Jump to content



Photo

EAC ripping & encoding tutorial


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#16 vassie

vassie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-August 01

Posted 19 May 2003 - 10:54

Wrong topic :wacko:


#17 Scorbing

Scorbing

    Halo Master

  • Joined: 02-December 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Win 7 Pro, OSX 10.8, Ubuntu 12.10
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 2

Posted 16 June 2003 - 00:42

So what is the difference between EAC and Easy CDDA Extractor or Audiograbber? Don't they do the same thing?

#18 vetbangbang023

bangbang023

    Silent Veteran

  • Joined: 17-October 01
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posted 26 June 2003 - 08:38

thanks guys, I've managed to get much better sounding mp3's just by adding a few command line parameters.

#19 manni

manni

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-June 03
  • Location: Finland
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: iPhone

Posted 26 June 2003 - 16:06

You shouldn't forget Musepack, Case has done tutorial for setting mpcenc for EAC.

#20 jugaaru

jugaaru

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-June 03
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 11 August 2003 - 06:57

How to make AAC audio files on PC

#21 insanekiwi

insanekiwi

    local know-it-all idiot

  • Joined: 22-March 02
  • Location: Essen, Germany
  • OS: OS X 10.8.3
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 10 October 2003 - 07:47

all i can say is: --alt-preset standard -Z

#22 Jason the Eighty Eighth

Jason the Eighty Eighth

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-November 02
  • Location: Canberra, Australia

Posted 15 October 2003 - 12:25

may i just suggest an awesome plugin for Winamp which allows ripping CDAs to MP3s? no need for a software, if you're using Winamp, simply download, install, download the CD-reading applet/patch/plugin and you're set.

Chun Yu Shei-'s MP3 Ripper for Winamp (don't ask about the name)

Rip CDs to MP3 directly with Winamp! Why use a different program to rip CDs when you can rip them with Winamp? No ACM codec required either! Be sure to grab the CD Reader plugin from http://www.url.ru/~copah/ if you want to rip CDs (and read the help file too). The help file is HTML help, which most versions of Windows should be able to read. If you can't read it, go to www.microsoft.com and get the HTML Help viewer. You can use VBR and ABR encoding and select how to name the output. New in this version: Can add ID3 tags to output. Added option to display speed statistics after encoding each file (don't use it when you want to encode a CD, since a dialog box pops up after each track).



#23 DsnBehind

DsnBehind

    a purple hat, for you

  • Joined: 14-December 01
  • Location: stygia

Posted 15 October 2003 - 12:33

Why use a different program to rip CDs when you can rip them with Winamp?

Because there are more options and settings, with other programs.

#24 manni

manni

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-June 03
  • Location: Finland
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: iPhone

Posted 15 October 2003 - 13:46

How to make AAC audio files on PC

Hydrogenaudio wiki: AAC

#25 rbet

rbet

    Nuke Islamic Terrorist States

  • Joined: 18-October 03

Posted 19 October 2003 - 10:29

Can someone provide a profile for EAC for AAC encoding?

#26 DreamweaverN

DreamweaverN

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Northern Territory, Australia

Posted 19 October 2003 - 10:53

I want to make a ABR (as they are better than VBR, or so I have read) and am wondering how to do it? I use Dibrom's LAME version as that is said to be the best. I am wondering if this can be done? I want to make 192bit MP3s if possible. Thanks.

#27 DsnBehind

DsnBehind

    a purple hat, for you

  • Joined: 14-December 01
  • Location: stygia

Posted 19 October 2003 - 20:14

I want to make 192bit MP3s if possible. Thanks.

Ever considered 128/160/192 OGG? :whistle:

#28 DreamweaverN

DreamweaverN

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Northern Territory, Australia

Posted 20 October 2003 - 04:06

Yeah I did but but iPod only plays MP3/AAC sorry :(.

#29 OP username

username

    neowin mountaineer

  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: West Virginia

Posted 20 October 2003 - 04:10

I want to make a ABR (as they are better than VBR, or so I have read) and am wondering how to do it? I use Dibrom's LAME version as that is said to be the best. I am wondering if this can be done? I want to make 192bit MP3s if possible. Thanks.

depends on what bitrate you encode at, 128ABR is better then CBR 128, but -aps VBR is better then ABR 192

for ABR encoding use this switch

--alt-preset ###

--alt-preset 128

#30 DreamweaverN

DreamweaverN

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Northern Territory, Australia

Posted 20 October 2003 - 10:40

Ah so for my ABRs all I need to do is use --alt-preset 192 and that will give me ABR? Thanks! :D



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!