Jump to content



Photo

Windows Vista SP2 RC released!


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#31 leesmithg

leesmithg

    The Major!

  • 9,473 posts
  • Joined: 11-August 04
  • Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.

Posted 06 March 2009 - 09:27

Installing Vista on a clean PC is going to take anywhere from 2 hours to 4 now with these service packs and IE8. Bugger that, Im using W7 for now until something show-stopping happens for me.


Took me about 35 minutes yesterday.

Would have taken longer if I had installed Xp Pro first as I have Vista Upgrade 32 bit.


#32 (Spork)

(Spork)

    ANDROID-APPLE

  • 4,786 posts
  • Joined: 20-August 07

Posted 06 March 2009 - 12:08

ahhh will this slap the "trial blaah blahh on the desktop " i tried sp2 before and i rebooted and that crap on my desktop

Installing Vista on a clean PC is going to take anywhere from 2 hours to 4 now with these service packs and IE8. Bugger that, Im using W7 for now until something show-stopping happens for me.



ROFL what .... took me 30 mins last time i did a reformat

#33 Sethos

Sethos

    The Neowin Pessimist

  • 21,958 posts
  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: Denmark

Posted 06 March 2009 - 12:11

Takes ages to install Service Packs on a fresh install

#34 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,840 posts
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 06 March 2009 - 15:16

Installing Vista on a clean PC is going to take anywhere from 2 hours to 4 now with these service packs and IE8. Bugger that, Im using W7 for now until something show-stopping happens for me.

LOL, it takes me an hour tops to format and have all my programs/preferences/drivers all setup.

#35 Evolution

Evolution

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,555 posts
  • Joined: 06-April 02

Posted 06 March 2009 - 15:42

The only issue I'm having with every SP2 release is that the welcome screen or the blank screen right after is taking a lot longer now :( It seems it's 1 second or less vs. 7 seconds now.

#36 thefonz

thefonz

    Neowinian

  • 1,403 posts
  • Joined: 07-December 03
  • Location: Sydney

Posted 06 March 2009 - 17:17

Why does this update not appear on Win Update when I run it? For the record i use Vista quite happily and have no intention to make the switch to Windows 7 unless it garners at least 98% postive reviews. Heck, I only just upgraded to Vista a couple of months ago and it does everything I want with a nice glass sheen...
When is Win 7 due to be released anyway?

#37 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,840 posts
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 06 March 2009 - 17:20

this isn't final fonz, it won't appear in WU unless you run run a script you can dl from microsoft's site.

#38 fixxxer2014

fixxxer2014

    A1 poster

  • 7,391 posts
  • Joined: 26-February 06
  • Location: midwest

Posted 06 March 2009 - 17:20

Why does this update not appear on Win Update when I run it? For the record i use Vista quite happily and have no intention to make the switch to Windows 7 unless it garners at least 98% postive reviews. Heck, I only just upgraded to Vista a couple of months ago and it does everything I want with a nice glass sheen...
When is Win 7 due to be released anyway?



sp2 is not fully ready yet and will not be on windows update for some time to come. as far as 7, it should be out by the end of this year, maybe sooner?

#39 toufas

toufas

    Neowinian

  • 71 posts
  • Joined: 31-January 05

Posted 07 March 2009 - 14:40

Posted Image
i keep getting this error...
windows vista ultimate sp1 non cracked

#40 Shea J

Shea J

    Neowinian

  • 269 posts
  • Joined: 23-June 06
  • Location: New York City

Posted 07 March 2009 - 19:47

can anyone tell me why I am getting a message saying "one or more system components that the service pack requires are missing."

?

#41 fixxxer2014

fixxxer2014

    A1 poster

  • 7,391 posts
  • Joined: 26-February 06
  • Location: midwest

Posted 07 March 2009 - 19:57

why don't you guys wait until the final is released? ;)