimes explorer crash kinda like xp, something that i didn't experience with vista which its a very stable.


#2 OP eilegz

eilegz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-September 02

Posted 21 January 2009 - 22:24

Well my second day with windows 7

i installed eset nod32 2.7 version and it works very well, so i assume that version 3 will work too.

Installed opera 10 alpha and works great flash 10 installed and works as well, fired up youtube and the video run nice, even in high quality mode.

Now what its the issue its standalone video like .avi .mkv, among other video files. I tried many players like windows media player 12, media player classic, KMplayer and all freeze when i try to open a video file.

after reading some topics maybe its a OLD XP driver issue in windows 7, with Nvidia and microsoft not having a good updated driver its gonna be hard to fix, well i sent a feedback, lets hope they get it fixed soon.

#3 J.Sax

J.Sax

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-September 08

Posted 22 January 2009 - 06:57

I've had like results on a similar machine, though it was a desktop.

Pentium 4 3.06 GHz
80 GB HDD
768 MB DDR1 RAM
GeForce 4 MX 440

Unlike Vista, which ran extremely slow, forcing me to uninstall it and go back to XP, Windows 7 has been running as well as you describe on yours. But likewise, I have the same driver issue as you with the GeForce 4. I couldn't run anything in WMP, as the now playing mode would crash and if I tried to fullscreen something on YouTube or a similar site, I'd also get a blue screen there.

Driver issue aside, I'm pleasantly surprised by how well Windows 7 runs on such old hardware.

As a broke student this has been my main computer for several years and the beta breathed new life into it. But just yesterday I finally got a new laptop (MacBook 2.04 GHz) and Windows 7 is running like a dream on that after I got some driver issues sorted out! I can finally shut that old thing off from now on unless I'm listening to my music library.

#4 MeDieViL02

MeDieViL02

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-June 08

Posted 22 January 2009 - 08:11

seems to work slow on my 2ghz 1.25gig ram machine, bad lag in counter strike, team fortress and all that games

#5 Dubstep Nixon

Dubstep Nixon

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 05
  • Location: USA

Posted 22 January 2009 - 08:18

That's an old machine? Maybe I'm getting up there myself but I was expecting this to be about running it on a Pentium III 450 or something.

#6 +TruckWEB

TruckWEB

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-December 01
  • Location: Quebec, Canada

Posted 22 January 2009 - 10:43

Yeah, Pentium 4, especially at 3Ghz, are not THAT old....

OLD would be Pentium 3 or the very first Pentium 4..... The main problem you have is using a crap video card with a decent CPU.

#7 rustix

rustix

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-July 07

Posted 22 January 2009 - 10:47

well i tried it on my laptop (specs in my sig) and with only WMP running it ate up a minimum of 87% processor usage and a constant 57% of RAM.. hence i switched back to XP :(

#8 denyboy

denyboy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 08

Posted 22 January 2009 - 12:52

It worls good on my new and old PC.


Old PC:

Pentium 4 3.2 Ghz
2 GB RAM
ATI X1650 PRO
80 GB HD

#9 OP eilegz

eilegz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-September 02

Posted 22 January 2009 - 17:36

Yeah, Pentium 4, especially at 3Ghz, are not THAT old....

OLD would be Pentium 3 or the very first Pentium 4..... The main problem you have is using a crap video card with a decent CPU.


well my laptop its a northwood pentium 4 so its very old.

#10 Borimol

Borimol

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-March 05
  • Location: Spain

Posted 22 January 2009 - 18:13

Old PC:

Pentium 4 3.2 Ghz
2 GB RAM


Old PC :D ? mmm, I think My Vaio is very very old: Core 2 Duo 1,6 Ghz with only 1GB RAM.

#11 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 22 January 2009 - 19:34

If my old PC hadn't crashed some months ago I'd have tried it on my P3 1.4Ghz (Extreme) and 512MB SD-RAM and a Riva TNT2 graphics card...

It ran Vista just fine :p

#12 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: NYC & Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 22 January 2009 - 19:59

i have a pentium 3 1Ghz machine with only 384MB of RAM. I would have tried it on that but it uses PC133 which isn't easy to find and isn't cheap as far as i saw so i wont even bother. I was gonna buy the RAM though and use one of the other HDDs i have (old 20GB 7200RPM Maxtor) to test it on that.

#13 Garry

Garry

    CCNP & CISSP

  • Joined: 09-November 01
  • Location: Manchester, UK

Posted 22 January 2009 - 20:07

Old PC :D ? mmm, I think My Vaio is very very old: Core 2 Duo 1,6 Ghz with only 1GB RAM.


Erm, 3.0GHz P4s are much older than your Core 2 Duo.

Also, the 3.0GHz Northwood P4 was released in April 2003 so it's nearly six years old. That's pretty ancient in computer terms. Let's not forget that six years before that we were using Pentium 233s!

#14 Warboy

Warboy

    The Doctor

  • Joined: 25-November 06
  • Location: Michigan
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Epic 4G Touch

Posted 22 January 2009 - 20:10

I got Windows 7 to run great on a Intel Mobile 1.4Ghz Single-Core laptop.

#15 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 22 January 2009 - 21:49

i have a pentium 3 1Ghz machine with only 384MB of RAM. I would have tried it on that but it uses PC133 which isn't easy to find and isn't cheap as far as i saw so i wont even bother. I was gonna buy the RAM though and use one of the other HDDs i have (old 20GB 7200RPM Maxtor) to test it on that.

I was able to run Win7 inside a VM with just 256 MB RAM and it was useable.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!