Jump to content



Photo

Running Win 7 with only 1 GB RAM -> 32 or 64 bit?


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 jacob667

jacob667

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-June 04
  • Location: Denmark

Posted 26 July 2009 - 15:57

I'm currently running the Windows 7 RC on a 3200+ AMD Athlon computer with 1 GB of RAM. I chose to run with the 64 bit edition as I have done 64 bit computing the last couple of years.

Windows 7 requires 2 GB for the 64 bit edition and only 1 GB for the 32 bit edition. I think my computer runs just fine with only 1 GB RAM. I have not tried to run Win 7 RC in 32 bit. Why does 64 bit computing require so much more memory?

Are there some with only 1 GB RAM who has tried to run both the 32 bit and the 64 bit editions. I'm wondering what I should choose when buying Windows 7. I mainly use my computer for web browsing but also a little bit of gaming.


#2 Geranium_Z__NL

Geranium_Z__NL

    Will get these two together, even if I have to use Duct Tape

  • Joined: 20-February 05
  • Location: Netherlands, The
  • OS: Windows 8 Professional x64 NL
  • Phone: Sony Xperia S

Posted 26 July 2009 - 15:59

well its tottaly up to you.. if u want to upgrade someday to 4 gb ram. then stick with x64. if u want to stay on 1gb ram. go x86

#3 JunkMail

JunkMail

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-October 07

Posted 26 July 2009 - 16:41

Oh! upgrade more RAM they cost like peanuts these days and run X64 Win7. PERIOD :p

#4 Ytterbium

Ytterbium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-January 02

Posted 26 July 2009 - 16:42

I would run x64, I don't see any dissadvantages.

#5 kimsland

kimsland

    Computer Technician

  • Joined: 10-March 07

Posted 26 July 2009 - 16:44

Due to 64-Bit pointers and larger address space or wider registers, more Ram is required
If coders were to write better software though, 64-Bit would work much faster with the same amount of Ram as 32-Bit, but sadly more Ram is required due to poorly written software

Generally if you're not using high Ram intensive applications such as virtualization then you are best using 32-Bit still
Vista 32-Bit is less Ram intensive and is faster than 64-Bit with 1 Gig of Ram

On the contrary though, 64-Bit is set to take over all applications and software (including games) If you decide to purchase 64-Bit with higher Ram (really minimum 4Gig, even though MS state 2Gig minimum) you will be up with the times for all future built applications

For general Internet browsing and some present gaming, I'd suggest to stay with 32-Bit (presently)

#6 Tony.

Tony.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 05
  • Location: Liverpool, UK
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 26 July 2009 - 16:51

I'm a big supporter of 64-bit, but like kimsland just said, the system uses more RAM just being 64-bit, so 32-bit is the option for you.

#7 OP jacob667

jacob667

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-June 04
  • Location: Denmark

Posted 26 July 2009 - 16:52

I am not going to upgrade this computer. Like I said it runs just fine. It needs some old DDR 1 modules which are too expensive to be worthwhile to buy. Then I would rather invest the money in a new computer which I am seriously thinking about to get in 2010. I am already investigating what to buy :)

But I am unsure if I should go the 32 bit or the 64 bit way with my 4 year old computer.

#8 Ames

Ames

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-March 04
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 26 July 2009 - 16:53

32-bit

The odds of you upgrading it over 3GB are slim, which is really the only time x64 shines

#9 kimsland

kimsland

    Computer Technician

  • Joined: 10-March 07

Posted 26 July 2009 - 16:57

Actually seeming MS states minimum 2 Gig on 64-Bit, does it even install?
Anyway, as stated, stay with 32-Bit ;)

#10 qdave

qdave

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-October 02
  • Location: Vilnius, Lithuania | Toronto,On

Posted 26 July 2009 - 17:03

I'm currently running the Windows 7 RC on a 3200+ AMD Athlon computer with 1 GB of RAM. I chose to run with the 64 bit edition as I have done 64 bit computing the last couple of years.


Thats the same specs as mine, and i am happy with 32bit. You wont gain any advantages going 64bit.

#11 code.kliu.org

code.kliu.org

    Curmudgeon

  • Joined: 25-May 09
  • Location: .us

Posted 26 July 2009 - 17:04

Actually seeming MS states minimum 2 Gig on 64-Bit, does it even install?
Anyway, as stated, stay with 32-Bit ;)

I've ran W7 x64 on a 1GB machine with Aero enabled and all that fun stuff. No problems.

#12 OP jacob667

jacob667

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-June 04
  • Location: Denmark

Posted 26 July 2009 - 17:14

It installs just fine with 1 GB RAM. Like I said I'm running the 64 bit release candidate right now.

I think I will try the 32 bit when I get it. ( I just preordered it today )


Like I said before I am thinking about getting a new computer in 2010. Can I build a new computer with windows 7 when I have activated it on my current computer? I am not going to buy two copies of Win 7...

#13 Ytterbium

Ytterbium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-January 02

Posted 26 July 2009 - 17:16

If you have no intentions of getting more than 4Gb of RAM, then stick with x86.

You can re-install windows if you buy new parts and have a Retail copy of Windows. I just re-activated mine this morning after installing new parts.

#14 ilovetech

ilovetech

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-February 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8 x64 Pro
  • Phone: Lumia 710

Posted 26 July 2009 - 17:47

i am using W7 x64 with 2GB ram & its actually fine.. but i would recommend you to go 32bit with 1GB of ram because of the sheer fact that 64bit apps will need more ram than their 32bit counterparts because of wider registers, pointers, large address space. you can test it yourself by designing a simple app in VS & compiling it in both 32bit & 64bit. you will find that for the same piece of code 64bit app takes more memory. so the programmers are at least not at fault for not optimizing memory usage of the apps(for some extent). 64bit is architectured this way only (to utilize more memory). with 1GB ram there will not be any benefit you will get other than some more stability & security of 64bit kernel.
if you have very light usage than you can go for 64bit.

#15 kimsland

kimsland

    Computer Technician

  • Joined: 10-March 07

Posted 26 July 2009 - 17:54

Just on that idea of creating programs and comparing Ram usage between 32-Bit and 64-Bit
If the Code for the 64-Bit was written using one bit of the 64-Bit architecture then that 1 Bit would use less Ram than if it were used similarly on 32-Bit

Now that sounds confusing, but the answer is proper programming for 64-Bit will effectively reduce overall Ram usage (generally today most are written for 32-Bit)