Jump to content



Photo

Creating an XP install.wim file to slip into Vista Installer


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Gary2MBz

Gary2MBz

    Sneakier than your worst nightmare.

  • Joined: 05-November 07
  • Location: Somewhere in LA...
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1 Pro x64
  • Phone: AT&T iPhone 5 32GB - White & Silver

Posted 06 May 2009 - 05:35

I know I know XP should die off but I still have my old November 2008 deployment. I'm learning how to mess with imageX, Windows AIK, and manage install.wim files. So far I have managed to merge Vista SP2 and 7 7100 Ultimate 32 and 64 into a big 8GB install.wim on my flash drive. Is there any possible way to keep the special unattended settings for XP ONLY that I set up with nLite so the other 4 stay the way they are now? I have finally also received my 16GB DT100 from RMA and I want to make it a boot drive. I have 3.65GB free and my XP SP3 has DriverPacks, removed components and unattended settings totalling 1.3GB.

Can this be worked since it won't be using an Autounattend.xml file like Vista and 7 do? Thanks, I have learned very much from here and I volunteer at CHLA using most of the info I learned here some great minds we have here. The reason I still keep XP on me is because people I help do still have old Intel integrated 8xx graphics and there are no XPDM drivers in 7 so it is very terrible 640x480 4 bit color which is a scary sight.


#2 OP Gary2MBz

Gary2MBz

    Sneakier than your worst nightmare.

  • Joined: 05-November 07
  • Location: Somewhere in LA...
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1 Pro x64
  • Phone: AT&T iPhone 5 32GB - White & Silver

Posted 17 May 2009 - 02:34

Well I guess there is no way, oh well. Mods please close this topic, thanks.

#3 Snowl

Snowl

    ‮i wasted 10 seconds of your time

  • Joined: 01-December 08
  • Location: Australia.

Posted 17 May 2009 - 02:38

edit - dw. links dont work

#4 Darrian

Darrian

    The Apathetic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-October 01

Posted 17 May 2009 - 02:53

There are drivers for 7 for that video card, kind of. You have to install Vista, which comes with a driver for it, export that driver to a zip with a program like DriverMax, and then install 7 and use that video driver. It's not WDDM, so no aero, but it'll get you a resolution better than 640x480.

#5 OP Gary2MBz

Gary2MBz

    Sneakier than your worst nightmare.

  • Joined: 05-November 07
  • Location: Somewhere in LA...
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1 Pro x64
  • Phone: AT&T iPhone 5 32GB - White & Silver

Posted 17 May 2009 - 04:33

Sadly I tried it with drivergenius with vista and it just says VGA Controller. I used Vista RTM and SP1. My point being I don't care for Aero on this chip, only to get basic and classic workable.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!