Jump to content



Photo

Adobe Flash Player and Windows Server 2008 R2


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

#1 Sean2989

Sean2989

    Lost between the keyboard and screen

  • Joined: 07-January 09
  • Location: Florida

Posted 08 September 2009 - 20:51

I had just recently installed Server 2008 R2 on my Dell D630 and I'm using it as a workstation and a test platform. But when I install Flash into ANY browser; Firefox, Chrome, IE 8, my CPU jumps up to about 80-90% of the CPU. What the hell is going on. I have a 7 installation that has no problems. And before you ask yes I have switched the program priority from background to applications. Its very frustrating and is keeping me from using this as my primary desktop. Anyone got any answers?

My specs are;
2.4 Intel Core2Duo processor
4 GB of Ram
Intel 965 integrated graphics
Dual booting;
Windows Server 2008 R2
Windows 7

I would really appreciate some help on this, I am very frustrated!!!!


#2 soldier1st

soldier1st

    Software Tester/Tech/Linux Lover

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-December 03
  • Location: Guess Where
  • OS: Windows 7,Android,Linux Mint
  • Phone: HTC Incredible S

Posted 09 September 2009 - 01:07

tried uninstalling and reinstall flash?also when it happens run process monitor and see what is being accessed?

#3 marc2003

marc2003

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows ME

Posted 09 September 2009 - 01:19

this post really isn't going to be much help but i can report i have no problems here. i use firefox 3.5.2 (also did a quick test of youtube in IE8 - no problemo). what's actually using the CPU? your browser? :huh:

#4 Julius Caro

Julius Caro

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-October 04

Posted 09 September 2009 - 06:54

That's just flash. My CPU also jumps high (although I dont think it goes to 80%.. but probably 50% of every single core).

I can play huge 1080p videos on windows media player with 2% CPU use, and the crappiest youtube video will use half of the processor.

#5 Udedenkz

Udedenkz

    /人◕ ‿‿ ◕人\

  • Joined: 28-October 07
  • Location: Internet

Posted 09 September 2009 - 21:38

First it is flash. Second, flash enable video services - such as youtube - use the CPU.

#6 OP Sean2989

Sean2989

    Lost between the keyboard and screen

  • Joined: 07-January 09
  • Location: Florida

Posted 11 September 2009 - 20:18

tried uninstalling and reinstall flash?also when it happens run process monitor and see what is being accessed?


I've done that, and even tried past version of flash to see if its a version problem. Hasn't fixed the problem.

#7 Randolph

Randolph

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-March 03
  • Location: Long Island, New York

Posted 11 September 2009 - 20:19

This happens to me on Windows XP also.

#8 torrentthief

torrentthief

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-November 06

Posted 11 September 2009 - 20:22

flash is at fault, 720p youtube videos jerks every few secs, i've got a 4gb ram, 3.0ghz core 2 quad, firefox 3.5.3, win7 x64, does same on winxp, flash is crappy!

#9 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 11 September 2009 - 20:36

flash is at fault, 720p youtube videos jerks every few secs, i've got a 4gb ram, 3.0ghz core 2 quad, firefox 3.5.3, win7 x64, does same on winxp, flash is crappy!


It seems as if it used to didn't do it though-- that was before they started to embed ads into the flash content.

I can remember youtube under Flash 9 not being that bad but as soon as I went with flash 10 the ads appeared and the 80-90% cpu load in linux.

Quick note-- on HULU cpu load maxes out on 80% -- So I am thinking it is the in Flash Ads that may be the issue.

Edited by redvamp128, 11 September 2009 - 20:50.


#10 OP Sean2989

Sean2989

    Lost between the keyboard and screen

  • Joined: 07-January 09
  • Location: Florida

Posted 12 September 2009 - 03:02

It seems as if it used to didn't do it though-- that was before they started to embed ads into the flash content.

I can remember youtube under Flash 9 not being that bad but as soon as I went with flash 10 the ads appeared and the 80-90% cpu load in linux.

Quick note-- on HULU cpu load maxes out on 80% -- So I am thinking it is the in Flash Ads that may be the issue.


Then how the hell do we fix it. With most of the videos and streaming content on the web being flash, it makes surfing the web painful. That and when I have computer that can run 6 VMs but can't play a single flash video without problems, that seams a little backassward.

#11 TomX

TomX

    Medi-®-tisT

  • Joined: 02-March 02

Posted 12 September 2009 - 07:26

Fix: Don't use a server OS as a workstation.
That's it.

#12 Kaze23

Kaze23

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-January 05
  • Location: Calgary, AB
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 12 September 2009 - 07:33

Fix: Don't use a server OS as a workstation.
That's it.


This. There's no reason to use Server 2008 R2 as a workstation. The only time that made any remote sense was back with Server 2003 because the kernel was newer than XP's.

#13 alpha_omega

alpha_omega

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-June 04

Posted 12 September 2009 - 07:56

Fix: Don't use a server OS as a workstation.
That's it.

This. There's no reason to use Server 2008 R2 as a workstation. The only time that made any remote sense was back with Server 2003 because the kernel was newer than XP's.

The OP asked for help and not for your wise-a** advice...

@Sean2989: See if hardware acceleration is enabled. If it is and the problem still persists, try disabling it.
On some machines Flash's hardware acceleration has a negative effect on CPU usage - especially when using old and crappy GPUs resp. GPU drivers.

#14 TomX

TomX

    Medi-®-tisT

  • Joined: 02-March 02

Posted 12 September 2009 - 14:20

The OP asked for help and not for your wise-a** advice...


Huh... somebody has an off day...

#15 OP Sean2989

Sean2989

    Lost between the keyboard and screen

  • Joined: 07-January 09
  • Location: Florida

Posted 13 September 2009 - 18:23

This. There's no reason to use Server 2008 R2 as a workstation. The only time that made any remote sense was back with Server 2003 because the kernel was newer than XP's.


See that logic doesn't mean anything to be honest. I have the ability to run it and I do so for virtualization and to learn how to use it better. And when I'm not doing that I would like to have the ability to watch videos with out having to log out and switch my windows server partition.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!