Jump to content



Photo

Install Windows 7 via network?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 TheHouseBunny

TheHouseBunny

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 09
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 23 May 2009 - 13:05

I've just ran out of blank dvd's but i want to install Win 7 x64 on my laptop (HP 530) and my usb-stick is to small (only 2gb) so i cant use that for installing.
Is there any way of installing Win 7 over network? if i mount the image-file on my stationary and share it?


#2 dcghost

dcghost

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-February 02

Posted 23 May 2009 - 13:10

I've just ran out of blank dvd's but i want to install Win 7 x64 on my laptop (HP 530) and my usb-stick is to small (only 2gb) so i cant use that for installing.
Is there any way of installing Win 7 over network? if i mount the image-file on my stationary and share it?



Does your mobo support boot over lan? I am not sure on the HPs...if you can then you should be able to.

#3 OP TheHouseBunny

TheHouseBunny

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 09
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 23 May 2009 - 13:21

Does your mobo support boot over lan? I am not sure on the HPs...if you can then you should be able to.


Yes, it has.
I've mounted the image file and shared it and i've changed so the laptop boots from network, but it doesnt seem to work :(

#4 dcghost

dcghost

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-February 02

Posted 23 May 2009 - 13:25

are you starting the install from windows or by rebooting...

#5 OP TheHouseBunny

TheHouseBunny

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 09
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 23 May 2009 - 13:29

are you starting the install from windows or by rebooting...


First i tried from reboot, now i'm installing from within old windows (2008 standard server) and so far it seems to work =)

#6 dcghost

dcghost

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-February 02

Posted 23 May 2009 - 13:30

You had Win2008 Server on your laptop?

#7 OP TheHouseBunny

TheHouseBunny

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 09
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 23 May 2009 - 13:33

You had Win2008 Server on your laptop?


Yes i did.

#8 dcghost

dcghost

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-February 02

Posted 23 May 2009 - 13:41

Cool, just checking. HOpe it goes well for ya. I have not booted from a LAN in a while...

You should love Win7...been running it on my desktop for a while now, since beta. Love it...

#9 OP TheHouseBunny

TheHouseBunny

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 09
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 23 May 2009 - 13:50

Cool, just checking. HOpe it goes well for ya. I have not booted from a LAN in a while...

You should love Win7...been running it on my desktop for a while now, since beta. Love it...


I love Win 7, have been using it as my main os on the stationary since jan/feb :p

#10 OP TheHouseBunny

TheHouseBunny

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 09
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 23 May 2009 - 14:07

I love Win 7, have been using it as my main os on the stationary since jan/feb :p


The installation worked just fine, but there is a little problem.. the nic aint workin in Win 7 (Intel pro 100 VE) and the drivers i downloaded from intels page says it doesnt support this version of windows.

#11 hdood

hdood

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 25-February 04

Posted 23 May 2009 - 14:13

Have you tried right-clicking the installer, going to properties, compatibility, and then picking Vista?

If not even that works, you can try extracting the installer package with 7-zip (it'll extract installers in .exe files as well) and then manually installing the driver from device manager by right-clicking on the network device and selecting update driver and then pointing it at the folder where you extracted the installer.

#12 OP TheHouseBunny

TheHouseBunny

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 09
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 23 May 2009 - 14:21

Have you tried right-clicking the installer, going to properties, compatibility, and then picking Vista?

If not even that works, you can try extracting the installer package with 7-zip (it'll extract installers in .exe files as well) and then manually installing the driver from device manager by right-clicking on the network device and selecting update driver and then pointing it at the folder where you extracted the installer.


I 've solved the problem now :p
I remembered that i have a wireless nic in stationary that can act as an AP, so i did that and connected to the internet through the laptops wlan, went to windowsupdate and they had drivers for the Intel-nic =)

#13 jonathanmcnamee

jonathanmcnamee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-November 08

Posted 23 May 2009 - 21:47

happy days :)