Jump to content



Photo

Windows 7 Taskbar bug


  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#31 OP Caleb

Caleb

    A Modern Man

  • Joined: 04-November 02

Posted 15 February 2010 - 19:32

I also have an ATI graphics card (the older X1650 series) with ATI's latest DX9 drivers.

Btw, here's another report of the problem with a video: http://superuser.com...ighlight-sticks


#32 Sikh

Sikh

    Neowin Addict!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-March 07
  • Location: localhost
  • OS: Windows 7 / 10.8 / Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Nexus 5 PA 4.4.2 / iPhone 5

Posted 15 February 2010 - 19:34

Ive been using 7 since december and nothing yet. This is the final build. Ive been using the RC from june and then the RTM since august on my laptop, havent experienced this.

Take a screenshot for us!

#33 OP Caleb

Caleb

    A Modern Man

  • Joined: 04-November 02

Posted 15 February 2010 - 20:52

Ive been using 7 since december and nothing yet. This is the final build. Ive been using the RC from june and then the RTM since august on my laptop, havent experienced this.

Take a screenshot for us!


There is a video here: http://screencast.com/t/l5LhJ2uM

#34 dcoaster

dcoaster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-November 08

Posted 21 February 2010 - 18:54

Also having the same issue here. It happens fairly frequently. Please fix this bug!

#35 Grunsprek

Grunsprek

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-March 10

Posted 31 July 2010 - 04:14

Also having the same issue here. It happens fairly frequently. Please fix this bug!


I realize this thread is old but this problem cropped up on my new build which has 7 x64 installed. Someone upthread mentioned using "shift + rt. click" to bring up context menu which clears the highlighting from the icon. I then realized that I had just yesterday set a hotkey to a systray program (WordWeb) to the shift key. When I changed the hotkey back to Ctrl the sticky Windows 7 icon highlighting bug went away.

Huzzah for Neowin board!

Edit: oh well the problem just cropped up again. Guess I'll just keep my mouse cursor away from the taskbar unless I'm going to start an application. The only other thing I can think of I did recently was install windows live (messenger and writer). But I don't see what that could've done.

#36 Salty Wagyu

Salty Wagyu

    moo

  • Joined: 04-April 08
  • Location: ConDem Nation

Posted 01 August 2010 - 00:31

I have had this bug occur twice so far since using this OS since October, exactly the same as in the video link 4 posts up, thumbnail preview popup breaks too. No clue what causes it and have to reboot to fix this annoyance.

#37 BreakingBenjamin

BreakingBenjamin

    Suit up!

  • Joined: 31-October 05
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Huawei Ascend G600

Posted 01 August 2010 - 00:38

It happens to me quite frequently, I just kill explorer.exe through task manager and open it again, problem solved.

#38 Salty Wagyu

Salty Wagyu

    moo

  • Joined: 04-April 08
  • Location: ConDem Nation

Posted 01 August 2010 - 01:17

It happens to me quite frequently, I just kill explorer.exe through task manager and open it again, problem solved.


Worst solution ever? Everyone knows that kills off some system tray icons too and you'd have to restart those programs as well to get it appearing again in the tray.

#39 hdood

hdood

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 25-February 04

Posted 01 August 2010 - 06:51

Happens here too now and then, both the highlighting and thumbnails disappearing. Small icons, labels on here.

#40 billyea

billyea

    Your Two Cents

  • Joined: 15-July 06
  • Location: Noitacol

Posted 01 August 2010 - 07:24

Happens sometimes. I just ignore it.
It's too infrequent and harmless to care that it happens.

#41 ensiform

ensiform

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-July 06

Posted 01 August 2010 - 15:49

I've come to notice that this bug is almost 100% of the time caused by having switched to Windows 7 Basic due to an application needing Aero off and then back on again after the application ends. Shortly there after the taskbar starts to stick if not immediately.

#42 Lazure

Lazure

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-March 10

Posted 01 August 2010 - 15:50

This happens from time to time. Just Shift+RightClick the button to bring up the classic context menu and then click away. It'll fix itself. No need to kill explorer or reboot or anything drastic like that.

#43 BreakingBenjamin

BreakingBenjamin

    Suit up!

  • Joined: 31-October 05
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Huawei Ascend G600

Posted 01 August 2010 - 18:17

Worst solution ever? Everyone knows that kills off some system tray icons too and you'd have to restart those programs as well to get it appearing again in the tray.


Well, mine are still there, all of them. :huh:

This happens from time to time. Just Shift+RightClick the button to bring up the classic context menu and then click away. It'll fix itself. No need to kill explorer or reboot or anything drastic like that.


Nice tip, it works.

#44 LiquidSolstice

LiquidSolstice

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-April 09

Posted 02 August 2010 - 01:12

This does happen to me somewhat often. Added to it, the little Hover tag also shows up.

#45 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 02 August 2010 - 01:18

i've had this happen a few time's

I've noticed a pattern with it, it usually happens when your ram is close to full or the cpu is running high, sometimes it'll fix itself usually you have to restart your computer to fix it